We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly”
Review of Villa Kalisha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Kalisha
Ranked #29 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Gianyar
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We had 3 fantastic nights here. The setting is just gorgeous and you really feel like you are getting away from it all. The views across the rice paddies are stunning. Nyos, Made and Wayan are lovely people and make the stay even more special. We ate here every night and even had a suckling pig! The food was lovely. The accommodation is great - very spacious and nicely furnished - our only regret is that we didn't stay longer! We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L0vevt0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Villa Kalisha
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 27 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2010

We just loved this villa. First impressions as we arrived in the evening were jawdropping.
The morning views only increased our opinion - it's hard to imagine how the villa location could be any better with incredible views of rainforest and rice paddies which you overlook from your high perch on the hillside.
The staff were great too; friendly, helpful and patient - thank you to all of you.
We moved on to Talia Vashti for 4 nights and had a good time lazing around, eating and snorkelling. The thought of going home however was too much to bear and we changed our flights and booked a further 4 nights at Villa Kalisha.
All of us would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gollyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Nyos, Made, and Wayan went incredibly out of their way to make us feel at home. The place is situated overlooking an achingly beautiful valley with rice paddies along the basin. The house itself is stunning, as is the pool. There were a lot of insects and it was fly season, but we got over it and those weren't specific to the villa itself. Looking forward to going back! We didn't mind the drive into Ubud. It was nice to get away and once you see Ubud, you'll probably value a little distance, too. We went out all three nights we were there, so the drive is not a problem.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kriskoziol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed at Villa Kalisha for 6 nights.
Nyos and his wife Made along with Wayan made us very welcome and they are lovely people whom work very hard to make everything perfect.
Made's cooking should receive an award - it is excellent and her little daughter is a delight.

The villa is located on the edge of a paddy field, across which you walk to reach the villa, it is then on the edge of a small gorge. It is very private.

However, it is a LONG WAY from Ubud - which we found to be a shock as we believed it would only be a ten minute ride. A ten minute ride would mean within waling distance. But no - you can not walk into Ubud from Villa Kalisha - which is infact in Tegellalang.

If you don't mind this, then Villa Kalisha is wonderful, however we expected and wanted to be close to Ubud.

The villa is also in need of some TLC.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We stayed at Villa Kalisha for 3 nights in April 2010.
I have to admit that the review posted earlier had me a bit worried, but after staying in the villa for 3 nights, I feel it's only fair to the place and staff to post my own version of facts.

In both bathrooms :
General aspect : AWESOME, Both bathrooms are really clean, but, yes, they are virtually outdoors, so yes the odd firefly or gecko might wander in and, yes humidity - Ubud is probably the most humid place in Bali.

"Towels : cheap, too small, dirty, bad smell, don’t absorbe humidity after the shower, not changed daily
Bath mats : very dirty, full of stains"

Our towels were fine, and changing towels daily is not necessary, although they were promptly replaced when we asked.

"Floor decking in the shower :
painfull to step on, we trapped our feet between the square spaces, impossible to take a shower barefoot"
Actually I found the layout rather lovely, with large white stones to step on to take a shower.

"Little white stones on the floor : constantly humid, became grey, even black, with mould growing between the stones"
This IS Ubud, probably Bali's wettest spot, along with the fact that the bathrooms are both open air, it's like showering outdoors.
When we were staying there, we did find a few very small white mushrooms sprouting from between the floor boards - again humidity, and I found this more amusing than repelling.
Overall the bathrooms are REALLY clean, it's just that they are open air in a very humid country.

"Toilets : cleaned only with a feather duster!"
When we stayed there, they were spotless.

"Bathtub : the copper bathtub in the 1st floor bathroom has many black stains"
Yes it is copper and in an open air bathroom, not copperware in a 3 Michelin Star restaurant in the Alps. And really not offputting to take a nice bath.

"Taps : not daily cleaned, calcareous stains"
Didn't notice anything unclean there...
"Futher details : low water pressure from the taps, and unstable hot/cold water controls"
Nope, I got the water to be exactly the right temperature to take a bath with my 18 month son, not too cold, not too scalding. And he loved the fact that he could see fish from the wooden bathtub in the ground floor bathroom.


"In both bedrooms :
General aspect : dirty, not very nicely furnished, dirty plate glass windows"
I found the postings beds to be wonderful, as well as the furniture in the room, simple wooden, and totally befitting the villa.

"Beds : has a matress without a slatted base or interior sprung bed base. Instead, a wodeen board"
Best sleep we had in 2 week's stay in Bali.

"Sheets : dirty, bad smell, the pillowcases are bleached, the staff sprays some perfume on the blanket and sheets"
Spotless, and the staff has incense burning inside the house when doing the turn down service, might explain the Balinese perfume...

"Mosquito net : very dirty, stains, dust"
I don't look at mosquito nets too closely, but no shocker here.

"Kitchen staff :
General aspect : extremely dirty !!!
Fridge : old, damaged, dirty inside, food without any protection (no respect of the food hygiene!!!), freezer totally disgusting (frozen blood coming from the meat)
Sponges : disgusting"
Didn't go into the staff kitchen, but then again I've never been in any staff's kitchen in any restaurant. Don't see why I would ? This got me thinking of my actual living experience in South East Asia. We dine out very often, but very rarely go to the market and never ever buy meat from there. This is because of the whole aspect of the meat in the markets with flies over them and the powerful smell. However, we do know that when dining out, the meat served is exactly the same one that we could have bought on these market stalls. Just a psychology thing ... :)

"Lounge at the 1st floor :
General aspect : dirty, dust
Sofa : too small for 3 people
Television : old model, too small for the size of the room"
Very nicely furnished although had very little use for it, didn't turn on the TV but it has been changed to a very large flat screen LCD.

"Leaks in the villa (very dangerous situation for the guests and for the staff):"
It was raining thouroughly for 1 full day when we were there and we didn't notice any leaks problems, must have been fixed.

"Dirtiness conditions in the villa :
We saw a few rats coming out from the kitchen staff and entering in the living room of the villa. We saw a few cockroachs in the 1st floor bathroom. There were many colonies of big ants everywhere in the villa, on the sofa in front of the television for exemple and on the sunbeds near the pool. In the 5 star hotels outdoor pools, they treat the floor in order that the clients won’t get any insects on their bodies while they rest on a sunbed. Our friend even got some ants in his mouth while he was having a rest!"
Yes, a few ants and bugs, but did I mention the villa is almost in the middle of a tropical jungle ?
No matter how much bugspray would be used, there would still be a few bugs around.
Plus bug treatments are bad for the environment.

"The staff :
The staff is not professionnal at all! They are not trained to be professionnals like in a top hotel. These 4 people are just simple villagers. They used to bring their kids in the villa at mornings and some family members in the evenings. Eventhough we don’t have nothing against kids, how could we wake up with the only sounds of the twitterings birds and the croaking of jungle frogs with the sound of children cries?"
Made, Wayan and Nyos are three of the loveliest people we've met in Bali, they are helpful and hard working. They differ from a typical 5 star hotel staff in the manner that they are not Butler-X540 automatons. They are genuinely interested in sharing information about their country and lives as well as getting to know you. But they are very discreet when you need some privacy.

"The food cooked at the villa by the staff :
We ate at the villa the first evening of our arrival. The food was not good. The tuna and the chicken were very dry. The breakfast was not tasty. After we discovered out the terrible conditions of the staff kitchen, we stopped to eat breakfast at the villa. For breakfast, there were always 2 boxes of cereals, already opened, both almost empty! The Marmite pot was almost empty. The jams already opened. They did not bring us toasts, which would normally get with eggs and bacon. We had to ask for some."
The villa staff cooks up a good meal of traditional Balinese food, we had dinner at the villa twice and it was great. No food poisoning or ill stomachs :).
But with so many options for food around, why just stay at the villa? We had dinner at the nearby Kampung cafe as well (2 minutes' drive outside the villa), which was very nice as well.
Breakfast is good too.

I think I'll stop here to counter all the negative arguments, but suffice to say we had a wonderful stay at the villa, it really felt like a home away from home. The staff were super friendly and the setting is astonishing - think dramatic views of a valley and walk through rice paddies to get there (no worries, there is a very good walkway).

If I were to point out something on the villa it's that it is a bit far out of Ubud (approx 20 minutes drive), but we've found that what's nice about Ubud is not the city, it's its surroundings.
I would recommend people staying there to have their own wheels and to drive or walk around the surrounding countryside.
Also, although we were staying here with a toddler and that it's completely possible to do so, one would have to watch them closely as the villa is clinging to a small ridge, and there is a real risk of a more adventurous child tumbling down.

Aside from this, book eyes closed - it's a shame that the villa's guest log is not available on the internet as it is one raving comment after the other.
Thanks again Villa Kalisha !

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayJi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Beautiful and extremely private villa, very spacious, very nice staff, great (but not heated, so a little brisk) swimming pool. The most amazing thing is its setting. Although a little inconvenient for Ubud (20-25 minutes away), we found it well worth it - it is set over a jungle gorge and has stunning huge trees and bromeliads everywhere. There are amazing views from the bedrooms and bathrooms with enormous windows. Very peaceful with no neighbors in sight. If you want to get away from the music and tourists and really experience rural Bali, this is a breathtaking villa.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjonak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andres l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gianyar
0.6 mi away
Astra Dana Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Villa Kemuning Ubud
Villa Kemuning Ubud
#17 of 22 in Tegalalang
20 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Wedang Ubud
Villa Wedang Ubud
#102 of 584 in Ubud
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Bali Eco Resort and Adventure
1.1 mi away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 10 in Tegalalang
158 reviews
2.0 mi away
Suarapura Resort & Spa
Suarapura Resort & Spa
#46 of 199 in Ubud
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kalisha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kalisha

Address: Banjar Kebon | Kedisan, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Gianyar
Price Range: $419 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Kalisha is a spectacular private villa available to rent just North of Ubud in Bali. It has two amazing king-sized bedroom suites, both with double storey floor to ceiling glass windows that look out over the jungle gorge below. Villa Kalisha is fully serviced and catered, and not overlooked at all, making it a perfect place to escape and just kick back and relax and enjoy the cool temperatures, as Villa Kalisha's altitude means it is a lovely 25 C / 77 F all year round. Central Ubud though is just 20 minutes drive away, and our local driver will take you in and back whenever you want to do some shopping, take in a dance, or enjoy a meal in one of the great restaurants there. Please contact us for more details on our lovely villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Villa Kalisha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kalisha Bali/Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing