We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Our first holiday with my boyfriend was in Bali and we stayed here for three nights. When we arrive, we were warned that the whole resort is not completely finished yet in case we hear works going on. Thankfully we never did.

But when we got to our villa, we were just gobsmacked by what we saw! We pretty much have a whole villa / house all to ourselves and it was just exquisite. Modern yet at the same time balanced with the Balinese touch. First floor included a massive kitchen, wonderful living room, then a room for nap and a toilet.

When we went downstairs, we found our ample-sized private pol, sun beds and our lovely bedroom. All these really made the difference! We have such great memories in that place.

I also like the fact that I can just call them anytime to get my "breakfast" even if it's nearly lunch time. I ordered one around 5am and got it ready for me on time!

The only downside is that if you plan to go to the city center for clubs and bars, it's almost an hour's drive and not a lot of cabs are honest and accommating in taking us back to our place. Also as it was still new then, it wasn't very familiar to the locals yet.

But overall, this place is wonderful!

Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Babydoll_Nexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, October 9, 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you so much for your review of GENDING KEDIS following your stay with us in May with your boyfriend.
We are delighted that you have many happy memories of your holiday in Bali, and that you enjoyed your spacious villa with private pool.
Thank you for your note regarding taxis in Bali, and may we suggest that for a future visit you use the 'Bluebird' taxis which maintain an excellent reputation for honesty and service.
We appreciate your taking time to write your review, and, should you decide on a future Bali vacation, may we suggest you try our KANISHKA villas, right in the centre of lively Seminyak. You can walk to numerous restaurants, clubs, bars and boutique shopping from KANISHKA.
Warm regards from all our team at GK RESORTS!
Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    120
    34
    13
    7
See reviews for
129
228
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Stayed here just for three nights. I want to live there!!!!

Travelled with my mother who is almost 70 years of age. We had booked a two bedroom villa but was advised on way to hotel that we had been upgraded to a three bedroom. We could not believe our eyes upon being shown around the villa, absolutely beautiful!!!!
The staff were sweet and wonderful and made our stay a very welcome one.
My mum had been very ill so it was great to see her swimming and behaving like a young girl at times.
We ate at the restaurant most of the time, except for one time we were the only ones dining there as everyone seemd to dine in their villa, but the restaurant was splendid and the view...ooh just heavenly, looking out over the tree tops. The food was just delicious and staff most attentive.
We only left the villa once, to wander around downtown streets, we werent looking for adventure lol so not sure what that area has to offer in that regard. It would be an absolutely wonderful resort for romance or with family.
We really didnt want to leave.
When we arrived at our next villa, nothing to do with Gending Kedis, it was terrible, after one night there I rang to see if we could perhaps return to Gending and they arranged for us to stay at their sister property Kanishka villas for the same deal as we had with them. They went out of their way to help us.
I cannot say enough about them and the resort.
I wouldnt hesitate to recommend Gending to everyone I know.
I cannot wait to return.
Many, many thanks xx

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlegypsyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, September 7, 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Belatedly, we should like to thank you for your review of our GENDING KEDIS resort at Jimbaran.
All our staff were delighted to hear from you that your mother especially enjoyed her holiday - wonderful that following her illness she was able to swim and relax in the villa.
Thank you for choosing to dine at the ALCEDO restaurant most evenings, and feel the serenity of the location overlooking the trees to the valley below.
We were very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience at "the other" villa when you moved to Seminyak, but that after deciding to move to GK Resorts' KANISHKA Villas, all was well!
On behalf of our staff at both our resorts, a very warm 'thank you' and we hope be able to extend our hospitality to you and your mother again soon.
With kindest regards, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2009

On arrival at Ngurah Rai airport we were met by the staff from Gending Kedis who had come to transport us to our villa. They gave us cool drinks and flannels to refresh ourselves after our long journey from Scotland. These were very welcome as it had taken us two hours to clear immigration. While we sipped the cool drinks and used the flannels they saw to our luggage. We were then transported to our villa at Gending Kedis 15 minutes drive from the airport.

On arriving at our villa we were met by our butler who had ice cold fruit drinks waiting for us, just one example of the great care and attention afforded to us throughout our stay at GK.The villa was much more spacious than we had anticipated. The bedrooms were luxuriously furnished with Balinese style furniture, silk drapes and blinds. The master bedroom had a huge four poster bed. All bedrooms had an ensuite bathroom, much to the delight of our two girls. The kitchen was fully equipped with all mod cons which was used to great advantage when we had a barbeque for fifteen people by the poolside on the Saturday night. The staff from the onsite Alcedo restaurant prepared and cooked the barbeque allowing us to relax by the poolside while entertaining our guests.

The infinity pool was a definite favourite with our girls, who enjoyed being able to swim whenever they liked – even at midnight. However if you did not wish to swim it was very tranquil just watching and listening to the sound of the waterfalls.

We all went to have a Balinese massage at the spa on the resort. This was truly a wonderful experience, one hour of sheer bliss. We were very impressed with the staff at the spa as they were very courteous and considerate towards us, making us feel very special

On several occasions we made use of the Alcedo restaurant, the menu offered a splendid choice of food. The pancakes with syrup were divine as were the fruit juices. We also had the option of having meals brought to the villa from the restaurant.

The staff at Gending Kedis were always polite, courteous and discreet. Nothing was too much bother for them, always willing to attend to your every need. They helped to make our stay such a memorable one.

Staying at Gending Kedis was like living in your own private haven. We were very sad to leave. This was our first visit to Bali and I'm sure it will not be our last.

Angela Mc Laughlin & Family, Scotland

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annacollette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, September 7, 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Following your Bali holiday at GK Resorts' 2 resorts, GENDING KEDIS and KANISHKA Villas, it was a great pleasure to read your 2 reviews. Thank you very much from all of us at 'GK Resorts' Bali.
It is wonderful that your 2 girls had so much fun every day in the pool in your 4-bedroom villa - we wonder if they can do the same in Scotland!
Our restaurant staff were delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your large poolside barbeque with your guests, and may I pass on to you their appreciation and excitement on listening to the skirl of the Bagpipes for the first time! Perhaps haggis next time you come to Bali?
From all our staff "Slaandjivaa!" from The Island of the Gods. Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We just had 3 nights at Gending Kedis. We had 1 night in villa Munia and after a minor incident involving the friendly neighbourhood snake in our bedroom and my subsequent freak-out (as they did not locate the snake after i ran outside screaming), had the other 2 nights in villa Rangana. The resort is only approx 18 months old and is currently constructing a new lobby, gym, spa and pool. If you're in a villa near the front, you may be subject to a bit of construction noise during the day.

Munia was just amazing. It was very tastefully decorated with all the creature comforts of home, right down to the ipod loaded with thousands of tracks. The villa had an outdoor bathroom, with TWO showers and a jacuzzi. Downstairs is the second bedroom, an outdoor living room, entertainment area with a stove and the plunge pool (there is also another toilet and outdoor shower on the bottom level - the second bedroom also has an outdoor bathroom).

Villa Rangana is also a 2 bedroom villa, with a smaller kitchen/living/dining area. The plunge pool is downstairs, as is the 2nd bedroom, with the main bedroom upstairs.

The resort has free wi-fi and if you do not have a computer, they will loan you a their laptop. There is only 1 laptop, so the resort should consider putting in time limits on how long you can borrow these (i.e. 2 hour blocks etc) as one guest had it for 2 days, even though they were out and about during the day and were not using it.

The food at the restaurant was very good and very reasonably priced. You can either have breakfast at the restaurant or served in your villa. No buffet, instead you order from either american, continental or Indonesian breakfast, with a few choices from each category.

The villas are only a short drive to the Jimbaran seafood cafes. The butler/driver will take you there whenever you want. Anything further than the Jimbaran area they can call you a taxi. All staff there are very friendly and very helpful.

We also had a romantic pool-side dinner in our villa as part of our package. It was just amazing, with all the tealights and candles. The chef and your very own butler stays with you the whole entire night . I would strongly recommend everyone to experience this.

Treatments at spa are very good and very well priced. One suggestion i would like to make is for them to introduce a form for guests to fill in before treatments where you can list any allergies, areas you do not want to be touched, etc.

Another suggestion i have made is for them to put in place mosquito repellent in each villa. The property is sprayed for them daily, but as the villas are designed for open-plan living, it is inevitable you end up with mosquitos inside, which was our case and i was eaten alive.

Overall, we had a very memorable stay at Gending Kedis despite the snake incident. Apparently snakes there are not uncommon but also rare as they place sulphur around the properties to deter them. The duty manager tells me they've only had 3 reported sightings of snakes over the past 18 months of operation and all of them but ours were seen on the outside of the villa.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendyyy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, August 14, 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Many thanks for penning your review as well as completing our Guest Satisfaction survey, following your 3 nights at our GENDING KEDIS villas. We very much regret your experience with an unwelcome wildlife visitor in your villa; thank you for your good-humoured and broad-minded response!
We are very delighted to hear all your positive comments, especially that you enjoyed your spa treatments and romantic dinner.
Your suggestion to limit the time for using a laptop has been adopted, with a 3-hour period. And we are also looking at your helpful ideas for the MALKOHA Spa.
We appreciate your very positive review, and we hope to welcome you back to either GENDING KEDIS or the KANISHKA Villas at Seminyak!
Warm regards from 'The Island of the Gods'. Douglas Wallace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2009

This was our first visit to Gending Kedis and the Kanishka Villas. We stayed for 5 nights in each location.

We were picked up after midnight by a smart resort mini-bus. Our plane had been delayed for 3 hours. What a relief to climb into the back of the cool mini-bus and be welcomed with a cold drink and a smile.

Our Gending Kedis (Bird Song in Balinese) villa was very private, clean, cool and welcoming – not overlooked at all. In fact, I didn't want to leave it for the first two days except for a couple of trips to the Spa for a massage – we had our sumptious meals delivered to the villa – pure luxury.

I loved my time there. I loved living at the top of the green forest canopy at Gending Kedis – breakfasting on Eggs Benedict in the treetop restaurant with the Balinese birdlife, vibrant and colourful. I loved doing my 'beached whale' impressions in the villa pool, private as pie. I loved how quiet it all was.

After our five days of deep-tissue relaxing at Gending Kedis we moved to a Kanishka Villa.

The Kanishka Villas are more 'in town' and are close to nightlife, restaurants etc. These generous 2-bedders are very Chic. Each with a large plunge-pool and lounging and dining area. An on-site kitchen can provide every meal or no meals delivered to the villa; each villa also has a fully kitted out kitchen. They do Eggs Benedict there as well :)

These villas are all very new and top-quality with soft furnishings and all the mod-cons to match. The service at the villas is what you might expect in a 5 star hotel – I can't recommend them highly enough. A real holiday break. We will definitely be coming back.

In summary, just one sentence. When I got home I realised that my house needed a full make-over.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorilla-Bananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, July 10, 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you very much for writing with your assessments of GENDING KEDIS and KANISHKA. We are delighted that you enjoyed so much the natural surroundings at Jimbaran, your private pool, as well as the Eggs Benedict in the ALCEDO Restaurant. And thank you for your positive review after the second part of your vacation at our newly opened KANISHKA VILLAS in Seminyak. It is wonderful for our young staff to know that their desire to please has been appreciated! On behalf of them and myself, I look forward to welcoming you back to relax in the care of GK Resorts - where you can again have a 'proper' holiday. With our thanks and best wishes, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice Beach, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

I spent a portion of my honeymoon here last year and it was incredible. My husband and I had the romantic package with the one room villa and the Gending Kedis pulled out all the stops to make this the most amazing honeymoon imaginable.

The hotel is quietly tucked away and each villa is so private, at times it felt like we were the only ones at the hotel. Our one room villa actually had two bedrooms (a smaller one upstairs) with its own private pool which was a very nice touch. The staff were so attentive during our stay making sure that we had anything at all that we could possibly desire.

If you are going for a romantic getaway, I highly recommend getting the romance package. It came with so many things, the best of which were a two hour couples massage and a private 3-course dinner at your own pool. It really was the trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, July 9, 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write your review following your holiday last year when you were on your Honeymoon. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed an 'Amazing Honeymoon' at GENDING KEDIS in the one bedroom Prinia Villa. These villas are located in the most secluded and romantic location overlooking the tree-lined gorge. We are delighted to receive your comments that you loved the Romantic Dinner and massages in the Malkoha Spa. Just one suggestion - should you decide to celebrate your first Wedding Anniversary, the "Island of the Gods" will beckon you to return, and the warm hospitality of GK Resorts will surely take good care of you! Thank you again from all of us at GENDING KEDIS. Kind regards, Douglas Wallace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Islands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

This really is a beautiful place. Very quiet and perfect if you are looking for a romantic hideway. We stayed in a two bedroom villa which had its own pool and jacuzzi. Villas have full kitchens and there are even wine fridges located around the bar area on the pool deck. The villa furnishings are modern and nicely kept. Staff are very attentive and pleasant. Hotel restaurant was a very nice place to relax, the food was just OK, not bad but not great either. One issue was the ant problem in the kitchen and bedroom, I realise that this is an issue in hot climates but the hotel should try some kind of solution as they really are quite bad.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoisin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, May 27, 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you very much for your review following your recent holiday at the unique 2-bedroom MUNIA villa at Gending Kedis, Jimbaran. We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere of a romantic hideaway, for which this particular villa is known. Your appreciation of the attentiveness of our resort staff has been passed on to them, which is a very real motivator, thank you for that! We have also taken note of your review on the food quality, which is helpful to us to improve. We are also paying greater attention to pest control to eradicate ants and other insects.
Thank you again for choosing GENDING KEDIS for your Bali holiday - all of us look forward to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
1.1 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
0.9 mi away
Kupu Kupu Jimbaran & Bamboo Spa by L'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kayumanis Jimbaran Private Estate & Spa
1.1 mi away
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
1.2 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 57 in Jimbaran
3,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate

Property: Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate
Address: Jalan Karang Mas Sejahtera | 100y, Jimbaran 80362, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#9 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#12 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gending Kedis at Jimbaran Bay is a collection of 1, 2, 3 and 4-bedroom luxury villas each with its own private pool villa. The resort is located within 15 minutes from the Bali airport and just 2 minutes drive to the white sands of Jimbaran beach.The resort has full services and amenities including the Alcedo Restaurant and bar lounge, room service and 2 function rooms. The Malkoha Spa offers a full range of body treatments and the Rudy Hadisuwarno Salon offers hair styling for ladies and gents. A fully equipped spacious gym and a 22 meter swimming pool complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gending Kedis Villas And Spa Estate
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate Hotel Jimbaran
Gending Kedis Hotel Estate
Gending Kedis Resort Estate
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing