We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mara River Safari Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gianyar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Staying at this wonderful place is a must when visiting Bali .A group of six stayed one night the highlight was the night safari .The restaurant, pool and room were great I have visited the park 4 times before but this was the first time i have stayed at the lodge it was a great experience watching the lions ,tigers and other animals being fed at night
The staff were friendly and very helpful i recommend this place as you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRSL HOTEL M, Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Diana P,

Thank you very much for your patronage at the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously improve our standards.

We are more than glad to learn that you found our products and services to meet your expectations during your recent visit .

It is our priviledge to be of service to you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali in the future

Best Regards,

Muhamad Arief Rahman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 586 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

We only stayed for one night at Mara River safari Lodge but enjoyed our experience and would recommend it. The restaurant was also good with a nice menu for dinner and a adequate breakfast buffet.The pool over looks the animals roaming around and the cocktails in the swim up bar are a nice way to end the day. Best of all was the night safari which I highly recommend doing - unbelievable and a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirrandandy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRSL HOTEL M, Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Dirrandandy2,

Thank you very much for your patronage at the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously improve our standards.

We are more than glad to learn that you found our products and services to meet your expectations during your recent visit .

It is our priviledge to be of service to you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali in the future

Best Regards,

Muhamad Arief Rahman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

When visiting Bali you must have a couple of nights at this amazing place. We had two nights there and had a great experience with what was available. Our room was very comfortable and we were able to view the animals roaming around from our balcony. The staff was very friendly and the views from the restaurant, viewing the lions and the meerkats was an experience. There was so much to do we ran out of time, but it is definitely a place to take the grandchildren on our next visit to Bali

Room Tip: Select a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peekat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRSL HOTEL M, Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Peekat2014,

Thank you very much for your patronage at the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously improve our standards.

We are more than glad to learn that you found our products and services to meet your expectations during your recent visit .

It is our priviledge to be of service to you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali in the future

Best Regards,

Muhamad Arief Rahman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed there Oct 24th thru 27th. the room was great. Best was the feel of being in with the animals. From our balcony, we could see zebra, and rhinos grazing. I loved the restaurant which was beautiful on its own but the experience of watching the lions was exceptional. I enjoyed the park also, watching the beautiful white tigers, the elephants, etc. Really exceptional was the Bali Theater show on the grounds of the park. That is a must!!! Very unusual and beautiful. Really enjoyed our stay.
Also, Make sure you visit the Monkey Forest while you are in the area.

Room Tip: Great view from higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyEn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRSL HOTEL M, Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Emilyen,

Thank you very much for your patronage at the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously improve our standards.

We are more than glad to learn that you found our products and services to meet your expectations during your recent visit .

It is our priviledge to be of service to you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali in the future

Best Regards,

Muhamad Arief Rahman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Date of Stay : 24-26 Nov 2013

The room is very clean and the staff is very friendly. But we generally felt that the lodge is understaffed. Check-in took a long time. We were not informed that we will get a better price of we were to book the Elephant Back Ride and the Safari Journey from the hotel counter instead of the park ticket counter. I was only informed of this when I was purchasing the tix over the park counter and because of that I had to make my way back to the lodge lobby to purchase the cheaper tix.
I also do not like the hard flooring in the room. It is not only hard.. it is also slippery. Not very kid-friendly.
All in all.. the entire Safari experience was good. The night safari was awesomely amazing. But service wise and rooms could do with some improvement.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyranocrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRSL HOTEL M, Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Cyranocrash,

We truly appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience regarding your stay with us. Your feedback is always important to us in improving our services here at Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar. I do regret that your recent visit was marred by flaws and I would like to assure you that instant measures have been taken to correct the shortcomings.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you and best regards,

Muhamad Arief Rahman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

stayed only for one day on november 30 to december 1. we are couple and enjoyed the quite of keramas at night and of course the lion's roar. it was an amazing experience.
but i had bad experience with the security guard who checked my bag in the entrance of taman safari. he opened my bag recklessly and didnt close it well!. he broke the zip also and when i looked him he just said what and didnt give a hand! how arrogant he was.
despite that poor hospitality from the guard i would happy to come again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rama s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRSL HOTEL M, Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear RamaSujaya,

First and foremost I would like to thank you very much for your patronage at Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously improve our service standards.

I am dissapointed to hear that our Security services did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. I have instantly addressed matter of your concern with my team and corrective action has been taken to avoid the reoccurrence of similar incident in the future.

Please do let me know in case that I can be of any assistance to you and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back at Mara River Safari Lodge in the near future.

Thanks and regards,

Muhamad Arief Rahman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Arrival
-Waited long for the pick up at the main entrance.

Room
-Nice room at the center with great morning view of all the animals.
-Our girl enjoy feeding the zebras.
-Is so dim at night in the rooms.

Tsavo Lion
-Dinner ala cart menue limited choice
-No children utensils for kids? Very strange as they cater to family.
-Up Close experience with the lions when dinning and also in the rest rooms.
-Breakfast buffet food - hot food are served cold!

Safari Journey Tram
-Good ride to see most animals and the Park.

Overall a great one time experience with our girl.

Thanks for the NOT ants free room muhamad arief, hotel manager. Despite your assurance.

Hope to see a better reply then the standard ones.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GelinaTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRSL HOTEL M, Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Gelina Tay,

First and foremost I would like to thank you very much for your patronage at Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously improve our service standards.

We are more than glad to learn that you had a great time experience during your recent visit . Eventhough your dining experiences did not meet your expectations.I have instantly addressed matter of your concern with my team and corrective action has been taken to avoid the reoccurrence of similar incident in the future.

Please do let me know in case that I can be of any assistance to you and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back at Mara River Safari Lodge in the near future.

Thanks and regards,

Muhamad Arief Rahman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gianyar
0.5 mi away
Rumah Luwih Beach Resort and Spa
15.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#23 of 252 in Kuta
5,716 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#23 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Mason Elephant Lodge
Mason Elephant Lodge
#24 of 612 in Ubud
1,116 reviews
1.4 mi away
Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali
8.2 mi away
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara River Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara River Safari Lodge

Address: Jl. Prof Ida Bagus Mantra Km. 19, 80551, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gianyar
#2 Spa Hotel in Gianyar
Price Range: $149 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara River Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara River Safari Lodge is a themed resort that offers a truly unique experience. Accommodation is composed of a series of comfortably appointed thatched dwelling orientated towards a landscaped inhabited by wildlife. With the shadow of Bali's sacred Mount Agung looming in the distance, embrace the rare tranquility of this retreat as rhinos, zebras and oryx graze contentedly at close range. Savor the raw beauty surrounding the lodge, while lions majestically roar declaring their status as the king of the beasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mara River Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara River Safari Hotel Gianyar
Mara River Safari Resort
Mara River Safari Lodge Bali/Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing