We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wild experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mara River Safari Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gianyar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

"A wild experience" was a tagline at they welcoming letter....
Truly what a Nice hospitality, the bad think is we just stay only for one night :(

I'm choosing this hotel just because my son really loves ZOO, so when my friend offer for voucer with reasonable price just take it. Firstable, we got Swala deluxe at ground floor and upgrading to Twiga Suite room at upper floor. just only USD25 more cost, is worthed.

The Twiga room is very African Safari style, the room is spacious with Bali Safari (the zoo) view. You can sitting at the terrace with feeding the animal, what a wild :)
The bed is little bit small approx 180x200 size with netting like you seen on safari movie, LOL. The bath room only with standing shower is a nature and wild, and clean also.

What I loves to do in this hotel is sitting in restaurant terrace, and noon came. oh, it is wonderful.

Room Tip: is free for Bali Safari rides, so noted the timetable show. or ask for informations at front desk if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugiphang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRSL HOTEL M, General Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Sugiphang

Thank you very much for your patronage at the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously improve our standards. We are more than glad to learn that you found our products and services to meet your expectations during your recent visit .
It is our priviledge to be of service to you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali in the future

Muhamad Arief Rahman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 597 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

I can only echo the rave reviews of this lodge hotel and surrounding park experience. It is really a superb hotel with excellent facilities. The rooms are exquisite, the entertainment system is state of the art, with loads of free HD movies and build-in room service. That is should you get tired of watching the rhinos pace up and down the road outside your balcony or the onyx bark at each other. Occasionally, the elephants come by on safari and duke it out with the rhinos, throwing stones or spraying water to defend themselves. What a spectacle.
You get the sense that you are living in some sort of outpost in the African jungle.
The staff are extremely polite, warm and very service minded. Whilst your needs might not be fully understood, they really have tried to anticipate your every need and create a fantastic experience.
We brought our two young boys with us and they have memories that will resonate for a lifetime. We found the level of service and the standard of food in the restaurant to be excellent. The head chef a recent addition from a 5-star resort delivered on a well rounded menu. The buffet breakfast was a little sparse but still of good quality and the staff were very good about preparing boxes if you wanted to take some with you to get an early start in the Safari park.

I thoroughly recommend the lodge for couples and families.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Declan189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRSL HOTEL M, General Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Declan

Thank you very much for your patronage at the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously improve our standards. We are more than glad to learn that you found our products and services to meet your expectations during your recent visit .
It is our priviledge to be of service to you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali in the future

Muhamad Arief Rahman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A fantastic place to relax and enjoy watching the animals feeding just across from your balcony. We were in a suite on the 2nd floor where we had unbelievable views of the rhinos, zebras and wilder beasts grazing. The restaurant was not cheap like the rest of Bali but cheap compared to Australian standards, but the food was of high quality. I would recommend a two night stay for anyone travelling to Bali.

Room Tip: 2nd floor Tandala Suite a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRSL HOTEL M, General Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for your patronage at the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously improve our standards. We are more than glad to learn that you found our products and services to meet your expectations during your recent visit and we are certainly happy to share your kind compliments with our team members.
It is our priviledge to be of service to you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali in the future

Muhamad Arief Rahman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Without having to travel to Africa you can wake up to the sound of Lions roaring then look over your balcony and feed Rhinos and Zebras!
The hotel is of a very high standard, we stayed in a suite on the 2nd floor so we got great views of the animals.
The whole hotel is very well done, the food in the restaurant although not cheap was of international quality and our dinner was one of the best we've had in Bali. But the food is secondary as you are eating it whilst watching lions frolicking only metres away!
Make sure to take the Night Safari if you stay at the hotel as it was one of the most amazing experiences ever! Feeding Tigers, Elephants and Zebras from inside a cage was mind-blowing!

Room Tip: Second floor suite for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzzieTravellers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRSL HOTEL M, General Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Ozzie,

Thank you very much for your patronage at the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali and for taking your precious time to complete our guest comment cards. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously improve our standards. We are more than glad to learn that you found our products and services to meet your expectations during your recent visit and we are certainly happy to share your kind compliments with our team members.
It is our privilege to be of service to you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mara River Safari Lodge, Gianyar – Bali in the future

Sincerely,

Muhamad Arief Rahman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I shouldn't really be rating this property that highly as otherwise, hordes of tourists will be heading here and spoiling this gem. However, putting my selfishness aside, Mara River Safari Lodge is a gem, where everyday is an experience of its own. Highly highly recommended!

Waking up to seeing wildlife right out of your balcony is indeed a fun experience. If you haven't been on a real safari, this is as close to the real thing. Also, I highly recommend staying at the lodge rather than visiting the safari park as a day tourist; as its so much more convenient. You will not regret it. You get multiple access to the safari park, unlimited day safari journey ride as well as taking it all it at a leisurely pace.

The staff are all very friendly and willing to accommodate all your requests. The accommodation is also very well placed and decor is that of an African themed. Carrots are all provided so you can have a great time throwing them out to the grazing herds. Not forgetting hearing the elephants trumpeting in the night while you are dozing off or the Siberian tigers raring just right next door. Awesome!

I will not talk about the park itself as I will make another review on that in its appropriate segment.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are all at Tsavo Lion restaurant. Although food is pretty limited and pricey, however the experience is one of its own. Wait staff are all so very friendly. Eating and being able to peer at meerkats, hippo and the lions at eye level of your dinner plates is also something that is very distractive in a good way. Every moment is very different. Also, do not forget to go to the washroom of the restaurant too as a lion is waiting to peek at you from between the transparent glass partition.

Overall, a very delightful experience that is not to be missed!

Room Tip: I had Twiga room 210, awesome 300m room view straight out to the bar with unblocked view of grazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlvinTSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitraJaya, Front Office Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear AlvinT,

Warmest Greeting from Mara River Safari Lodge!. Thank you for taking time to share a such detailed review for the future traveller and we're glad to learn that you had a delightful experience while staying with us.

Once again, your kind word is very much appreciated and we looking forward to serve you and your love on another occassion.

Kind regards,

Sumitra J & Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The family and l stayed at this lodge for 2 nights..The huts were fantastic, clean and very comfortable..The staff were always polite and helpful..Having breakfast with the lions and meerkats was thoroughly enjoy by the grand children..the most memorable experience was the night safari in a cage on the back of a truck feeding the tigers..Everyone should try it...Thank you to all at the Mara River Lodge, especially Katut..lol

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitraJaya, Front Office Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear barbvr,

Thank you for the great review following to your recent stay at our lodge. We're glad to hear that you and your family had a wonderful experience and enjoyed both lodge and park activities especially for the Night Safari. Once again thank you for the compliments, we will share this to Ketut as well.

We looking forward to serve you all on your next visit.


Kind regards,

Sumitra Jaya
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The accommodation is very good, cute hut style with a good balcony view. Comfy beds, great bathrooms with all the little amenities, TV with basic cable etc but for the price it's what you'd expect. The couch is the only let down on the comfort factor. Room service is nice and not too costly. The highlights are the pool, though the view of the savannah is obscured by the garden, you get a better view from your room. To hear the animals at night you really need to sit on the balcony, if you have the air con on in your room. The night safari is a must. Staring up at a Tiger whilst he lays on the cage 1 foot above you is just unbelievable. The Tsavo Restaurant has a great range of food for dinner and a superb breakfast. Watching the lions, hippo, meerkats and hedgehogs while eating was awesome. As was holding Frank the Boa and petting the baby elephant. They bring animals to the restaurant foyer from 7 - 8pm again, not to be missed. If you book online make sure you have the price quoted on your email receipt, especially if you've make changes.

Room Tip: Tundala rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iWish2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitraJaya, Front Office Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear iWish2b,

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the our lodge. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a memorable experience and enjoyed the services and activities we’ve offered. We are sorry to hear and delighted to note that the comfort of the couch did not meet your expectation however we always strive to do the improvement for guest convenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day at the lodge.


Kind regards,

Sumitra Jaya
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gianyar
0.5 mi away
Rumah Luwih Beach Resort and Spa
15.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#24 of 251 in Kuta
5,861 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Royal Purnama Art Suites & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali
6.5 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
8.2 mi away
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara River Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara River Safari Lodge

Address: Jl. Prof Ida Bagus Mantra Km. 19, 80551, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gianyar
#2 Spa Hotel in Gianyar
Price Range: $159 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara River Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara River Safari Lodge is a themed resort that offers a truly unique experience. Accommodation is composed of a series of comfortably appointed thatched dwelling orientated towards a landscaped inhabited by wildlife. With the shadow of Bali's sacred Mount Agung looming in the distance, embrace the rare tranquility of this retreat as rhinos, zebras and oryx graze contentedly at close range. Savor the raw beauty surrounding the lodge, while lions majestically roar declaring their status as the king of the beasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mara River Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara River Safari Hotel Gianyar
Mara River Safari Resort
Mara River Safari Lodge Bali/Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing