We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home in Bali Paradise”
other travelers have booked this property
Romantic dinner in the Poolside Bale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic dinner in the Poolside Bale
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
72 reviews
Romantic dinner in the Poolside Bale
Guest room
Living room
Master bedroom
Master bathroom
Front view
Swimming pool
Swimming pool
Top view
Beach
One of two Family Beachfront Studios (accommodation for up to six guests in each of these rooms)
Sunset at Villa Puri Purnama
Bathroom for Poolside Twin Bed Room
Poolside Twin Bed Room
Poolside Twin Bed Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Russian first
Any
English first
dhilaws
asia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good location & staff, owner was not very pleasant to deal with”
Reviewed November 30, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

- Air-condition didn't work in 2 of the rooms in the main villa and in 1 of the attached rooms throughout our stay.
- Electricity kept tripping throughout our 5 day stay.
- Wifi works only on the ground floor in the main villa although.
- Lady owner is not very pleasant to deal with.
- Support staff at the villa were great. Always smiling, always helpful

For the entire duration of our stay, the air-conditioners in 3 rooms did not work and the electricity in the villa tripped multiple times every day and night throughout our stay. The staff knew about this from the very first night we were there. They helped as much as they could and even called an electrician to help resolve the issue (upon checking with the owner). Unfortunately this was never resolved. We found that this issue was isolated to the villa only because we walked out of the villa several times when the electricity tripped to check if this was an issue occurring in the area. It was not.
The villa was also crawling with ants although this could be because of the weather. It was extremely hot. Which brings me back to my point about the air-conditioning not working....We found it pretty astonishing that the owner refused to acknowledge this feedback when we spoke to her. She said she 'knew nothing about it'. Perhaps better communication is required between owner and staff.
Bali is a lovely island and the people one of the friendliest and politest in the world. So despite our inconveniences, the staff were amazing in helping us make our stay memorable.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2015
We always welcome reviews from guests if they are based on facts and not erroneous information. I had called this guest twice (I was in Australia having medical checkups so I was not on 'tap' to have all the information at hand). Being thousands of miles away I had no idea there was an electrical problem. After I was first alerted to this problem I said to this guest that I needed to call my husband and find out what had happened. The attitude of the guest towards me, over the phone, when I wanted to check what had happened was 'rather aggressive' and there were two requests at that same time for financial compensation. This guest expected me to accept her explanation without checking the facts with my husband. Yes, I found it impossible to believe that all of a sudden, three of our airconditioning units were 'broken'. I knew there had to be another issue in relation to this and I needed to check on it and get back to her. I contacted my husband and he told me that our trusted electrician and the electrical supply company were onto the issue immediately. The airconditioners were not the problem as I had thought. It was the electrical 'supply' from the company which had been compromised and the power coming into our villa from the company was not sufficient to run all six airconditioning units and the jacuzzi in the swimming pool at the same time. This, of course, has been rectified. This has never happened at our villa before. This guest told me that it was the 'first night of their stay' that they had the problem only. This guest also told me, during our first phone conversation, that other than this electrical issue everything else was 'great' and they were truly enjoying their time at the villa.....We had guests immediately prior to the arrival of this guest and there was not a problem with any of the a/c units so I knew it had to be something else and I needed to find out the story. It was the supply from the electrical company and their 'device' on our building which was not operating. It was addressed immediately and explained to our guests in detail by staff and by me, after I had the opportunity to get the full story. To say our villa is 'crawling with ants' is really gross misinformation. There are ants outside the building and yes we spray them when required. If food is left out (and sticky drinks) by the pool, yes ants will come. This is not a huge problem and is easily remedied with spray. We are very unhappy when our guests are unhappy. We go out of our way to make sure they are well-looked-after. Yes, we have wonderful staff who informed me that they were told by these guests that if they didn't get a refund they would write 'bad reviews' about the villa. My staff also told me that they were intimidated by these guests. An unfortunate situation all round. I did compensate the guests with free accommodation for three rooms for the first night. They also given a free lunch for the sixteen guests. I actually compensated the guest financially over and above what was asked me. The day of departure the guests then renegged on what was an acceptable amount of 'compensation' and doubled the amount they were demanding. I most certainly compensated them for what they had asked for the night before departure. This is a very unfortunate situation and we certainly did our best to have it rectified as soon as was humanly possible. We certainly wish all the best to these guests and hope that the majority of their stay was a memorable one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieWord...
Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home from Home in Bali Paradise”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

A HUGE thumbs up for the staff. I think it would make for a great 'safe base' a friendly place extending a group of helpers and contacts beyond your stay - great for a family gathering or the start of a beautiful adventure.

It is a beautiful place to recover from Jet Lag ... relaxing by the pool, getting a look at the local temple, surfing (best surf spot in Bali) and sipping cocktails and Bintang. Get a massage up on the top; highly relaxing.

Bedroom was HUGE, bath was HUGE ... really well cleaned and I soon felt very much at home. We had the whole place to ourselves so it was extra special. I think it should be rented as a whole so as to enjoy the serenity and the healing vibes.

Lovely stay ... we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: rubbish all over the beaches ... its everywhere though
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2015
Thankyou very much for your lovely review. We do have excellent staff who are kind, helpful and go out of their way to make sure our guests have everything they need (including great food). We do our very best to make sure our guests do feel 'at home', comfortable and a bit 'spoiled'. Those kingsize beds are really spacious and our guests often comment on how comfortable they are. The view from the pool/garden area and from our rooms is spectacular and yes, we not only have an excellent surfing beach 75m from the villa but also the swimming beach in front is the safest for miles around and very popular with local Balinese families on Sunday afternoons. There are also plenty of eateries within walking distance of the villa if our guests feel like going out for a meal. We do cater for family get-togethers, birthday parties, weddings and celebrations of any sort. We most certainly hope to see you back in the near future and to enjoy our 'repeat guest discount'. Warmest regards from us all at Villa Puri Purnama, Paula (PS The staff send their best wishes to you as well!).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjaw2015
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and comfortable”
Reviewed July 11, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great place away from tourist trail but not too far from airport and Ubud.
The staff were great, the locals friendly and the pool perfect.
We had dinner at the villa every night and it was great. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Kids loved the breakfast pancakes.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Having breakfast by the pool and watching the moon rise over the water
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2015
It was a real pleasure to have you and your lovely family to stay at our villa. As you experienced, we are very family-friendly and yes, all the children who stay at our villa love the delicious breakfast pancakes our two excellent cooks make for them. Putu and Manis are both expert cooks and get many compliments on their culinary skills. The pool is very large (17m long) so it is great for doing laps or just playing in. Please remember us for your next Bali vacation and keep in touch. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Warmest regards and again, thank you for your wonderful review. Paula, Isa and all 'the crew' at Villa Puri Purnama
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great relaxing location and stay.”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay at Villa Puri Purnama. After several other accomodation options fell through, we ended up renting a family studio cottage. Whilst these family studio's are definitely the budget end of the room options when compared to the main house, it provided a big room, with lots of beds which we needed as we are travelling with our 5 children. The setting for the house is stunning. Our kids loved the beach out the front, which especially on the lower tides provided a very safe and fun place for them to swim and play in the sand. The pool onsite is very nice and we found our days filled with swimming, playing at the beach and strolling up and down the beach finding food options. There is also the option of a great surf break just out front and Keramas is only a 10 min walk up the beach. At the end of our week long stay, we all felt very relaxed and rested.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2015
It was a pleasure having you and your lovely family to stay with us and that were able to provide you with accommodation large enough for you, your wife, four children and one infant. The Family Beachfront Studios were designed specifically as budget, family accommodation and are very spacious and comfortable. Villa Puri Purnama provides a selection of accommodation according to the requirements of our guests....couples, families, singles, surfers (including the famous Joel Parkinson who loved his stay in one of the Family Beachfront Studios)etc. I hope we see you all again when you want a break from the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong. Please keep in touch. Thank you again for taking the time to write us a review. Warmest regard from all of us at Villa Puri Purnama.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YetiFamil...
Portland Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet”
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great experience staying here with our 4yr old twins. We stayed our first week in Nusa Dua and then transferred to Puri Purnama for our second week, we wished we would have stayed all two weeks here. It's a great place to relax and enjoy local living with great access to the local village. The staff was extremely helpful and willing to provide anything you need. We are actually planning our second stay at the end of this month.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2015
Thank you so very much for your lovely review. We are certainly looking forward to looking after you and your family again. Our staff commented on how much they enjoyed having you at the villa. We pride ourselves in being very family-oriented and have had many families happily stay at Villa Puri Purnama. We really appreciate your taking the time to write this review and to make a positive comment about our wonderful staff also. Our villa is situated in a peaceful, traditional seafront village but it is also very close to many of Bali's favourite attractions including the Bali Safari and Marine Park, Swimming with Dolphins, Whitewater Rafting, Elephant Trekking, surfing, fishing, swimming and the Komune Beach Club is only two minutes from our villa also. Warmest regards from us all at Villa Puri Purnama.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahil513
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vacation with 5 families”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay at Villa Puri, The staff were excellent and friendly. The location beautiful. Just be aware that the cottages are not as nice as the rest of the rooms in the Main Villa. But over all we had a great vacation there. Big thanks to Dewa our driver for showing us around.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: staff
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2015
Dear Rahil, thank you for taking the time to write a review for Villa Puri Purnama. We really appreciate the time you took to do this. Yes the views are spectacular and the beachfront location is second-to-none. Certainly the Beachfront Studios (which you referred to as cottages) are geared towards more of a lower budget, family accommodation whereas all of the other rooms in the main villa are for two guests in each room only. That is why such an extremely large group as yours with twenty-one guests were able to be accommodated at a very reasonable price in one villa and we are very happy that you did enjoy your vacation and that our fantastic staff looked after you all so well. We do have guests (mainly families with children) who repeatedly come back to Villa Puri Purnama and specifically request the spacious, absolute beachfront Family Beachfront Studios. We do hope that in the future you come back and stay at our villa and enjoy our 'repeat guest' discount. Warm regards from all of us at Villa Puri Purnama. Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rayb527
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best value absolute beachfront villa in Bali!”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just had a return visit to villa puri purnama with 4 mates on a surfing holiday on bali's amazing east coast. it was just fantastic - villa puri purnama has got to be 1 of the value villas on absolute beachfront in bali. staff are unreal, food fantastic, paula our host took care of all requests, nothing a hassle. simply a great place to stay. Villa is 100 mtrs from a great right hander (for those who surf), and there's some really good waves really close by........ paddle in for a massage, lunch then surf again - crack a few bintangs round the pool to finish another fantastic day in cucukan at puru purnama. i'm coming back!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lying in the pool, waiting for the tide to rise before my next surf..........
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2015
It was a complete pleasure having you and your friends stay at Villa Puri Purnama. The staff really enjoyed looking after you all. I am very happy that you were all comfortable in our newly-refurbished Beachfront Studios. Certainly the large balcony in front of the Studios is the perfect place to relax at the end of the day, have a few Bintangs and contemplate the surf conditions for the following day. Our two cooks did us proud and you have complimented them to me on a number of occasions. We look forward to seeing you back at our villa in the near future. Warmest regards from all of us at Villa Puri Purnama.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing