We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mara River Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Anahata Villas & Spa Resort(Gianyar)(Great Value!)
$58
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$125
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bumi Linggah The Pratama Villas(Gianyar)(Great Value!)
$101
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vision Villa Resort(Gianyar)(Great Value!)
$86
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aji Lodge(Gianyar)(Great Value!)
$13
$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$74
$62
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,484
$1,349
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$537
$434
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveler rating
339
203
47
22
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
203
47
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfeed the animalstsavo restaurantwater parkelephant rideunique experiencebali agung showswim up barafrican thememarine parkfamily roomlions and tigersuma restaurantbbq dinnerfree photowatching the animalstwo nightsfun zone
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 623 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is the best way to enjoy the full experience of Bali Safari and Marine Park.
The rooms are situated facing an open paddock with a mote separating balcony and paddock.
Every morning rhino's, zebra's and African antelope roam freely. The hotel leaves you vegetables to throw to them which draws them to the very edge of the mote. During the day the elephant rides come past your room and every sunrise and sunset you can hear the lions and tigers roar from your room. The rooms were great and decorated in an African theme. All amazing experiences!!!!
Great pool facility which is a short walk from your room. On arrival you receive vouchers for safari rides, discount vouchers for souvenirs and the night safari - which is an absolute must to experience! We were able to feed tigers, elephant, giraffe and zebras, but the best thing was we were the only ones on the safari trip that night. We were also given a free photo opportunity with a young orang-utan or young lion. We chose the orang-utan - he was sooo cute.
In the mornings you are free to roam the park prior opening.
Make sure you include breakfast in your booking. The buffet breakfast from the restaurant was one best we have had in Bali. The restaurant has glass walls where you can watch the lions (or they can watch you!!!). The restaurant is rather pricey, but the food is of very high standard. We found the staff to be attentive and courteous.
On one of our dining experiences we were brought out to the foyer to have photos taken with the macaws at no cost.
We highly recommend this for families, couples or anyone who would love a African experience without going Africa. Would return any time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pault112011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliSafariBSMP, Hotel Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for choosing Mara River Safari Lodge for your recent stay and time you spent writing this feedback.

I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope you will share those good times experiences and memories of your stay and whole activity in the park with your friends and family so they will want to stay with us here in Mara River Safari Lodge.

Thank you very much once again and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back for another safari stay with your family at Mara River Safari Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Went there with my family including my 3year old nephew in july. Had lotsa fun. Stayed in twiga room, 2nd floor, whereby carrots are provided for guest to feed elephants/zebra/deer/rinho. While all animals are not always ever present in the feeding zone near the balcony, they would wander into the area every now and then. Only the sleepy rihnos are permanent resident. Rooms are decorated with safari theme, showers are almost outdoors. 1 night stay should suffice. Comes with mediocre breakfast with views of lion sleeping. All i can say is the animals are really well fed! Nice of the management to provide free entry to the waterpark, to compensate for the under maintenance swimming.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Briyano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliSafariBSMP, Hotel Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for choosing Mara River Safari Lodge for your recent stay and your valued time spent writing this feedback. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you very much once again and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back for another great adventurous stay with your family at Mara River Safari Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at the Mara River lodge in Twiga suite 201. The suite closest to the fabulous Tsavo Lion Restaurant and reception. Service was fantastic by lovely professional staff. Cannot describe how fantastic this stay was. There is not one detail we could fault. The accomodation was beyond words. The bed was probably the most comfortable I have ever slept on, the bathroom and inclusions were lovely. From the lovely african themed room where you can walk out on the balcony to see Zebras, rhinos, wilderbeest, deer and elephants with tourists on them at close range. There were a basket carrots in the room as well to feed the animals from our balcony. Was a short walk to the restaurant as we were very close. We did the night safari where we could feed the animals incl big cats from the back of a truck where we were enclosed in like a huge cage. The pool also overlooked the zebras and rhinos etc as well. Had a well stocked bar in the pool and a spa salon (although we werent there long enough to use this service). We woke up to the sound of lions roaring. It was like being in Africa!! We will definitely be staying here again but for more than one night next time. Would definitely recommend this for couples or families or anyone. Will be one of the best things you ever do.

Room Tip: Twiga suites or Tandala suites are upstairs so I think the view would probably be a little better than downstairs suites.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumbasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliSafariBSMP, Hotel Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for choosing Mara River Safari Lodge for your recent stay and your valued time sharing your good times and experiences while you stayed with us.

We are proud to bring the concept of wilderness of Africa in the heart of Bali. Each guest can enjoy the beautiful panorama of Africa when they opened their bedroom balcony. Let us know what we can do to assist you more for your next stay . Please visit our official website to get the latest offer.

From all the team, we are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Was a bit sceptical of this package as it was a bit expensive, but my daughter wanted it for her birthday present so I relented. I was pleasantly surprised... we got the kifaru family package 2 nights 3 days. the double rooms were large and the bedding very comfortable this resort has lovely touches that make it easy, Aust electric sockets and a great hairdryer, not the normal crappy toiletries but something you use instead of your own and they were natural. The dinners were lovely an well prepared, my daughter got the whole kitchen out singing her birthday with a lovely cake as well. there is a new evening fire/dance show, that is very well done the production is done by an Aussie called Pete who we were fortunate to meet, this is not the Bali barong you see usually but a choreographed musical production and visually stunning on the warm balmy nights.
This hotel also does nightly encounters with the animals, we had snakes an McCaw's crawling over us each night. This is a great experience for everyone from singles to families, From the morning walks of the tigers/lions and cheetahs in the morning to the lion in the loo and rhino's off your balcony and zebras next to the pool. Yes it is priced high but I believe it is worth it quite an amazing little adventure on your own time. 2 nights was enough for my 14 and 12yr old as we had done the water park and the full zoo section, do make sure you go to the Agung show another spectacular production visual stunning with a beautiful story. the only thing that I was not happy with was the lounge in room as it was to upright and when your kids want to lounge an chill we found this too uncomfortable, other than that thumbs up guys!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bec068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliSafariBSMP, Hotel Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review in this forum. We are pleased to know that during your stay with us you have wonderful time and enjoy the entire stay.

We strive to always provide the best for our guests, your positive feedback is very important for us.

Please share your wonderful moments when you were staying at Mara River safari Lodge with your family and friends, visit our official web site and let us accommodate your need when you decide to visit Bali in the not distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is placed in the centre of the Safari Park, noting that both are separate businesses, however as you are staying in the hotel you get preferential prices and services. The hotel is superb, food 5 star international standards, staff perfect, everything highly recommended - but its pricey and isolated, so 2 days maximum Id say.

Room Tip: stay in he tandala suites as they are in an elevated tree house (of sorts, so just pretend) because you can feed the 2 rhinos, 3 zebras, and 1 wildebeest from your balcony..if you throw it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MightyHawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaraRiverSafari R, Hotel Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for share your experience in this forum when you stayed in Mara River Safari Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time during your stay. Our famous Tsavo Restaurant always ready to serve your breakfast, lunch and dinner with attentive ready to assist you, while our Hotel staff always ready to provide information regarding activity inside the park or arrange some activity outside the park. Staying at Mara River Safari Lodge is an unforgettable experience as you get to interact and feed exotic and endangered animals direct from your room.

We are always happy to welcome you back whenever you visit Bali in the future. Please contact us by visiting our official web site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews