We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place to stay in Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Puri Bayu Guest House
Ranked #5 of 32 Gianyar B&B and Inns
Gdynia, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect place to stay in Ubud”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

we spent (2 couples) almost a week in Ubud in August. Puri Bayu has perfect location,is just walking distance to main street + it has amazing view to rice fields. Just nearby are good restaurants + Market + Monkey Forest.... you can easly rent a scooter just a cross the street (5$/day!!) and enjoy outskirts of Ubud. Beside that Ketut will take care of you: he will prepare delicious breakfast and clean your room.
That's why on our way back home we decided to stay there one night. It was fully booked but owners give us opportunity to stay in their second place: Puri Cantik Bungalow
Owwww - it was also cool. No rice fields view but rooms were SO beautiful with this balines handmade furnitures...and bathroom - amazing!!

Thank you for making our stay in Bali perfect. Hope to see you soon

Karolina + her team :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borboletaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
17
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Friendly people and great house & location (overlooking rice fields, but close enough to Ubud centre). Room nicely decorated, spacious, and with a good-size veranda. Because of a late flight out, the owners were so kind to let me (and my luggage) stay on their premises until late at night.

However, I missed the basics to combat the extreme humidity: a fridge and aircon. My water was always tepid, and the ceiling fan was not adequate. Also lacking were toiletries, and WiFi access was on and off.
As the owners live a few houses further, it was not always easy to get an answer to a question or problem, especially during rainy times.
Finally, there are open air bathrooms, which can be great. At Puri Bayu, there is not enough coverage for rain, though, so the floor is often wet when using the sink or going to the toilet. Also, the floor is partially covered by white pebbles, which look nice, but are a pain in the foot when the humidity makes them stick to your soles. Also, it is not a very clean system: I saw quite some hairs of previous guests between them....

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms more privacy and better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank groengras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

First and foremost, I must really thank Dewi and I Gusti (the couple) that manage the guesthouse. We had a terrible rocky start, there was an issue with my deposit via Western Union and my flight was delayed so by the time I reached my place, it was late and they had thought I had cancelled my room. SIGH. Luckily! There was another room for them to place the other guest at (which was coming the day after) so I can sleep at the room that I initially reserved!! Thank you Dewi and I Gusti.

Location:
Puri Bayu is located at Bisma Street which is about 5 minutes walk from the famous Ubud Market, and Monkey Forest Road (lots of bars and restaurants). It’s also located about 5 minutes walk from the famous halls that feature Kecak and Barong dances.
That aside, Puri Bayu is right across a paddy field! At that time of visit, it was a full stretch of green so that was a delight. It was the reason I reserved it for.

Rate:
While I was busy looking for rooms and / or places to stay, I found Puri Bayu the most affordable! For USD 28 a night (inclusive of tax), it’s even inclusive of breakfast so that was really appreciated for.

Airport Transfer:
That one thing that wasn’t included that I wished they had was airport transfer. Simply because it would help anyone who comes in via Denpasar which is about 1.5hours drive.

Children + Family:
Extremely acceptable if you’re staying on groundfloor! There are dogs around and its heaps of fun to have play around with you.

View:
Paddy field view :) I had reserved Puri Bayu for this, and this is what I have gotten.

Service:
From the my first mention about Dewi, I Gusti and Ketut and their other staff, everyone was really willing, friendly, and made sure I was well taken care of. As a solo traveler, I appreciate it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Everything ist nice in this place except one quite important thing. There is a construction site next to the guesthouse. It is impossible to enjoy the stay during the day. They carving stones and hammer until five o'clock. The owner could not say how long it takes. We assume at least another 6 month.
The place is nice but this point is unacceptable.

Room Tip: The rooms in the first floor have the good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

For a guesthouse, Puri Bayu's location and facilities are just nice, only a short 10-15mins walk to Ubud market & other attractions.

From Jalan Bisma, you gotta walk (no car!) into a small, tight lane in order to reach the guest house, and 2 of its rooms are on level 2, up a steep/tight fleet of stairs. So it is not recommended having big suitcases & also not for the elderly.

The rooms lacked cleaning & proper maintenance. For eg cobwebs/dust everywhere incldg on the mosquito nettings and tables, and one of the pillows provided had serious molding/stains on it. Only 2 bottles of drinking water, 1 toilet paper roll, 2 towels & 1 pc of soap were provided throughout our 2 nights' stay. No major prob with bugs if you keep the toilet & balcony doors closed. Toilet is super cold to use at night and early mornings as it is open topped. If it rains, you might get wet at the sink!

Breakfast is just nice, with generous pot of tea/coffee for each person & yummy green pancake is a must try, but service is rather slow. If you are in a hurry, you need to tell the owner, Dewi, in advance. This could be slightly inconvenient as she stays 1 mins' walk round the corner at Puri Cantik.

But I guess these are not too big issues as the whole place gives you a great cozy & nice cool vibe. Staying here in Ubud is a huge welcome compared to the busy polluted Kuta. However, if you have a tight schedule, perhaps max of 2 nights here is sufficient. After a while here at Puri Bayu, you could start to miss the small comforts/luxury of a hairdryer, tv, fridge, room service, air-cond, toiletries, etc.

Room Tip: The rooms on Level 2 have better views, but the 1 room on the ground floor is bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yenbenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

After a 20 days trip around Thailand, Cambodia & Indonesia we spot this little place...how I don't know!!
The rooms are beautiful, clean and well organize, the view I can't describe need to seat on the sofa of the first floor and enjoy the sunset!!!! The unique bathroom is the shining star in this outdoor guesthouse!!
The mum are so sweet help us to find some place to visit where usually tourist don't go
We hardly find the energy to leave it!!
We will be back

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomaskec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Amazing that just 200m from the main street where the Vespas, Hondas and taxis buzz all day that there is such a peaceful, spacious, guest house overlooking a rice paddy. Great place to chill out and get energized for the bustle of Ubud, only a step away. Location could not be easier.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gianyar
1.8 mi away
Villa Sarna Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud
#135 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
6.7 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
6.2 mi away
SenS Hotel & Spa + Conference Ubud Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Fontana Hotel Bali
Fontana Hotel Bali
#24 of 251 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.8 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#36 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.8 mi away
Saudara Home
Saudara Home
#1 of 542 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Bayu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Bayu Guest House

Property: Puri Bayu Guest House
Address: Jl. Bisma, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Gianyar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Puri Bayu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Bayu Guest House Bali/Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing