We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bagus Jati Health & Wellbeing Retreat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Puri Sebatu Resort(Tegalalang)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    Samsara Ubud(Payangan)
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (262)
    Filter reviews
    262 results
    Traveler rating
    181
    49
    15
    10
    7
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    181
    49
    15
    10
    7
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsyoga roomspa treatmentsmorning yogayoga pavilionnature walkcooking classsuperior villaorganic foodfree activitiesrainy seasonaqua aerobicssteam roomscheduled activitiesbike tourheaven on earthdetox programpaid activities
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    109 - 114 of 262 reviews
    Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

    The retreat had amazing staff and the serenity was amazing!

    Nevertheless, value for money was lacking. For almost $250 USD per night the villas were very basic, and needed some greater maintenance.

    Bagus Jati would be ideal for those wanting an intimate and private location from which they do t want to leave for several days. But only consider the resort if prices are more reasonable, even for high season it is not worth $250/night.

    • Stayed: July 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank samthiele
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 9, 2013

    We only spent a weekend here, and it was our first ever trip to Bali.
    We stayed in a superior villa with magnificent views.

    The location is about 2 1/2hrs from the airport, and 45mins from Ubud. So middle of nowhere which is great if you want peace and quiet, away from everywhere.

    We really felt isolated, and wanted stay here longer.
    We felt the restaurant was great, not too keen on crispy duck - too crispy for me.
    Breakfast was good.

    The bathroom was not very clean, the bath looked like it hasn't been used/cleaned for months, and the ledges where dusty. The shower area was nice and large, but bits of mould kept falling off the walls which was a shame. A bit of a good scrub will do wonders.

    On the morning of departure the bathroom was filled with a smell from the sewer (sulphur-like odour). We couldn't figure out where it was coming from, but probably some malfunction due to heavy rain.

    As will all hotels, we always keep valuables in the safe, and it was fine.
    The hotel is large, and lots of hills/stairs. It takes 10mins to walk to the restaurant/lobby.

    Free wifi is only at the restaurant and lobby, no internet/TV in the room paid or unpaid.
    Can't fault the staff, they were always very friendly and courteous.

    Room Tip: Superior villa was amazing.
    • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank QQuaver
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 16, 2013

    Sadly, while we were on our honeymoon in Bali attending a 7 day retreat at Bagus Jati, our money belt was stolen from our room (lost credit card + $300CDN).  This was very unexpected as we had felt quite safe during our previous 5 days there.  We reported this to the management team and they initially were helpful and seemed to take the matter very seriously. So serious, that reviewing the matter and discussing the unfortunate event dominated the remainder of our stay there despite our insistence that we didn't want to have to deal with it any further as we were on our honeymoon and wanted to recapture the peace and serenity we had been enjoying before we were stolen from. They eventually understood and offered us a spa treatment to make up for the one we had to leave when the police came for a statement from us as well as striking off a few incidentals from our bill (though strangely, didn't initially offer to remove the cost of the call to VISA we had to make to cancel the card that was stolen by their staff).

    This became more bizarre when upon our checkout, the Manager, took that opportunity to tell us that we have no one to blame but ourselves because we didn't lock everything in our room away when we would leave for yoga sessions. This floored us, as why would someone in hospitality suggest that guests who were victimized at their hotel are the guilty ones. This suggested to us that any property left out of the safe at Bagus Jati is free to be taken by staff which was unacceptable.

    If this violation of our safety and theft of our property had been appropriately and respectfully dealt with at our checkout, instead of adding insult to injury by blaming us, we could have continued our honeymoon in Bali feeling that our stay at Bagus Jati ended positively despite the unfortunate incident of the theft and we would be writing a positive review of the resort here today instead.

    Bagus Jati itself is a beautiful resort with lovely staff, but sadly due to this extremely poor customer service on the part of their management team - we left with a great deal of sadness which makes it difficult to recommend it to anyone.  After writing them, the upper management contacted us and suggested that they would take the matter to their owner but we have not heard from them since. They also requested that we not write this review, but in all honesty, we feel that it is important to write and share this with future travellers so you are all aware:  if you stay at Bagus Jati - lock up all of your belongings as they are not safe and if you do run into an issue - do not expect to get professional follow-up and respectful treatment from management.

    Room Tip: Stay away from the last room on the compound as it is the furthest away from the other rooms and neighbours the jungle, resulting in the least amount of security.
    • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    13  Thank ctuck
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    PuriBagusVilla, Manager at Bagus Jati Health & Wellbeing Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

    It is reprehensible to accuse the resort staff of theft, especially when the police found nothing to confirm a theft had occurred.

    With regards to the alleged missing money belt, there are conflicting reports made to the company and to the police. The police report states that because the Guests refused to cooperate with the investigation by refusing to sign the police report, they considered the investigation closed.

    The Guest stated the resort originally did not refund their cost of phone call to cancel their credit card. This is because the only long distant call was made 3 days prior to the reported date of the alleged loss of property.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 12, 2013

    This was my first time to Bali - went with a friend for a 6 night ayurvedic retreat at Bagus Jati (then we had two nights in Seminyak after). I was absolutely blown away. The retreat itself is seriously breathtaking - from the jungle it is set within to the rooms (views, linen, bathrooms). I could not fault it at all. And ALL of the staff - from concierge to waitstaff to spa staff to yoga instructors to gardeners etc etc, are all absolutely delightful. We felt very safe adn well looked after there.
    We did the daily 7.30 am yoga, and also had a few private yoga lessons as well as lots of treatments in the spa. Make use of the jacuzzi with gorgeous views out the window!
    We went to Ubud a couple of times, but there is enough to do at Bagus Jati to not need to leave it at all.
    I will definitely be back.

    Room Tip: All rooms are quite private and look gorgeous. If you don't want to climb a lot of stairs ask for a room at the top of the hill near the lobby.
    • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Marisa S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 1, 2013

    We booked into a Deluxe Spa Villa and were very disappointed with room. The room had a musty smell and the bed linen, towels and mosquito nets were all an off white dirty color and clearly needed replacing. The villa had not been maintained and had paint peeling of the walls in the bathroom. The bathroom and spa room were musty, dark, with a sandy grimy floor and clearly not somewhere where you would want to spend any time let alone get a massage, as they propose. After the first night we asked to be downgraded to a Superior room as we had noticed these buildings looked newer. They downgraded us but charged us the Superior Room rate. The Superior room was much nicer. The food is terrible. The hotel is owned by a larger group which explains why it feels like a soulless hotel. There are much nicer places to stay in Bali which are cheaper. Also be prepared that if the hotel is full you will be forced to eat your complimentary breakfast in the restaurant from the buffet but if the hotel is empty you can eat in your room.

    Room Tip: Superior Rooms are cheaper and a lot nicer than Deluxe Spa Villas
    • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank FisherR89
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews