We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improvement in basic engineering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom villa (villa 13). Stayed for the first night at the room opposite the pool. The toilet there generally needs maintenance as there were no soap rack at the shower and shower head was full of mould & sprayed water in random directions. The water pump disruption on the first day also interrupted our intention to shower and we waited quite a while for it. We found out later that we can't switch on the pool pump for the jacuzzi and having water running in the villa at the same time, which caused the disruption. If u are not a fan of Balinese painting, some paintings would make u feel uncomfortable, e.g. We requested the painting at the bedroom on the 2nd floor to be removed as it showed a sad mourning woman with a child at her side. The staff were understanding and did it for us. Some general maintenance e.g. Sliding door needs to be done.

The 2nd day onwards were good as we stayed at the bedroom on the 2nd floor, shower head was cleaner and there is a soap rack at the shower. There is a tv in the bedroom too. There are DVDs for loan, which we did and watched as it was raining on the 3rd day. The pool was clean and quite big for a dip, max capacity of 2 person swimming. In-villa dining was satisfactory, but took an hour for the food to arrive on a rainy day.

Massage in GK was disappointing for the high price, usd49 for Balinese massage 60min. I would recommend Griya Bugar spa (u would need a car to get there) near Kuta, we tried Shaitsu massage for IDR150,000 for 60min, which was really cheap. However, no ambience, no shower facilities there. That was the best massage ever for me, the masseuse stepped on my back skillfully, good for those who enjoy STRONG massage.

The reception staff don't have enough knowledge about the activities and places of interest around the area, but they are friendly and helpful to find out for us and book for us. Recommendation is to do your homework before u get there or u would risk not knowing what to do. Mr Gusde recommended us to go on a day cruise which we did and enjoyed it, Ms Gea helped us to book the Island Explorer cruise for some water activities. Mr Putu provided us with a useful book with detailed map of parts of Bali and made us very comfortable on our first day there with his friendly conversation over dinner. Restaurant menu is rather limited, food is so-so.

Remember to get insect repellents from the housekeeping. Generally the mosquito-extermination team was quite on-the-ball, and did well to ensure that they sprayed the insecticide especially on the rainy days.

Generally, enjoyable stay, but do ur homework and it'll be fine ;)

Remember to prepare IDR150,000 for airport tax per pax on departure.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Huishan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting some maintenance issues which were required in your villa. We apologize that these were not taken care of before your arrival. Our engineering staff have taken the necessary action.

Thank you for mentioning names of our staff who assisted you during your time at Gending Kedis. We hope you will consider a return visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to a GK Resorts property.

With best wishes from The Island of the Gods!

Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
There are newer reviews for Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 520 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom villa here for 10 nights in April/May 2013.

We could not fault our villa - it was wonderful. The housekeeping/pool/gardening staff are to be commended - they were thorough and highly attentive.

The staff in every area of this hotel are brilliant - so friendly and helpful - they are truly wonderful!
Mr Gusde is amazing and we thank him wholeheartedly for taking us on a fantastic day tour through Ubud, Sanur and Denpasar. Best day ever!

The balinese massage at the day spa is good but not great. It is a tad pricey when compared with other hotel spas in Seminyak and Ubud and that lets it down a tad. Regardless, again the staff are lovely.

The biggest and only fault of this property is the room service in the villa. Breakfast was often cold and the dinners were average at best and also often arrived cold. There was no consistency with the food and quality control should be enforced by the F&B manager. The food may be better in the restaurant however, I am unable to comment. Regrettably, this was the only downside to GK as otherwise it is a wonderful place.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RafKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

May I firstly thank you on behalf of all our staff! Your kind recognition of their performance is most appreciated by all of us, Thank You!

We have noted your helpful remarks on the food service in the villas and we are taking steps to improve this important aspect of our services to our guests.

Again, thank you for your review, we certainly hope we may welcome you back to Gending Kedis in the near future.

With kindest wishes from me and all our team.

Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We(my husband and myself) went to spend a holiday at Gending Kedis Villa in the first week of May . When we entered the Villa everything was just so nice and beautiful , I was just so astonished with its beauty . Although we wanted Nuri Villa we were offered Prinia villa . An exceptional thing that I noticed there was that Staff was just so amazing. Starting from the gardener to Reception , Back-end , Cleaner , Butler everyone was so friendly , it really made us feel at home. Also the time we were leaving , everyone bid us good bye with so much love and warmth .
Now comes the tricky part :-) For a person like me who has a LIZARD phobia , Gending KEDIS would not be a very pleasant because they appear in Kitchen , Drawing Room ,Dining Area , Stairs, Bed Room , Ceilings .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your review and for your very kind and appreciative notes on our staff and service; we are indeed very happy to read your positive remarks.

I regret that our new Villa Nuri was not available for you owing to a previous reservation.

We are exceedingly sorry that you feel you would not return to Gending Kedis only because of the geckos which you saw in your villa. In fact these are not lizards and are completely harmless.

Please be assured that almost anywhere you stay in Bali you will meet the same little creatures which do us all a great service by catching and eating mosquitoes.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay at our resort and we hope you will re-consider and return to enjoy the beauty of Gending Kedis again in the future.

With best wishes from me and all our team,

Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Gending Kedis located at very strategic location at Jimbaran - Bukit. Very near to the Jimbaran Beach. The Villa (Nuri, which we stay) is very comfortable. Villa is big, the pool is clean, the air is fresh.
The staff is very helpful too. They have free shuttle to the Jimbaran Area and they always ready to take us.

Room Tip: Bigger Villa is located near the entramce. 1 bedroom villa located more deep at the forest.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

So very pleased to read your review, thank you for your positive comments.

It's really great for us to know that you really loved the 1-bedroom Nuri villa as this is the latest addition to our inventory of 1, 2, 3 & 4-bedroom villas.

Whilst there are quite a few steps to access Nuri, all the accommodation being on the one level is convenient and the location is supremely private.

We hope we may welcome you back whenever Jakarta's traffic becomes hard to handle!

Warm wishes from our GK Resorts team and myself.

Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at this amazing Villa Estate. We had a 3 bedroom villa which was huge. I always expect website pictures to exagerage pool and room sizes but in this case it was the opposite. We had a huge living room, 3 ensuite bedrooms, a guest toilet, an open air kitchen with dining area at the side of the quite large private pool. There was another lounge area behind the master bedroom upstairs which I hardly got to use. Along the pool there was a lounge bed and some chairs.

The service in the estate was very good. The staff was very friendly and knew us by name from the beginning. They helped with all small and big issues. The spa staff was nice and breakfast really good.

We even had a one day tour included and the driver/guide was perfect. There is also a free shuttle to the beach or City included and it doesnt take too long to get to Kuta from there. If you want to do a lot of activities on the island maybe the location is a bit far in the south but everything can still be reached.

I can really recomend staying at these villas. Its perfect for groups and families. I hope I can come back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathrinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Many thanks for your glowing review following your stay with us at Gending Kedis.

We are delighted that you and your friends found the 3-bedroom Cherida villa spacious and comfortable - these units are perennially popular with families and friends travelling together, owing to the spacious rooms and large pool.

Thank you for your promise to recommend GK to friends, that is always great to hear!

We hope we may host you again in the near future, and best wishes from The Island of the Gods, from me and all our team.

Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We wanted a relaxing holiday in Bali. This is exactly what Gending Kedis can offer the customers. Located at Jimbaran, the hotel is about 20 minutes drive from Tanjong Benoa (the popular beach for water sports; local Jimbaran beach isn't exactly the best beach in Bali) and also around 20 minutes from Kuta (shopping, beach, dining, night life, a bit too commercialized for our liking though). The hotel also provides free shuttle service to Jimbaran area, so if you need to grab a quick dinner or some groceries, the driver can drop you off at the popular outdoor seafood dining at Jimbaran or some convenient stores located along the main road. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful. The hotel breakfast was ala-carte style, with quite descent selection and quality. They were also quite good in making local dishes (if you are concerned with the hygiene of the foods outside or simply lazy to step out of the resort). As mentioned by other travellers, the resort needs to spend a bit more efforts on the maintenance. It was a beautiful resort, villa was nicely designed with good amenities inside (coffee machine, water dispenser, fridge, simple kitchen utensils), but it was quite off-putting when you saw the rusty shower head, moldy shower cabin and rusty water tap in the kitchen sink. On the plus side, they used different type of cakes for the complimentary afternoon snacks everyday, so you got to taste few types of local cakes. To burn all the extra calories, you can visit the surprisingly well-equipped gym that remains open until 11pm. All in all, it was a great resort with service-minded staff and relaxing ambience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules8488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We appreciate your time to write your comprehensive review, thank you.

We are so very pleased that Gending Kedis' location and facilities provided the feeling of total relaxation you were looking for. And thank you for noting our staff service, the variety of cakes and our well equipped gym.

We have noted the maintenance issues you mentioned and these are all being attended to.

Hopefully we may see you again in Jimbaran, or may we also recommend our Kanishka, Villas at Seminyak.

Best wishes from all of us at GK Resorts, Bali.

Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Basically this property enjoys the same location with the high end resort, Four Seasons and around 5 minutes drive to Jimbaran seafood. We enjoy refreshing drinks and the lobby was nice as well. We were then escorted to the villa no 1 which is couple of steps form the lobby but it is not noisy at all. However after sometimes, we notice that the bath tub at main room needs some cleaning to do since it is dirty and the bath tub downstairs does not have the drain cover. The door handles for the rooms downstairs needs to be repaired since it was not really easily locked. Breakfast is okay, service is average. Luxury property that needs more cleanliness and maintenance works to be done. If possible to add one tv at downstairs living room will be good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maha928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your helpful notes on our maintenance needs, we have already made the necessary repairs.

We do hope that overall you enjoyed your stay in Bali away from Jakarta's crowds.

With best wishes from me and our team at GK Resorts.

Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
1.1 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
1.7 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#6 of 57 in Jimbaran
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kayumanis Jimbaran Private Estate & Spa
1.2 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 57 in Jimbaran
3,658 reviews
1.1 mi away
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate

Address: Jalan Karang Mas Sejahtera | 100y, Jimbaran 80362, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#9 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#13 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range: $145 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gending Kedis at Jimbaran Bay is a collection of 1, 2, 3 and 4-bedroom luxury villas each with its own private pool villa. The resort is located within 15 minutes from the Bali airport and just 2 minutes drive to the white sands of Jimbaran beach.The resort has full services and amenities including the Alcedo Restaurant and bar lounge, room service and 2 function rooms. The Malkoha Spa offers a full range of body treatments and the Rudy Hadisuwarno Salon offers hair styling for ladies and gents. A fully equipped spacious gym and a 22 meter swimming pool complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate Hotel Jimbaran
Gending Kedis Villas And Spa Estate
Gending Kedis Hotel Estate
Gending Kedis Resort Estate
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing