We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To get away from it all.....”
Review of Villa Kalisha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Kalisha
Ranked #29 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Gianyar
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Fantastic location; although only a brief walk from the road across the rice paddy to the villa, you feel like you're in the middle of nowhere with only jungle and rice fields in view.
Very nice and quiet - the staff, husband & wife plus cook/cleaning lady - are very friendly and trying hard to accommodate any wish you may have. Had a bit of a scare one night when we heard something in the kitchen downstairs; quietly investigated with a kitchen knife behind my back until we startled the "guard" awake who was sleeping on the floor in the back-kitchen -- poor guy probably had a small heart attack.
We ate at the villa every evening and mostly just left it to the cook to surprise us - fresh produce, fruit, prok/chicken/fish, homemade sambal sauce, sateh/peanut sauce, rice, noodles, etc. excellent local food. We tried the typical Bali suckling pig; you get a whole roasted baby pig (looks awesome but not for the faint hearted), the meat is then sliced off at the table. Pretty good, nice salty crunchy skin, but (this was the second time we've done this) generally overrated - the meat is not as soft and tender as one would expect.
Bedroom downstairs by the pool and outside dining area on the veranda, other bedroom upstairs with nice view across the valley. Outside showers and baths - very Bali.
The villa overall is about due for some "updating"; you notice in various details that it's beginning to look tired and worn - if nothing much is done, it'll quickly fall into disrepair. Nothing major at this stage though and it was overall too nice to be bothered by it.
We were hoping / expecting internet access (WiFi) but that turned out to be virtually non-existent -- quite old equipment to deliver the signal which was mostly too weak to be of any use. On the other hand though, given the location out in the countryside and the poor infrastructure there, it's probably not realistic anyway to expect much in terms of connectivity.
We spent 6 days with my parents - in their 70s - who loved this quiet place and Bali in general (first visit for them). The walk across the padi and up and down the stairs along the way and in the villa was overall a bit challenging for them.
Overall would recommend it if you're looking for a very quiet typical Bali experience; don't think suitable for small children.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reddot61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakalisha, Owner at Villa Kalisha, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you so much for for your comments. It is really very much appreciated. We have focused up until now on getting the villa structurally right (new roof / new deck / new staff quarters/ new ceilings / new entrance / repainted top to bottom etc.), but we agree that it is now time to focus on the furnishings. We are in the process of replacing all the main furniture in the TV lounge and that will be complete in next few weeks. We will then move on to upgrade the other rooms, while still aiming to keep the great "feel" that Villa Kalisha has.

We will look into the internet immediately. It was working fine, but will check what the issue is and as you say it is probably now due for an upgrade.

On our website we do mention that Villa Kalisha may not be suitable for elderly (see http://www.villakalisha.com/practicalities.php) and do try to mention it to potential guests, so our apologies if we did not manage to do that this time.

Our aim is always to constantly improve our villas, so thank you again for helpful comments, and I hope one day to see you back at Villa Kalisha.

All the best
Tom (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Villa Kalisha
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 27 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a great time at villa Kalisha, staying for two nights while passing through the centre of Bali. The staff at the villa - Made and her husband Nyos, principally - really made the stay for us with their warmth and hospitality. They were happy to babysit for our little ones and we felt comfortable to leave them with them. They are also great cooks.

The villa itself is an impressive building and in an impressive location, looking right down a valley onto padi fields below. It is however somewhat outside Ubud - probably 25 mins by car - which was not perfect. It could also do with a bit of tlc here and there.

Overall we had a great time and would return.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lordmair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was an incredible villa. We went with our three daughters. My twin 8 year olds describe it as a fairyland .Imagine yourself in a place where all you hear is birds singing, trees whispering and geckos chirpinging. he sounds are so impressive that even the children are silenced!! this is what you will receive the wonderful gift of beautiful sounds surrounded by silence. Night is even more incredible with the sound of chirping geckos and enormouse fireflies that light up the evening sky. As you lay in bed at night the sky glows with its own electricity created by nature itself. The satff at the illa also taught us much about the life, the people and the area. In a resort you CAN NOT get this true connection. This was far better than any resort youmwill experience. PRICELESS!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We had a short 3 day "retreat" at this beautiful property and look forward to going back. Nyos, Made and the lovely gentle Wayan were the icing on the cake. It is isolated but exactly what we craved. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 976Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 wonderful days at this beautiful property. A complete break from reality with amazing views, great food and lots of quiet. A great party house if you bring your own party. Would definitely return in the future.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank luvtocycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The moment we walked though the giant wooden gates of the gardens of Villa Kalisha, we knew we had found paradise. Everything about this property is perfect. From the secluded location to the spacious house, every moment of our stay was fantastic.
Now to the details.
A few folk have complained about the distance from the villa to Ubud town. 15 minutes in an air conditioned car is not far at all. You get to drive through all of the craft villages, so there's always something to see.The house itself is huge, I mean HUGE. Both bedrooms are bigger than most of the luxury suites found in any hotel. The outdoor/indoor bathrooms are beautiful and the perfect place to unwind by having a bath and soaking up the views. The pool is larger than all of the little plunge pools usually on offer, and the deck comes with 4 comfty deck beds to relax on. The TV / lounge room has a flat screen tv and heaps of DVDs to choose from. Free Wifi meant that we could stay in touch with back home easily.

Our holiday was made perfect by the guys who run the place. Made, Nyos, Wayan and Wayan go above and beyond to make every wish come true. Made's cooking is sublime. We ended up eating in nearly every night. Her banana pancakes are to die for.

Make sure you request Dougie to be your driver. He is not only the funniest man we have ever met, he has an amazing knowledge of EVERYTHING there is to do around Ubud. Ask him to take you to Prapen for the best silver jewelery in Bali.

My partner and I have been lucky to have traveled all over the world, staying in amazing locations and beautiful hotels, but this really has become our favorite destination of all time.
Feel free to email me with any questions about your potential stay.

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally as good as each other.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We had 3 fantastic nights here. The setting is just gorgeous and you really feel like you are getting away from it all. The views across the rice paddies are stunning. Nyos, Made and Wayan are lovely people and make the stay even more special. We ate here every night and even had a suckling pig! The food was lovely. The accommodation is great - very spacious and nicely furnished - our only regret is that we didn't stay longer! We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L0vevt0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gianyar
0.7 mi away
Astra Dana Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Villa Kemuning Ubud
Villa Kemuning Ubud
#17 of 22 in Tegalalang
20 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Wedang Ubud
Villa Wedang Ubud
#104 of 583 in Ubud
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bali Eco Resort and Adventure
1.0 mi away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 10 in Tegalalang
158 reviews
2.0 mi away
Suarapura Resort & Spa
Suarapura Resort & Spa
#45 of 199 in Ubud
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kalisha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kalisha

Address: Banjar Kebon | Kedisan, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Gianyar
Price Range: $419 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Kalisha is a spectacular private villa available to rent just North of Ubud in Bali. It has two amazing king-sized bedroom suites, both with double storey floor to ceiling glass windows that look out over the jungle gorge below. Villa Kalisha is fully serviced and catered, and not overlooked at all, making it a perfect place to escape and just kick back and relax and enjoy the cool temperatures, as Villa Kalisha's altitude means it is a lovely 25 C / 77 F all year round. Central Ubud though is just 20 minutes drive away, and our local driver will take you in and back whenever you want to do some shopping, take in a dance, or enjoy a meal in one of the great restaurants there. Please contact us for more details on our lovely villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Villa Kalisha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kalisha Bali/Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing