We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and Welcoming”
other travelers have booked this property
Romantic dinner in the Poolside Bale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic dinner in the Poolside Bale
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
72 reviews
Romantic dinner in the Poolside Bale
Guest room
Living room
Master bedroom
Master bathroom
Front view
Swimming pool
Swimming pool
Top view
Beach
One of two Family Beachfront Studios (accommodation for up to six guests in each of these rooms)
Sunset at Villa Puri Purnama
Bathroom for Poolside Twin Bed Room
Poolside Twin Bed Room
Poolside Twin Bed Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Russian first
Any
English first
FredericL...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Save your money and don't go to this villa not mainained, clean and secured for kids”
Reviewed August 6, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
6
people found this review helpful

We had friends coming over from Europe to go to Bali with young kids so we were looking for a quiet and clean villa with beach access so we could go swimming with the kids. We’ve had our worst holiday experience ever (we’ve been travelling around the world, in bali in the past and never had such a bad experience).
First, the owner was always very cooperative the months before the rental as she had one objective in mind: getting our money. Given we usually trust people we decided to trust her and to pay 90% of the rent 2 months before coming to Bali, one of our biggest mistake. Shame on us!!!
She was supposed to organize a pick-up for all of us (13 persons in total) and she started to screw us up at the airport by not providing the transport that was part of the deal.
Then upon arrival at the villa we realized that the garden was so much full of doog poos that my son walked on it after 10 minutes. The owner was shocked and pissed-off that we then asked to get the garden cleaned and she said "I've mentioned on my webpage that I have three dogs in the villa" assuming that having dogs at home means having dog poos in the garden!!!
Two days later, not only we kept on having dog poos in the garden but had the very bad experience to see dog poo right in front of our bedroom (see picture attached). We told the owner who didn’t care and didn’t apologize for it. When I said that it was not acceptable she argued that French (because we are French) should be used to it because she saw a lot of doog poos in the streets last time she went to Paris!!!!! No comments!
I then told the owner that the place was not safe and clean enough for my kids and that we wanted to leave the house. After this discussion, the owner who was living in the villa in one of the bedroom decided to escape without notifying us in order to avoid any discussions!!! The communication with her has then only been by emails.
The security night guard who is supposed to secure the villa is spending his all night watching TV in the living room and it is so loud that our daughter sleeping on the ground floor could not sleep and ended up sleeping in our room.
The villa is overall very dirty (we saw many rats in the kitchen, insect drops on plates, cockroaches in the bathrooms) which leaves a very bad impression.
Food wise I guess Putu (the cook) is quite good but the owner is so cheap that she makes savings on every ingredient: you won’t have proper orange juice at breakfast but rather orange concentrate blended with water, you won’t have milk but powder milk mixed with water. Given the price of the house rental, it is just not acceptable to save money on so basics ingredients.
The food was not good and we quickly realized that we could have nice meals at exactly the same price in restaurants in Sanur!!!
The service is very poor and we had to negotiate to avoid having the dinner served at 7pm. In other villas or in restaurants you are not obliged to have dinner at a such early time.
Location wise, the owner mentions on the website that the villa is located 17mn drive north of Sanur. This is true at 3am in the morning but impossible during the day due to traffic. The average transport time between Sanur and the Villa was more about 30-40mn. We would never have had selected this house knowing that it was so far away.
Last, the owner is so cheap that she has tried to screw us on every single possible element: laundry bills, massage bills asking for higher price than what was written on the price list!!!
We were so disappointed that we decided to leave the villa for few days and to rent another house in a different location and we had an amazing time in a fantastic well maintained villa with first class service…. at a cheaper price than Villa Puri Purnama.
The reality is that the villa sea view is great and it’s a shame this place is not well maintained. The garden could be nice as well without the doog poos. However, you can’t really go swimming with kids in front of the house (as stated on the website) as it’s full of rocks at low tide and pretty wavy at high tide.
It’s the first time I write a review on tripadvisor and I am only doing it in transparency for helping people to not repeat the same mistake as we did. Definitely it’s not at all a place for kids as contains plenty of fish pools in the garden when young kids can definitely fall into.
There are definitely so many difference nice places in Bali that I would recommend anyone to avoid this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sea view
Liked least: Property not maintained properly
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2012
This was an unfortunate experience for us, our staff and these guests. We do everything that we can to make sure that our guests enjoy their time with us. Complaints from these guests about the variety of food were met with an immediate refund of the pre-paid $350AUD ($AU35 for each dinner for 7 adults and the 6 children ate for "free"). After three days a complaint was made about the variety of fruit we supplied - we had supplied EIGHT different types of fruit within the first three days of their arrival. The Guests did not want the refund and wanted to continue the daily dinner service. At the end of their stay they demanded money back for some evening meals the adults didn't eat due to their going out for the evening. These guests left us with a parting "gift" of a serious amount of vandalism to our two oceanfront studios and the pool and jacuzzi pumps (purposeful damage). It took some 10 days and several hundred dollars to complete the repair work and inconvenienced the guests directly following them. A full report of this vandalism has been made to Holiday Lettings. The guests who followed them witnessed and were shocked by the wanton vandalism. Complaints about our towels were baseless and untrue. Even brand-new towels purchased two days prior to the guests' arrival (never used before) were complained about and sent back to our laundry. Most of our linen goes out to a commercial laundry, every two days. Yes, we had a problem with our relatively new gas, hotwater heaters being blown out constantly by the wind so we installed two brand-new, electric hotwater systems within two or three days of these guests' arrival. The only time our kitchen was "dirty" was after the guests had used it and left it for our staff to clean. We normally do not allow guests to use the main kitchen. Other than that, our kitchen is kept VERY clean. Even though our staff (daytime and night staff) were diligent about keeping the lawn clean, we are situated on a public beach where local dogs "visit" all the beachfront properties. One of our dogs "disgraced herself" ONCE after having been locked up inside and kept away from the guests. We removed that dog and ourselves and left the guests to have the villa entirely to themselves. It was a traumatic experience for us and for ALL of our staff. We are still really upset by this experience but we have learned some lessons which will result in even more positive experiences for our future guests. We genuinely are also very upset that these guests did not enjoy their time at our villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and Welcoming”
Reviewed July 31, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We had some trouble with our flights to Bali, but once we finally managed to arrive at our first destination, Villa Puri Purnama in the middle of the night, it was easy to immediately fall asleep, thanks to the peaceful sound of gently crashing waves on the beach. The room we stayed in was clean and gorgeous, with simple and stylish decor that suited its environs. The view from our room overlooking the sparkling black beach sand and stretching coastline was magical. We really enjoyed walking along the beach, and didn't see many other tourists. The owner, Paula, is lovely to talk to, and very helpful and welcoming. The staff at this villa made beautiful breakfasts and lunches, often including lots of fruit platters in the lovely dining room. The pool was a great hit for the children. It was a delightful place to stay, particularly with its close proximity to the beach and gentle charm. It is also very close to the Animal Safari Park, which we also visited and enjoyed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2012
Hello and thank you for your great review. We most certainly look forward to seeing you all next time and looking after you again. It was a great pleasure having you to stay and we appreciate your recognition of our care and attention to your comfort at our Villa. Warmest regards, Paula and all the Staff at Villa Puri Purnama in Bali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMparkes
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“A wonderful holiday”
Reviewed July 27, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We were a mixed bunch of children (11 & 13), toddlers, 21 year olds and us but this holiday suited every single one of us. From the warm and continued welcome, to the genuine friendliness and hospitality, our 10 days were relaxing, culturally interesting and just the best time to be together as a family. Some days with ventured out to explore (with the great help of Paula's local knowledge), and on others we just stayed at our new 'home' swimming and exploring the reef. Paula, Isa and her fabulous staff made the holiday a truly memorable experience. Nothing was too much trouble and going to sleep and waking up to the sound of the waves was just an added bonus. Thank you so much for a really special time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say as there were so many things. It was just great!
Liked least: Having to leave after 10 days
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2012
What a lovely Review. Thank you all so much. It was really lovely having you all here to stay. What beautiful children and what great parents. We were so happy to see you all "wind down" from your very busy lifestyle and we do hope to see you all next year again and assist you all with the "family celebration" that you are planning. We all had some great conversations and I enjoyed every one of them. Warmest regards, Paula and all the staff at Villa Puri Purnama.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbora_1...
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track experience”
Reviewed June 19, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We highly recommend this wonderful villa to those who like their privacy and want to experience true Bali.

The house is right on the black beach, wonderful swimming pool. Friendly staff, the owner Paula, was ready to help us out in arranging excursions and daily trips.

It is a bit far from any city, moving around is a bit difficult, but you can always order a cab or ask for a drive to Sanur.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, right on the beach and the feeling of being at home
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2012
Thank you for your great review and we are all so happy that you feel that we looked after you well and that you really enjoyed your time with us. We most definitely hope that we can enjoy another visit from you in the very near future. Warmest regards, Paula, Isa and all the Villa Puri Purnama Staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandabur...
Lennox Head, Australia
1 review
“would definitely recommend to all our friends!”
Reviewed May 26, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We had the most amazing week at Villa Puri Purnama! Paula and all her staff - especially Putu and her husband, are so helpful and do everything to ensure you have a perfect holiday. The villa is in a great location, directly on the beachfront and is very quiet, perfect for escaping the tourist crowds. It really felt like an authentic indonesian experience. We were very sad to leave and are already planning our trip to the villa next year, except next time we plan on bringing my parents and brother and sister, along with our 3 young children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and food
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2012
Hello and thank you for your lovely review of Villa Puri Purnama in Bali. I know that I have responded privately to your review but now I would like to do so on this forum. All of us here enjoyed having you to stay. What a lovely family and we are all very happy that you enjoyed your time with us before you returned to Singapore. We very much look forward to hearing from you in the near future regarding another booking at our Villa with the rest of your family coming too. Our very best wishes to you all, Paula, Isa and all the staff at Villa Puri Purnama in Bali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochie11
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful part of paradise”
Reviewed May 16, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Thank you Paula and staff for a wonderful relaxing holiday in paradise. I wanted to be close to the beach for my husband to relax and do some fishing, well, we could look our of our windows straight to the ocean, ( probably 5 metres away!) we went to sleep with the amazing sound of the ocean. The room was huge and perfect., it was quiet, and made a nice change from the crazy tourist spots, all of the staff were pleasant and helpful. We got to experience some amazing meals from the staff who were also locals. It was great to experience the more traditional Bali.
Sitting upstairs in the Bale with a cool drink and the wonderful breezes, well, I just wish I was there now!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy, close to beach, quiet,
Liked least: I don't think there was anything I didn't like.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2012
Dear K and D. Thank you for your great review of our villa. It was a great pleasure having you both to stay. We have kept in touch since you left and we are very much looking forward to having you return with your husband for his recuperation with us in very near future. Fond regards to you both and see you soon! Paula, Isa, Putu, Ketut and Dewa at Villa Puri Purnama in Bali.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita D
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Slice of heaven on earth”
Reviewed May 8, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

I have stayed on more than one occasion at Villa Puri Purnama and will definitely stay again. The property is located in a very unique part of Bali, within a local village, away from all the crazy tourist crowds. It's complete bliss. The furnishings are dramatic and beautiful and the ocean is incredible. If you love the sound of crashing waves and just want to watch the colours of the sea and sky change as the day goes by, this is your haven. The food is cooked by a lovely local woman and part of the overall lovely Balinese experience. When you wander the beach you see local villagers participating in their mesmerising ceremonies and enjoying the beautiful location around them. My teenage sons loved the brilliant surf break and just chilling by the pool. This is a warm, friendly and most precious villa, where many of our fondest memories have been made. The newly built beach cottages are as close to the ocean as you could possibly get without getting wet, and make you feel like you're all alone on the island. The owners, Paula and Isa are so welcoming and know Bali so very well, so day trips shopping or dining anywhere on the island is easy to do. It really is the best place to experience a real Balinese holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's quiet and private location and natural surroundings
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing