We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wish there was an option for 10 stars, as this...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
mnrose1
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wish there was an option for 10 stars, as this place deserves it!”
Reviewed March 23, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Just arrived back in the United States after 17 days in Bali. We stayed in three places, and all were good, but this place is in a league all it's own. It was by far my favorite place, and my only regret is that we did not stay longer.

We were three families sharing 6 bedrooms that Bukit Naga has. My family had the master suite (including a small children's bedroom) and another king size suite in the main house. The master suite is truly out of this world, with the largest dressing room I have ever seen. The other bedroom that my family used had a nice outdoor shower (the master does not). While not as large, all of the other bedrooms were equally as luxurious and comfortable. You won't go wrong with any of them. All of the bedrooms had a/c, and indeed, the entire property has central ac if you want to use it. We used the ac at night to sleep, but otherwise, I found the temperature at the Villa to be nearly perfect, and a near constant pleasant breeze.

The staff at Bukit Naga is second to none. Parta is a gracious host, and is always available to answer any question you might have...from how long it takes to get to some attraction or another, or the history and culture of Bali. He never failed to have a smile on his face. The chef also deserves special mention. There is absolutely no need to go out to eat when you can get amazing quality meals served with great style and prepared to the highest standard. The only "problem" you will have is deciding which items to order from the menu. The cost of the meals is very low, compared to what you will spend eating elsewhere in the area. We ate nearly all our meals at the villa, and it cost my family of 4 less than $70 a day to eat while at Bukit Naga. Considering the quality, this is an excellent value.

A car and driver is included in the rate for excursions in the Ubud area. Our group used this service many times, and we were always delivered to our locations in a safe, comfortable and timely manner. I also enjoyed the many conversations I had with the drivers...you can learn a lot about Bali simply by asking. All of the staff are willing to share their culture with you, which my family very much appreciated.

You will not regret booking this place. If you can book this place, consider yourself fortunate and sign up now!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa W
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Words Cannot Describe!!”
Reviewed November 21, 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We recently had my sisters wedding at the Villa Bukit Naga. Very small gathering as we wanted an intimate affair. Cannot put into words the experience we all had. The Villa was absolutely amazing, the staff were amazing, the food prepared by the villa chef was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. It was so beautiful, secluded & peacefull you could have been in a different world.
We had 12 guests in total and not a single one could beleive that such a place could exist.
Many thanks to Rachel, John, Parta, Melly and all the staff at Villa Bukit Naga for making this an experience that we will never forget.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbie c
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed October 6, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We booked this villa over the internet and right from the first easy exchange of emails with Rachel (owner) we new we were in for something special. We had 3 families (6 adults and 6 kids aged 7 - 10) travelling together, and wanted a few nights to wind down after the hustle and bustle of Legian, before heading home.

We were picked up at our hotel and had some trouble fitting 12 of us and our luggage into the 2 vans sent to pick us up (plus the aircon wasn't working properly in one of them so it was a sweaty 1.5 hr ride). That was the only hitch, because once we arrived Villa Bukit Naga and found the whole team of smiling staff waiting to greet us it was like stepping into a dream. Parta (the Manager) lead us on a tour of the villa that left us speechless (which is not easy for our group!). Each of the 3 gorgeous villas offers it's own special features and the gardens and pool are magnificent. I'm not going to spoil it by giving too much detail, but let's just say that this place is truely special.

The beds were heavenly (ask for a top sheet if you don't want to sleep under the doona). and it is so peaceful so we slept like babies. Even though each of the 3 villas surround the main pool - they still feel private and allow you to escape if you want to. There are gazebos and daybeds scattered all over the property and around each corner is another beautiful view of nature at it's best.

The staff are wonderful. Most of the time we weren't even aware that they were there, ... but somehow the bed was beautifully made each day, food magically appeared on the table, and leaves were swept up before they hit the ground. Parta would appear at just the right moment to answer questions and share some Balinese history. Every request was expertly handled and nothing was too much trouble. On our first night Putu (chef) made us such a delicious snapper dish that we asked her to teach us how to make it. She and Meli (our lovely waitress) did a fantastic job of feeding us, ... after the difficulty of choosing what to order from the extensive menu. Meli also spent time teaching our girls how to make some of the local craft out of reeds which they loved.

We did the Eco cycling tour which starts with breakfast overlooking a volcano (the food was ordinary - so eat breakfast at the villa before you go). Then we cycled 25kms through villages and rice paddies - virtually down hill all the way. It was a fantastic way to experience the Balinese way of life and we all rated it a highlight of our holiday. One of our group was too young to ride a 2 wheeler so she tavelled in the Van that followed the group. We finished with a delicious lunch at an open air "cafe" overlooking a rice paddy and then the van dropped us back at the villa.

Apart from a brief trip into Ubud (25 min drive) none of us wanted to leave the villa, and with the pool, gardens and the movie lounge there was plenty to keep the kids happy. On the last day a couple of us treated ourselves to a massage on the balcony with Desak and her friend - and we agreed it was probably the best massage we've ever had!

Thank you to Rachel, Parta, Meli, Putu our drivers and the rest of the amazing team for providing us with a wonderful experience that we will never forget.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishella1...
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We loved it, when can we come back!”
Reviewed July 22, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderfully beautiful, relaxing, friendly place to unwind and relax! We thoroughly loved every minute of our stay at this very welcoming villa.

Firstly, we must thank the staff for their warmth and excellent service. Nothing was too much trouble for them, from cooking us delicious meals made to order, serving up cocktails, looking after the little ones, driving us around, ensuring every room was spotless, taking care of our daily laundry, looking after the absolutely beautiful gardens..... they are just fantastic in every way! Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Bukit Naga is situated outside of Ubud village and from the front you look out over a typical Balinese rice field setting. From the back of the villa you look out over the valley to the mountains in the distance - the sunsets are spectacular. It is a very quiet area so you can either lap up the silence or party to your hearts content. There is one large swimming pool as well as a plunge pool, spa, gym, DVD room (with hundreds of DVDs), free WiFi, plus lots of quiet sitting areas so you can escape to be on your own if you want some quiet time. The villa features 7 bedrooms in 3 buildings. The bedrooms themselves are all very large with lovely bathrooms, some also having outdoor showers.

You can also order in massages and other spa treatments. We all loved our massages and they were an almost daily occurrence.

Honestly, I cannot say enough nice things about this place. We definitely felt very sad when our time came to leave.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eeZeeman
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Truly Fantastic”
Reviewed December 6, 2010 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Me and brother treated our parents to a trip to Bali, as they had not been before.

In total - there were 8 of us, so booking a villa would make sense, especially when you get 5 star service for much better value than 5 star hotels.

Part of our stay was in Ubud, and based on a recommendation of a friend, I booked Bukit Naga.

We were not disappointed at all.
Truly fantastic premises - able to sleep up to 12, across 3 separate villas.
Awesome infinity pool overlooking a plateau of lush green scenery (sunsets were truly a sight to behold)
Top-notch staff to attend your every need.

In all seriousness - you can just arrive, and no need to leave the villa at all - everything is catered for. Even has a gym, and a fully comprehensive library of DVDs in a separate TV room.

Rooms and beds were probably the best i've stayed in in a while - had some really good sleep during my stay, and woke up refreshed to some tasty Balinese coffee and breakfast, followed by a nice dip in that lovely infinity pool of theirs.

My parents absolutely loved it (hopefully they won't get too used to it .... LOL)

Highly recommended for a family or reasonably sized group to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, and looking to be tended to by top-notch staff

I could say more - but you get the gist ...

Seeing it online or reading reviews like this is one thing, actually arriving there and being there is a whole other experience...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherHo...
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection”
Reviewed October 10, 2010 for a stay in September 2010

What a place! Gorgeous surroundings, extreme tranquility and staff who could not have been more wonderful and accommodating, Bukit Naga had it all. We had such a perfect stay here we can't wait to book again. Don't hesitate in booking here, it is perfection!

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunandSno...
Hong Kong
1 review
“Relaxing, tranquil, magical, somewhere to really recharge your batteries”
Reviewed November 1, 2009 for a stay in February 2009

Within moments of arriving, it felt like we had left the city we came from truly behind. Bukit Naga is amazingly tranquil. It is also large and can accomodate a few families in separate living areas...meaning that you can have as much as peace and quiet as you wish or you can socialise around the living area around the pool. The staff are excellent and you will receive personalised service at a level beyond a 5 star resort. Bukit Naga has excellent kitchen staff and we enjoyed a variety of western and local meals. The staff's attention to detail was excellent....when we arrived, the pool toys were ready to go putting a very large smile on the face of our 4 year old. We also opted for a cultural event and we were treated to a traditional dance over dinner. The staff are also able to arrange massages which you can enjoy by the pool or on the balcony, where you can drift off to sleep with the sounds of the jungle around you. All in all, an excellent place to escape to and we will be back next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing