We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overpriced and lack of privacy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balangan Sea View Bungalow
Ranked #30 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Jimbaran
2 reviews
“overpriced and lack of privacy”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed there for one night, in one of the rooms in the concrete building. As others have mentionned, rooms are ok but without any charm. My bathroom was smelly and didn't have hot water. But the most annoying feature was the very poor soundproofing between the rooms, despite concrete walls. Had to spend the night bearing the conversations of my (reasonnably) loud Italian neigboors.
The room was 350,000 without breakfast, which is very unusual in Bali. I had booked the day before, but they couldn't find my reservation. Staff is quite unpleasant, transport is expensive (150,000 to the airport) and the food is not tasty at all.
The beach really wasn't anything special either and quite unsuitable for swimmimg. Threre are some very ugly concrete buildings being built up around the area. Will be going elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adiriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    82
    57
    33
    21
See reviews for
43
94
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Arrived and was taken to our booked room promptly. WiFi worked well without any problems, nice fast service. Our room was upstairs in the newer section of the hotel, no A/C or hot water but a great view of the ocean and gardens. Room was large with a very high ceiling so wasn't too hot. Room had a lock up safe which I wasn't expecting. Bathroom toilet area was modern and clean.
No breakfast included in the $35 price tag but still good value for money. Hotel had a nice cafe which served good food, prices are ex tax so add 15%, but still reasonable.

Great place to stay if you want to get away from the bustle of Kuta and enjoy a pleasant beach an occasional sensational surf (left hand point break) when the swell is up.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcoola, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We paid about $45 for a A/C room, pretty basic but comfortable, no hot water though. Great location. Found the taxi drivers a bit cheeky but in the end we had a good laugh with them. This trip was just my husband and I, but would like to get a bungalow next time and bring the kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUDAMERICA
Level Contributor
225 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The place looks fancy with a nice swiming pool but you pay 32 dollars for the cheapest room (meaning no A/C) and no breakfast which is a lot even for Bali. The staff doesn't speak a word in English, the prices in the menu (like in many places in Bali, it's true) don't include service or tax so you pay 15% more of what they actually write.
The room has a fan in the roof but the bed is those Lous XV-roof beds so when you turn on the fan you can't not feel which is a disaster in such a hot place.
The taxis around are a big scam they charge you whatever they want because there is no transport to Kuta and they almost laugh at your face when you expose the cheaters they are.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEWSTED1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jimbaran hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I'm staying here with family a few months ago., This bungalows is quite comfortable, there is also a swimming pool to cool the body. beautiful scenery around this place. Standard rooms, a fan so much fun especially my daughter, have continued to swim even though it was night.
Breakfast is good, provided coffee, tea and others.
It's fun...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wul77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stayed there because another booking screwed up. It's a simply guesthouse and you get a room according to the price. Lots of surfers stay there. I stayed at the newer building and not in a bungalow. Bed was ok. Shower with cold water and no curtain between toilette and shower, as usual in such guesthouses. It was clean but had no charm Food was ok but not special. You can easily walk down to the surf beach which is in my opinion not really nice for swimming, there are lots of local cafe's. Only one younger person of the staff was relatively friendly. The transport they sell there is overpriced.

I had in general the impression, that prices raised in Bali. For 400'000.- IDR you are not getting a good value anymore in any tourist areas. Or you have really to search for. I met as well lots of locals who were not that friendly as you are always told about Bali.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoteldiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had a good time staying at Balangan Beach but did find it a bit far from everything when we only had a scooter to get around on. Rooms were quite nice, combined shower and toilet was a bit strange though. No hot water either which my partner wasn't too keen on. Rooms have a little bar fridge and lockable cupboard. Bit of a walk through a paddock and down stairs to the beach, but it is lovely and had some good waves during our stay. Restaurant was nice but no free breakfast so our bill added up quickly. Best dinner we had was down the road at the la Joya restaurant. I felt Balangan bungalows were a little overpriced considerin the facilities and location and I think I'd stay at uluwatu next time.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kel146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
0.4 mi away
Milo's Home
Milo's Home
#7 of 84 in Jimbaran
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan
0.1 mi away
Brothers Bungalows Balangan
Brothers Bungalows Balangan
#33 of 107 in Jimbaran
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Joya, Villa & Bungalows
0.2 mi away
Casa de Balangan
Casa de Balangan
#46 of 107 in Jimbaran
1 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Yanandra
Le Yanandra
#4 of 84 in Jimbaran
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balangan Sea View Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balangan Sea View Bungalow

Property: Balangan Sea View Bungalow
Address: Jl.Pantai Balangan no 2 Cengiling | Badung, Jimbaran, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Balangan Sea View Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balangan Sea View Bungalow Hotel Jimbaran
Balangan Sea View Bungalow Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing