We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream wedding in Paradise”
Review of Villa Bukit Naga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gianyar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Bukit Naga
Ranked #14 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Gianyar
Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dream wedding in Paradise”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Where to begin! We met John and Vanessa when we visited Bali in March to find a villa for our wedding. We were amazed by the beauty of the location of Bukit Naga and the story behind it (where the two rivers meet- meaning good luck). John and Vanessa immediately assisted us with every request we had and helped us plan the wedding day over the months leading up to the wedding week trip. We ended up having 10 of our close family and best friends fly over with us and spent a week at the villa enjoying day trips to Seminyak, Ubud and relaxing by the pool or going for walks in the rainforest with Parta, our wonderful villa manager. The staff were outstanding in catering to all of our needs and were so humble. All of our guests boasted about how amazing the food was and the cocktails were perfect! The staff decorated the outdoor location for the ceremony and it was exactly how I imagined and they all got dressed up in traditional clothing which made us feel very special. Our last night was simply beautiful, they had prepared a brilliant meal, yet again, and presented us (bride and groom) with a homemade palm leave crowns! We all loved our time at the villa and all the rooms, the food, the location, the staff were beyond amazing and hospitable. The service by Parta, the staff and John and Vanessa was the best that we have ever experienced on any overseas trip that we have been on. We would gladly recommend anyone and everyone to experience the luxury that Villa Bukit Naga has to offer. We look forward to spending more time there in the near future.
Thank you, Villa Bukit Naga

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlustloverss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Loved everything about Bukit Naga! It's superbly serene, fantastically managed, & I just can't say enough about the wonderful staff & the way we were looked after. I'm so looking forward to our return visit. Love love love!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evoisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The photos don't do this magnificent villa justice. I was mouth opened gob smacked for at least the first 4 days. The staff, food and surroundings surpassed anything that I could imagine. Well done to Parta and his wonderful staff for a brilliant and memorable holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This would have to be the most wonderful place on earth! I had very high expectations upon arrival and was blown away from the moment we arrived. Divine. Chic. Elegant. Perfection. Parta and the wonderful team of staff looked after our every need and nothing was ever too much trouble. The meals they prepared were delicious!! Every morning I wake and and wish I was back at Villa Bukit Naga xx

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were a group of fussy well-travelled girls used to the little luxuries and looking for an indulgent week of pampering and relaxation. We had high expectations and they were surpassed at every level.
From the start the villa owner, John was responsive and patient with some of the extras we asked for. In fact he went the extra mile and sorted many of the arrangements personally. (Thanks John!)
The onsite Villa manager Parta is the epitome of the gracious service. He was wonderful to deal with and all the arrangements, including a complex matrix of airport transfers, a terrific biking excursion, a "jungle" walk, massage and beauty therapists and a yoga instructor were organised efficiently and to a high standard.
Putu, the cook was amazing… seriously we wondered why we had any meals out, as without fail the in house meals were superb (especially the Indonesian dishes). Beautifully presented and delicious…. and inexpensive. We went to a couple of Ubud restaurants, as well as Sarong in Seminyak and would say, for the most part, we ate better at the villa (although Sarong was terrific as usual).
Melly, another one of the gorgeous staff made fabulous cocktails and was also a great help in organising our day.
We had therapists (from an Ubud spa) in daily and would suggest the massages are the better option.. We had facials and mani/pedis but these were not the best and would stick to the massages. Still, it was wonderful having them come to us and they were lovely ladies.
All the other staff maintained the high standards set by Parta, they were smiling and unobtrusive.
The villa itself is gorgeous, classy , beautifully decorated, very comfy beds and fine linen as well as extremely well maintained , with little wear and tear (unusual for Asia) and with every amenity. Ubud is a 30 min car ride away.
I could not recommend this villa more highly and am somewhat reluctant to spread the word in case it gets too busy! We will definitely be back!

If anyone needs more info, do not hesitate to send me a personal message via tripadvsior.
Once more thanks you John, Parta, Melly and Putu and all the amazing staff at Villa Bukit Naga for a truly wonderful week!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, even the little single was charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We arrived late at night to a warm greeting by Parta, the villa manager, and all the wonderful Villa Bukit Naga staff. Parta showed us around the villa to familiarise us with all the facilities and the property was more magnificent than the images on the website. The next day when we woke up our initial thoughts were confirmed. The villa is beautiful, designed thoughtfully and decorated tastefully with artwork and antiques. The property is beautifully maintained and it is clear that no expense has been spared in the design or decoration of the house. The setting is high up in a lush green tranquil valley making the view from the pool appear as if you are in the treetops. We were two families travelling with a total of four children ranging in age from 6 to 12. The property was definitely more than we had hoped for but was also perfectly suited for the children, safe with all the trappings to keep them entertained. The meals were brilliant (thank you Putu) and these were a highlight on our days spent at the villa. The property is very private and the staff are very discreet (pool towels magically appear and leaves are swept away without you knowing). Parta, who speaks excellent English, is extremely knowledgeable, professional and gracious and looked after all our needs.

The villa is about a 30-45min drive to Ubud and Parta will drive you in the villa van. The van is very comfortable and Parta will meet you with refreshing cool towels and water after your outing. In short, the villa is luxurious and relaxing and has the feel of home but with a five star twist.

Lastly, our children wanted to make sure I mentioned how much they loved doing arts and crafts with Meli (thank you Meli).

Charlotte's review (age 8):
I think that where we stayed is magical. I would like to give a big thanks to Meli and Parta and all of the staff. I hope we come here again, I loved making things with Meli. The food was great, I ate lots of chicken satay and the desserts and milkshakes were so yummy. There were 100’s of movies, I loved it :] P.S I am 8 and my name is Charlotte. I love it at Villa Bukit Naga.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnRima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Summary: If you were to design a villa from the ground up (including staff) you would hope it would be like this!

Pros: everything.
Cons: are you kidding? Leaving?

We all gathered for a friend's birthday at the villa and it was just a most wonderful experience. We joked beforehand (having looked at the photos online) about the fact we 'could have done better', that we 'were slumming it' etc but you don't even get a sense of the scale and beauty of the place until you arrive.

The staff are impeccable: and I mean impeccable. It may seem odd to mention this up front, but when you are with a large group and there are numerous staff, it could be difficult. They were all exceptional and were just a pleasure to be around.

The villa itself is not near anything in particular (and a fair way out of Ubud), but we had the use of car and driver so it mattered not. We went on day trips or out for dinner (if we could drag ourselves away from the wonderful home cooked meals) and simply returned home for cocktails and a swim.

It is an idyllic place. Elegant, spacious, airy, huge rooms, beautifully landscaped, immaculately clean. The occasional mosquito and deciding when it was appropriate to have the first G&T or Pimms of the day were about the only thing that threatened our resolute relaxation.

Looking out to the verdent surroundings from the infinity pool is one of those memories that will stay with me.

That inability to form coherent sentences when one is truly relaxed descended quicker on us than usual. It was so easy just to be soporific - it was pointless to be otherwise.

In a way, I am somewhat lost for words because there is just so much good to say about this property - I think it is best to simply say its pretty well close to perfect and leave it at that.

It is a truly magical place and I think just amazing value. I would recommend this villa without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobeconfirmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gianyar
0.0 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
0.0 mi away
Bukit Kirana Villas
Bukit Kirana Villas
#39 of 61 in Pecatu
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara River Safari Lodge
Mara River Safari Lodge
#2 of 10 in Gianyar
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bagus Jati Health & Wellbeing Retreat
0.0 mi away
The Sanctoo Villa
The Sanctoo Villa
#1 of 48 in Gianyar
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rumah Luwih Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bukit Naga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bukit Naga

Property: Villa Bukit Naga
Address: Banjar Selat, Desa Samplangan, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Gianyar
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA BUKIT NAGA is a unique property perched high on a hill, above a valley in which two sacred rivers meet. This villa estate features 7 bedrooms in 3 elegant buildings and can accommodate up to 13 guests in well-appointed luxury.VILLA BUKIT NAGA has the highest staff-to-guest ratio of any private villa in Bali: 15 full-time staff for up to 13 guests.VILLA BUKIT NAGA is a favorite holiday rental property among celebrities and industry leaders due to its absolute privacy. It is not satellite positioned, meaning it cannot be found on Google Earth or GPS systems.15 staff will attend to your every need. 2 chefs prepare global or specialized cuisines, from Western dishes to local Asian delights using organic produce from our own garden. 2 drivers can take you from mountains to beaches, to enjoy volcano hiking, surfing trips or relaxing on the sand as well as golfing, cycling or touring timeless Balinese villages.Enjoy cooking classes, yoga lessons, massages and other spa treatments in the privacy of VILLA BUKIT NAGA.The entire estate enjoys Wi-Fi, available in every room as well as poolside.The property has 3 villas that contain a total of 7 bedrooms (6 en suite bathrooms), a 50-foot infinity pool, an infinity plunge pool, a gym, Wi-Fi, entertainment room with satellite TV and 600+ DVD’s, central air conditioning, a total of 5 buildings, 2 outdoor bales, 4 private outdoor showers, a Jacuzzi, 5 balconies, various sound systems and iPod docks, and extensive gardens.Located minutes from Ubud, Bali’s cultural capital, guests can enjoy world-class dining in the villa or at award-winning restaurants such as Mozaic. Our in-house concierge will arrange shopping trips, art gallery and museum tours, and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Bukit Naga Bali/Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing