We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour - Very Highly Recommended”

Halo Bike Cycling Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Tour - Very Highly Recommended”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I did the Halo Bike Tour in February 2013 and really enjoyed it. In fact, it was one of the highlights of our trip. Mr. Yoga was an excellent guide and the experience of riding through the villages and countryside on a bike was wonderful. The lunch, prepared by his wife after the bike tour, was first rate. I'd highly recommend this for anyone visiting Bali.

One tip: book the tour directly with Halo, either through email (our emails were always answered promptly) of phone. If you book the tour through your hotel, the hotel will likely seek a "commission".

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank igs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    16
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great day out for the whole family”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our family of 7 (including 2 kids aged 4 and 2.5 years and 3 grandparents in their 70s) went on a private Halo Bike tour a few weeks ago - and we can't recommend it highly enough!
The tour was very well organised, right from the booking procedure via email with Yoga.

Pick up from our villa was on time and Yoga was a very knowledgable guide, answering all our questions with ease. The bikes and helmets were all well maintained and in good working order. My husband and I had a childseat each on the back of our bikes, and a tandem bike was provided for my mother-in-law (who only has one arm) along with another guide so that she could also take part in the ride - all at no extra cost!

The scenery was amazing, gently winding our way through rice fields and small villages. Everyone we saw waved and smiled and some local rice farmers even kindly let us have a try at harvesting their rice.

The guides were very attentive to our childrens needs and safety, always ensuring they were secure and happy! My father had a fall in the rice fields and hurt his leg, but Yoga quickly took out the first aid kit and immediately cleaned and dressed the wound.

There were so many great things about the day, but I think the highlight was meeting Yoga's family and indulging in a scrumptious home-cooked Indonesian feast for lunch. Our kids had a great time playing soccor with Yoga's boys, while we sat back and had a couple of hard-earned Bintangs (at a small extra cost)!

This was a wonderful day out for all ages and one tour which we will probably do again! My only tip is that the riding is 99% downhill, so ask Yoga for a different route if you want more of a workout.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bekski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saraamy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great day out amongst the local culture”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have just been on the halo bike tour. Yoga was a fantastic guide and the villages and rice fields we visited on the tour were amazing.

Best part of the trip was the lovely lunch :) yoga was able to cater for peanut allergies with no fuss.

The bikes all seem very new! Will definately recommend to our friends and family!!!

Helpful?
Thank saraamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperance, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best day out!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We a family of 6. Two adults and four kids (14,12,10 & 6) We were picked up in the pouring rain but by the time we got to Kintamani and had something to eat and drink it had cleared. We all rode except 6 year old who went on a tandem which Yoga rode. Great day of cycling mainly downhill. Lunch at Yoga's compound was exceptional all cooked by Yoga's wife. A must do trip when in Bali. Thanks for a great day Yoga.

Helpful?
Thank Lemonadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
“Absolute must for families”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Hi everyone,

We were recommended to go for a bike tour by our work colegue and were a bit sceptical about that at first, but then desided to try. I must tell you that it was the best experience in our holiday and our children just loved it.

We were picked up from the hotel in Denpasar at 7am and drove up the mountains to have our breakfast. The views from the restaurant are spectacular, you can see the volcano and the lake.

After the breakfast, i strongly suggest not to eat much, we went for a bike tour. 90% of the road goes down the hill, which was good for children and us, who ate a lot at the restaurant for breakfast.

The was a part of the road up the hill, so guys loaded our children and bikes in the car and drove them up the hill. Please note that the bus and the truck are following you all the way through in case if you get tired or just lasy :).

We rode through the rice fields and different villages for approximately 20km. After that Yoga took us to his home for a lunch.

6 course lunch that was cooked by his beautiful wife was delisious. You also get the oportunity to see Indoneisian house from inside.

All the way Yoga was telling us about their traditions, history, etc. So it is not just sight seeing but also a knowlegable journey.

We were told that they have different tracks to suit families, groups, couples, etc. Also they have hiking tour that starts at 2pm, to see the sunrise a top of the volcano.

I would strongly recommend it to everyone visiting Bali. Give them a call, because they don`t do it through agents, to keep the cost down.


Cheers
Oleg, Natasha, Tony & Michael

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oleg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halo Bike Cycling Tour also viewed

 

Been to Halo Bike Cycling Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing