We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan
Nearby Hotels
$727
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran(Jimbaran)(Great Value!)
$118
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Jimbaran Puri(Jimbaran)
$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate(Jimbaran)(Great Value!)
$242
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamahal Private Resort & Spa(Jimbaran)
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$658
$554
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
124
160
50
24
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
160
50
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbalangan beachoutdoor bathroomclean bungalowsno hot waterbring earplugsmosquito netnice and quiet placenice poolshower and toiletsmall fridgeshort walkswimming poolrent a scooterstayed here for two nightsenjoyed my staystayed longerfantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 371 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

the three of us spent 3 nights and 4 days there and had a lovely time. Took a bigger bungalow for up to 4 people and paid 600,000 with taxes and breakfasts.The place is beautiful, the bungalows are really nice and in very good condition. Bathrooms are outside which is fun!

Pool side may be a little too small though, especially in high season when there's lot of people. Hotel is located 5 minutes of the beach which is perfect. The food served in the restaurant is very good, we had Indonesian meals such as mahi-mahi and enjoyed its taste and freshness. Pastas were good as well.

Regarding the service, I'd say it is average: half of the staff is very kind and helpful and deserve a good rate... but some of them are rude and inefficient..

Finally, prices are good compared to the quality of the place, but they charge way too much for transport and laundry (and they get pissed if you use other service then theirs...)

Balangan beach is really wonderful, and if I ever go back there I'll go at flowerbud again!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nonodelbosque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you like playing Robinson Crusoe and are a good surfer, this place might be for you. The bungalows are quirky and rustic, all bamboo and rattan blinds, with open air shower, cold water only, and loo - a bit too open air, since rain wets you, the loo paper and everyhting else . There is not much space to store clothes etc., but if you are there to surf, who cares? The place has a certain quirky charm, a reasonalble pool, and a nice garden, but it is amateurishly managed. Its about 5 min walk to the beach - Bangalan Beach, that is, well know to have good surf but dangerous wave conditions - drownings are common there and it is not suitable fro swimming, full stop. The beach is lined with ugly ramshackle wooden warungs run by 'full of it' young Balinese and serving mediocre food. The Flower Bud resataurant, however, takes some beating for bad food - it is simply inedible. There are various ugly concrete structures in the vicinity, abandoned developments, and some hideous new structures presently going up. The steps and walls at the beach are also in a poor state and falling into the sea (high tides).

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms adjoining houses in the village next door, to avoid domestic noise, such as the racking cough we had to put up with, and domestic pets like cats yelling at night
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickMcAllister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Interesting accomodation in thatched huts like tree houses! Surprisingly comfortable with excellent verandas and garden. Our bungalow had excellent sea views from the upper floor. The food at the restaurant was average but most of the staff were very friendly. The only disappointment was the bus that the staff arranged for us to the airport- the driver forced us to pay extra at the last minute as the 'price had changed' even though was clearly agreed the day before. Overall an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at Flowerbud 2 for 4 nights. The bungalow is absolutely beautiful. I love the bamboo bungalow, the open patio and the outdoor bathroom. It is very quiet and tranquil if that's what you are looking for. It is 5 minutes walk to Balangan beach. The beach itself is much quieter than the other beaches.
The staffs were very friendly. Willey the owner is super and he responds to emails very quickly!
The area is rather far from everything else but if you are looking for a beautiful quiet area with nice waves, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in Bungalow 2 for 2 nights on our arrival into Bali. I would agree with previous reviewers, if it wasn't for the driver arranged by Flowerbud we never would have found it! The bungalows are cute, and comfortable. The outdoor-ish bathroom is a nice touch. As someone already mentioned the stones in the shower and sink look great but get a bit dirty! The staff at the restaurant were quite friendly but not overly forthcoming in offering advice for the local area. The restaurant food was tasty and well-sized and we didn't find it too pricey; the pool was great but in unfortunate timing had whining noisy children in it that parents didn't seem to want to control. The chooks were noisy but not noisy enough to keep us awake all morning, and the Tokay geckos are great - you definitely know you are in Bali when you hear them!

Again, I would have to agree, the walk down to Balangan Beach is not a nice one, there is litter everywhere. The beach is adequate for a Bintang and lunch at a quiet warung, but other than that, there is nothing special about it in my opinion. We also hired a driver from Flowerbud to explore Ulu Watu, taking in Padang-Padang Beach (don't bother) and Pura Luha Ulu Watu, which was unbelievably crowded but held a great Kecak performance.

If your heart is set on staying on Belangan beach I would definitely recommend this place, we had a relaxing, hassle-free stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to reception and away from the restaurant may be a little quieter - chooks/roosters seemed to be mostly around the restaurant.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NephOzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews