We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & quiet location in the country side”
Review of Puri Saron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri Saron Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Gianyar
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice & quiet location in the country side”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

It is not a posh, slick resort. But Puri Saron has a really great location in the country side, a 20-30 minutes drive from Ubud, through pretty rice-terraces to get there and all rooms have a lush view of the trees/jungle. Pool and restaurant are ok. Food is average. We had the pleasure of staying at the 2-bedroom nature villa: spacious, good veranda upstairs and downstairs. Relatively modern design by a Dutch architect. The final execution of the design plans though were not up to standard: it does indeed all look a bit rundown. But the place has a romantic sort of brushed look and feel. And again: the location and fresh quiet nature, away from overcrowded Ubud is wonderful. Just drive to Ubud late afternoon to enjoy dances, drinks and dinner.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
8
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
-
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We were so disapointed with the room and location. The room was outdated and run down. ( the deluxe room )
We had to leave immediately. The hotel is advertised as being a four star but is far from it.
Don't count on the internet also with the 56k modem !

If you want to be far and away from everything then the hotel can work for you.

Ubud is 30 mins away and if you want a taxi then it will cost you $15 to go there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dna00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gianyar hotels

singapore
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

A perfect escape from hectic busy and loud city life. You will witness nature nature and more nature here. Dream rooms with amazing Spa. If you are a non veggie food will be great. The Rose wine of Hoteland fantastic. The whole hotel in itself is a tourist spot . Bet you wont be willing to roam in Bali.. They will provide you customized travel packages which do not cost much and the guide and drivers are very good they will guideyou honestly will give you your personal sapce. Simply great! perfect for Honeymoon!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maktuub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

The location of Puri Saron is beautiful. Some of the best rice paddies are around and the rooms boast magnificent views of forest-clad slopes.

BUT - nice views don't make a resort. The internet site is deceitful as the photos look great, but the place has clearly had no maintenance whatsoever for a very long time. The buildings are grandiose and impressive from the outside, but the 'natural villa' with two bedrooms we stayed in was dilapidated. Overall the place is creepy and you are sure to be the only guests there.

Here is a quick summary:

Air conditioning - not working.
Satellite TV - not working
Fan in one of the bedrooms - not working
Shuttle vehicle - broken down and gone for repairs
Bathroom sink - leaking from the waste pipe beneath all over the floor
Beds - musty smellying
Mosquito nets - don't close, so are useless
Louvred windows - rusty and don't close properly
Main pool - dirty
Pool side loungers - filthy
Small pools outside the family villas - green, slimy and eutrophic, i.e. not to be touched!

Besides all this, the food was attrocious. Our family was served the worst mie goreng I have ever tasted across all Indonesia, from Timor to Sumatra. Maybe it had something to do with the bunch of cats we saw in the kitchen running across the food preparation areas just before dinner.

All this might be just acceptable if the place was advertised as budget accommodation. Yet Puri Saron masquerades as luxury villas with a high price tag to match. Don't be deceived! We had booked for 5 nights but ran away after only 1 night back to Ubud.

If you like run-down villas in neglected resorts with half the advertised features broken, then this is the place for you! Otherwise, do yourself a favour and book somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDDJ-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSSELTON
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

The location is lovely if you are looking for total privacy. Beautiful panoramic views of rainforest from the living area and both bedrooms in the villa. In the distance you can hear the waterfall and the children bathing and playing. The birds singing, ghekkos, squirrels are amazing - but then when night falls so are the mosquitos and man eating bugs that go with a rainforest . The lighting around the hotel is almost non existent, which is a problem with so many steps (without railings) and very slippery timber pathways.
In its day the hotel would have been fantastic but it is getting rather tired. We did not use the pool. It looked nice but when we got closer it was rather dirty and the sunbeds etc were very dirty.
We were a party of 6 and the only hotel guests in the 2 days we stayed. Before I booked I was told it was only a 10 minute drive to the Ubud art market - It was at least 45 minutes - from anywhere. We had dinner the first night - it took over an hour for us to get our meal and it was stone cold. Breakfast the next morning came no quicker and was cold enough to have come straight from the fridge. Night 2 we drove the 45 minutes to Ubud for dinner and then instead of eating the complimentary cold bacon & eggs the next morning we went to Ubud and ate before we headed to Amed.
If you are looking for a secluded hideaway and are not fussy about the standard of food - this is the place for you. The other plus - if you don't mind that anyone sharing the villa with you can see from the balcony straight into the beautiful outdoor shower - is that the abundance of hot water was the best we have ever had in all the years we have been going to Bali.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRCBusselton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2006

The bad news about this place is we both got food poisoning from the chicken meal they cooked us. As I write this review 1 week after we stayed there I am still recovering! It wrecked the rest of our holiday, whenever I think about that place I shiver.

However this resort is good value for money. We paid US$55 a night and got our own villa with air con, a nice king size bed, bath and the room was nice, tidy and clean. They have a pool and the staff are super friendly and helpful.

We were the only people at the resort and it got a little boring. The resort is miles away from anywhere (about 25 mins from Ubud), but is close to the local villages and culture which is interesting. We were lucky enough to have the manager drive us in and out which was great.

  • Liked — The Service
  • Disliked — The Food and Location
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't have dinner there and only go if you don't mind being in the middle of nowhere
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 656y58n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gianyar
16.1 mi away
Puri Saron Seminyak
Puri Saron Seminyak
#102 of 146 in Seminyak
672 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rumah Luwih Beach Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Villa Hening Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#101 of 196 in Ubud
226 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taman Harum Cottages
Taman Harum Cottages
#112 of 196 in Ubud
269 reviews
3.2 mi away
Alam Sembuwuk Resort
Alam Sembuwuk Resort
#97 of 196 in Ubud
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Saron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Saron Hotel

Property: Puri Saron Hotel
Address: Desa Madangan, Petak, 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gianyar
#6 Spa Hotel in Gianyar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Saron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Saron Hotel Madangan is located at Bali, Indonesia. It offers air-conditioned rooms, designed to mix the traditional Balinese atmosphere and modern facilities to suit the tastes and preferences of their global visitors. All of their rooms are equipped with satellite TV, IDD telephone, and mini-bar. Some of its amenities include swimming pool, 24-hour room service, and spa and massage service. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Bali Safari and Marine Park, Pura Dalem Sidan Temple, and Tegallalang Rice Terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Saron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Saron Resort
Puri Saron Hotel Bali/Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing