We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family day!”

Bali White Water Rafting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Telaga Waja River is best destination for this adventures 'cause this river has Class Rapid Water from 3 till 4 grade water, so it's will be good for Beginner and will give Challenge for Experience and The water from the Mountain Springs Of Mount Agung, and your journey are 16 Km on the Raft or in the River around 2,5 Hours. Once you paddle on the river, you'll enter the secret beauty of Bali. Through the pure nature, wild tropical forests, over hanging trees and vines creating a thrilling beginner-class rafting course. Enjoy the extremely clear water, flows around numerous hairpin curves and experiences out breathtaking grade 3 and 4 rafting through a deeply carved valley with towering waterfalls along 16 km course.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great family day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Long hike down to the river... But worth it! The river was rough enough for some excitement! Kids loved it! Our youngest (9) was a little scared at first, but after a white loved it! Our 13, and 12 year olds really liked it! Guide made it really fun! The sights were beautiful! So many water falls on the trip! Lunch served after, very fresh very good! Definately a recommend!

Helpful?
3 Thank EliGuille3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    87
    19
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
den haag
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Ayung river with young kids (mega rafting)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This review is a little bit late but I realized even late reviews can be so welcome if you are looking for information...

We are a family of two adults and two children. In august 2012 the children were age 7 and 10. This was our first white water trip. So we were looking for a raft for beginners and safe for kids.

- We choose Ayung river and yes this is very good for beginners! Not scary but just a lot of fun!
- When you choose a company, be aware that some companies are doing a short trip (look for a company with at least 10 km raft then you know you do the real raft)
- Sobek is well known but Mega rafting has a longer raft. Mega rafting starts earlier with some rapids you don't want to miss and the finish is at the same point (Sobek finishes left of the river, Mega rafting on the right)
- Mega rafting has life jackets and helmets for childlren
- For safety reasons, the children get no peddles
- At the start of the raft you get a short but good briefing and they also tell what the children must do: hold on the rope if the guide says 'hold on!'
- Mega rafting has prices for families (2 adults and 2 children): 192 USD but thanks to a review at TA we booked this trip through http://www.balidiscovery.com/tickets/activitylist.asp?Level=3&Id=19 and the costs were "only" 109 USD (booking through this company is also cheaper for individuals)
- We had a boat only for our family
- At the end there were clean and hot showers. They provide towels and even plastic bags for wet clothes
- The guide was good, funny and very nice with the children
- The lunch was ok
- During the trip you stop at a place where you can buy drinks: be aware that these drinks are very expensive. The sellers push you to buy a drink for the guide. Al lot of different companies stop at this place
- At the end they make a picture but they are not pussing you to buy it
- Like all other companies: you have to walk a lot of steps to the river and back but you can take your time

We enjoined the trip very very much. It was really lots of fun, safe and also very beautiful scenery (with stone carvings!)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
14 Thank travelwithchildren2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Be very careful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

When we booked our trip we were never told about it being a Level 4 rapid which means it is very dangerous. 10 mins into our ride we hit rocks which tipped me into the water and under rocks for over 30 secs, the guide even thought i should be dead. I'm not saying don't do it because of my experience, i'm saying just be very very careful.

Helpful?
13 Thank michaelwebster65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great experience, fantastic scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The reviews on here sum this up well. Its a well organised trip. I did the Teluja river in Jan 2013 and the river was quite full. A few things to note. First price. Leaflet says $79, I negotiated $60 thinking that was OK but others paid less - negotiate hard ! Second its a full day really. I got back at 4pm to my hotel having been picked up at 7.50 quite promptly. Staff are very capable, fun and not the over friendly type that can annoy. Lunch was good and I dont eat meat and this was just fine. Steps down and up yes, not a problem if OK fit. If not then take it slower enjoy the view there wasnt a rush.

Note at the stop the drinks cost 20,000 for a can. Note also at the end young kids give you a flower and then 5 minutes later want money for it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CJAJ351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice but not super exciting rafting experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I did water rafting at Ayung River. It's about 2h. The guide is experienced and friendly. I managed to see many waterfalls during the rafting. However, ladies should be more careful when the guide pull you out from the river to the raft if you are in the water. Both my husband and I saw a guide touching a lady's butt unprofessionally during the process. The buffet lunch was not fantastic and the water flow in the bathroom was not strong.

Helpful?
5 Thank TanSK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali White Water Rafting also viewed

 

Been to Bali White Water Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing