We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good taste with cheap prices”
Review of Waroeng Kampoeng

Waroeng Kampoeng
Ranked #30 of 262 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good taste with cheap prices”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

went there on June with my friends, its strategic place and easy to access but parking area haven't big enough space.
when you see the menu, you will find a lot of variety of indonesian-chinnese food, and the price is very cheap. We choose malay nasi goreng, black pepper beef, fried noodle and fu yung hai.
Food was good and well prepared with small portion that we can eat all and not waste any of food.
No wonder this place always crowded by foreigners and locals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    63
    17
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good price”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've been going to Waroeng Kampoeng since 2009 and have always been fulfilled by their very tasty indonesian-chinese food. Prices were much affordable and suited the food portions. The place isn't too big and is decorated with an old school feel to it. A must try is the black pepper beef (sapi lada hitam) and also the kerapu asam manis (sweet-sour sauce grouper). Expect a friendly service though I wouldn't suggest coming exactly during busy hours (lunch and dinner on weekends) as you'd need to wait a minumum of 30-40 minutes for your food to be served. For great indonesian-chinese food with a very affordable price, I'd recommend Waroeng Kampung any day. Definitely will be coming back for more.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank arofanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a bit noisy and dusty but worth the find”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

arrived 7 oclock tuesday night, place was packed with locals and western expats and surfers. Food smaller plates but excellent value. Good quality food prepared with taste in mind. Place is a bit shabby and could use a good clean but that sort of stuff doesnt worry the locals who want good food ,good and cheap

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alanog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value for money, great meal and friendly service”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We return to this place every time we go to Bali (3 times in the last 2 years). The service is friendly and the owner can remember us and who we ate with ( a local) when we first ate here 2 years ago. I find this amazing. The food is extremely affordable and reasonable in portion sizes with no waiting. The quality of the food is great. This is the best meal we have had in Bali and Lombok in the last two weeks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank afterglow1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Casual place with good value for money”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Yes it's cheap, very cheap. Food average, but good value for money. Don't go there for “dining”, go there to have a casual meal amongst locals, foreign students and some curious tourists. Smoky at times, noisy, rustic, honest.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OsakaRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waroeng Kampoeng also viewed

 
Kedonganan, Jimbaran
 

Been to Waroeng Kampoeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing