We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
63
7
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
7
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool gado gado third floor flower petals ruddy rudy driver villa bali seminyak
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 72 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the longhouse from 8-12 December. My siblings had stayed at the same villa on separate occasions last year and had the most wonderful time so I decided to book this place when I came with my husband's family.

There were 11 people in our travel party. My inlaws, my husband's grandmother in her 80s, my husband and I and our three kids (2,6 and 9 years), my sister in law and her husband and their 11 month old baby girl.

Even though the airport was only 30 minutes away, we were quite tired when we arrived at the villa and were pleasantly surprised to be greeted with flowers in our hair, a cold towel and a refreshing cold pineapple smoothie in a fresh pineapple with some lightly sautéed banana fritters (Pisang goreng)

We had prebooked our meals for the day so we didn't have to worry about going out to eat. Lunch was Indonesian fried rice, gado gado and friend chicken with pizza for the kids. Food were served family style and yummy!

We spent most our meals in the villa, from beef rendang, fried spring rolls (nice!), gado gado, Babi guling etc, BBQ seafood, mee goreng, satay, curry vegetables, Chicken with Lombok spices etc. The food was very delicious and affordable. With a big travel party, it's nice to be able to sample authentic Indonesia cuisine in the comfort of our own villa, without having to travel outside.

For breakfast, Bali pancakes are a specialty at the villa. They are similar to crepes with fruit toppings (strawberries, bananas, pineapples) with palm sugar and freshly grated coconut toppings. We also had American breakfast some mornings where the chef would take our individual egg orders with a side dish of crispy fried bacon, ham and sausage. Their banana muffins were delicious too!

The rooms are huge. Bali room is on the third floor, same as the living room, dining room, kitchen and pool. It is akin to a suite, with its own plunge pool, outside shower as well as a small office. I'm sure it can also double up as a single room.

The other rooms are on the second floor. The Lombok room is directly below the Bali room with a long size bed, an outside garden patio. The two Java rooms have two twin beds each. I was a little concerned about my 6 and 9 year old sleeping on their own on such a big property but it was really fine. Plus we taught them how to call us (not a good idea) so I would get calls in the middle of the night. My husband was awoken one morning with a call from our 9 year old informing us his tooth had come out! Lol!

My husband and I had the Sumatra room, which had a sofa that doubled up as a bed for my 2.5 year old. It also has an outdoor bathtub and patio which was great for morning exercises.

The property also has a gym and play room. Sadly I don't think it has been utilized much since the Lego, train tracks and doll house were all covered with a thick layer of dust. The gym has a few balance balls as well as a treadmill but no weights.

There's also a spa room where one can get massages. Definitely prebook the massages as they are amazing! And also very affordable! My mother in law had a massage daily the whole week we were there!

Hepy, Ayu, Eka, Ruddy, Sudano, Eko and all the staff were all so friendly and helpful throughout our whole entire stay. When they heard we were having a small celebration for our niece turning 11 mths, Hepy promptly organized a group of young Balinese dancers to perform for us. They even taught us some cool dance moves!

The kids loved the media room. I love that there was a huge selection of DVDs though some did not work as well. The karaoke system was also down when we were there. The cable wasn't working the first day we were there but after we feed backed to the staff, it was promptly fixed the next day.

The place was well maintained and definitely a great place for a holiday. Our only concerns were the houseflies around the place, which we have feedbacked to the villa and were told it's unevitable during the monsoon season. My young son woke up with over 6 mosquito bites on the side of his face after our first night stay. The staff promptly sprayed the room and made sure it was clean.

The highlight of the trip has got to be when we had our BBQ dinner in the garden. The entire garden was decorated with tea lights and flowers on the ground. It definitely felt like a wedding but we were just having a regular dinner! The table were suited with white table cloth and the chairs were covered too. We had BBQ seafood, baked sweet potato, a green salad followed by a chocolate rum cake topped with vanilla ice cream. The kids had nuggets and chips. Needless to say, we were all stuffed! And then the staff surprised everybody with sparklers. Definitely a magical night!

We also met up with the owner Linda, whom we heard, is building another villa next door. When she heard that my father-in-law is an architecture buff, she kindly invited our whole family to the opening blessing ceremony of the Villa the next day.

One concern that we felt should have been made beforehand was the payment for food. Initially I thought we just needed to put down a cash deposit but I was approached by the staff every other day to top up the cash account. We didn't change enough cash but the staff were really flexible and allowed us to make payment with credit card. I think if we knew we needed to pay for the food with cash, we would have changed more money.

However this is the difference between the Longhouse and other places. While other villas may have the same amazing hardware (decoration and architecture), it's really the software, the staff that made all the difference. Wherever we went, we were always met with a smile. No request was too small. Whenever we gave our feedback, the issue was addressed quickly. We would definitely come back to the longhouse again!

Date of stay: December 2014
1  Thank cambriant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l1nda1, Owner at The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2015

Dear Cambriant,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed account of your stay at The Longhouse. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time and we loved having you! It was a pleasure to invite your parents to see the new house we have just completed and loved hearing their thoughts!

We are so happy to read your very kind comments about our staff. Everyone always works their very hardest to ensure our guests have a memorable time. We have taken note of some of the areas that you mentioned where we can improve. Thank you for your suggestions.

It's so nice that so many of your family members have come to stay with us. We hope that all of you will now consider The Longhouse your home in Bali! We are looking forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2014

I stayed in The Longhouse for 10 days.

It was an amazing experience from start to finish.

They welcomed us with drinks, snacks and a cold towel. Everyone was very nice, delightful and hospitable. They greeted us with a smile all the time.

The architecture is beautiful. My room had an outdoor tub. The beds were huge and soft. Everything was so natural yet sophisticated and classy.

We looked forward to our meals all the time! We also had massages, manicures and pedicures done. It was really cheap. Better than getting it from outside. If the food was reasonably priced.

I saw the sunrise by the pool which had glistening green tiles.

A nice quiet getaway.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CatChoachuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l1nda1, Owner at The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2014

Dear CatChoachuy,
It's great hearing from you! Thank you so much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed staying with us and please continue to think of us as your home in Bali! It's great that you took advantage of our in- house spa treatments - I remember that you were very busy during your visit, so it's good that you had some time to relax. We appreciate your very kind comments and we would love to have you come back and stay with us again. Hope to see you again soon!
Warm regards,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2014

We stayed with a group of friends and our tween girls. Great property where everyone has own space with terrific sitting room with pool. We loved the food, and the team are extremely accommodating. Yoga teacher was one of the best we have seen in a resort, high quality massages and they can also arrange personal training. Beautiful garden and they created a fabulous dinner party for our wedding anniversary. A relaxing experience made very easy by a wonderful manager who owns the property with her husband. Superb shopping and beach club/restaurant tips. A wonderful property and experience.

Date of stay: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSF20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l1nda1, Owner at The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2014

Dear DSF20,
What a pleasure it was having all of you staying with us at The Longhouse. If was fun seeing the three lovely tweens enjoying themselves making it a great holiday for the parents as well. Even the algebra lesson looked like fun!
We are so happy that you enjoyed the food and the activities in the villa as well as your excursions.
Just to give credit where credit is due, Ruddy, our villa manager is the magician behind the scenes ensuring that the villa runs smoothly so all credit goes to him, not to me! But all of our staff give their all to make sure our guests have a memorable time. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on trip advisor! We look forward to seeing you again.
Warm regards,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2014

Have been meaning to review this incredible place for some time!

Having spent 5 nights to celebrate our wedding with our immediate family, it is difficult to find enough superlatives to fully convey just how delighted we were to spend such a special occasion in such a beautiful, inviting and homely place.

The rooms are stunning, not to mention the view - and considering just how expansive the place is you never feel lost nor does it ever feel anything but warm and inviting. We absolutely underestimated just how breathtaking the setting is, watching the sun set with your nearest and dearest is not a memory to be forgotten.

As for the special day itself, the staff (who I'll come back to later) were so incredibly helpful in ensuring no detail was left unattended to, and also surprised us with a beautiful late night celebration with sparklers (which the kids adored).

But yes, the staff - just lost for words. As in other reviews, Ayu, Happy and Eko (and forgive us for leaving out anyone else, you're all AMAZING) make you feel so at home, are incredibly unassuming yet so warm and welcoming. There was nothing to want for, we were sad to leave them as in such a short time they had really become almost part of the family! Linda (the owner), also dropped by a couple of times to see how we were enjoying ourselves, and very graciously presented us with a wedding gift upon departure. How kind.

We'll be back Longhouse, we already have our family suggesting we make it an annual event - and who's to argue?

A+++++++++

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Niall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l1nda1, Owner at The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Dear Niall C,
It was our pleasure and honour to be the venue for your fantastic wedding. Love was certainly in the air as your families came to celebrated this very special day. Thank you so much for choosing the Longhouse. We hope you will all come back and celebrate with us again! We all send our very warmest wishes to you both for a wonderful future together and a fond hello to your families. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!
Warm regards,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2014

We had the most wonderful experience at the Longhouse. We cannot compliment or thank the staff and owners of this spectacular villa enough.

We spent 4 days in the Longhouse, 12 friends, to celebrate a special birthday. It was one of the most memorable and happiest memories we share together.

Firstly, the villa itself is breathtaking, with beautiful views from the pool/living room, a lovely flow throughout the whole villa with enough private areas or communal spaces as you prefer. It is a very special place.

More importantly, the staff could not have been more accommodating. Ayu and Happy (our butlers) were so attentive, pre-empting our needs, always smiling, completely trustworthy and nothing was any trouble. Eko (our driver) was knowledgeable, friendly and reliable. The chefs cooked the most amazing feasts for each meal; we could not stop ourselves from over indulging.

Linda, the owner, and Ruddy (manager) were wonderful with suggestions of restaurants, interesting nearby attractions and perfectly patient with all our organizing, questions and queries to help make the weekend run smoothly.

Everything exceeded our expectations. Honestly, it is almost too good a secret to share, but this is the perfect place to relax and spend time with friends or family. We will definitely return!

Room tip: Each room has it's own personal touch and wonderful in their own way. Bali and Lombok rooms are enourmous, and all other rooms very well sized.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ChapterEight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l1nda1, Owner at The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Dear ChapterEight,
Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate that special birthday with us! What a party it was! It was so much fun working with you to organise a very exciting birthday weekend. Fire dancers, golf, sunsets, excursions, lots of delicious food and parties under the stars ;) We are so happy that you and your friends had a great time. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with others on Trip Avisor. We appreciate your lovely review and hope you will come and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews