We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific and unique experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mara River Safari Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Gianyar
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Terrific and unique experience!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We traveled as a family group of 5 aged 3 to 67 years, and all loved this place.

It's a very unusual experience in Bali to go to sleep with lions roaring in the distance, seeing zebras outside your window and having breakfast next to meerkats, and we all loved it.

The staff were all excellent, and made our daughter's third birthday even more memorable.

Also a very practical way to enjoy the Safari Park.

Room Tip: Closer to the reception gives an unimpeded view of the zebras and rhinos, some rooms look out over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goat-whisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    183
    43
    20
    10
See reviews for
301
144
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We've just spent two nights with a business group at the Mara River Safari Lodge. What a unique property. Accommodation is in the form of African huts, looking out onto a creek, where zebras and elephants can sometimes be seen and where a sound track of lions roaring adds to the ambience.

It's a good idea to ask for a second floor room, as the ladies in our group had to do battle with a variety of "wildlife" including spiders, frogs and ghekkos. We had no such problems in our room (thank goodness!). Breakfast with the lions and the meerkats is a highlight, as is the ride through the Safari Park.

The Lodge is excellent for about two nights, to explore all the the Safari Park has to offer - and it's much bigger than you think, so allow a couple of days, especially as the weather is too hot to do it all in a day. Members of our group who saw the show in the huge arena said it was fabulous and the best show they'd ever seen.

My husband had a reasonably priced massage in the day spa and said it was absolutely wonderful. My only suggestion overall, is that more shade is needed in the pool area to allow one to relax and read a book in comfort. Other than that, I can recommend the Lodge, especially to families as children will love it.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second level to reduce the likelihood of unwanted "guests" crawling o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue-Murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I absolutely loved my experience at Mara River Safari Lodge. From the Lobby pick up in an old fashioned open safari van to the extensive information provided to you about the lodge. The staff are all exceptionally friendly and would bend over backwards to ensure you enjoy your stay. The swimming pool is awesome, being able to swim in while rhinos are zebras roam just 30 ft from you is spectacular. The rooms overlooking the grounds are equipped with all the luxurys and the semi-outdoor shower is a great touch. This place would be amazing for a family for a few days, with plenty to entertain kids whilst providing a relaxing and calm atmosphere for the adults. Was a great way to kick off my trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gforce1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We loved Mara River. The African style bungalows overlooking the wild animals roaming was great. Drifting off to sleep to lions roar is an experience as is dining in the Tsavo Restaurant with the lions close enough to almost touch through the glass windows. Each night they bring a different animal into reception for the guests. We had a snake & elephant. Plenty of time for photos & questions. Food & service excellent although on the expensive side. Night Safari, feeding the zebras also fun. The live show in the Agung Theatre was a great story of Bali, educational, musical & funny. The theatre is beautiful, very cool & comfortable. Cannot speak highly enough of the whole package. Stay here & see the Safari Park at your own leisure & enjoy the extras you get for being a guest not a day tripper. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RozfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The place is perfect for families with kids of all ages. We travelled with kids ages 9, 12, 15 and 16 and we all enjoyed our 2 night stay...our villa, which accommodates six, had an excellent location relative to the swimming pool -- this pool overlooks an open area where zebras, rhinos and elephants wander about and come to feed in the afternoons. However, we were a bit of a walk from the lobby and the ONLY restaurant in the lodge, Tsavo.

The lodge is quite impressive, our villa was wonderfully decorated with an African village theme... everything was clean and secure, unless you're terrified of frogs, geckoes and lizards as I am -- then you will be freaked out quite often. This is a safari-hotel after all...there will be frogs and geckoes at every turn, but, happily...you may also meet a squirrel or two on your way to lunch.

This is an excellent choice for a weekend, but I wouldn't push it far beyond two nights unless you and your kids really REALLY like animals and don't mind not having anything else to do except look, feed and just generally hang out with animals. The first problem about staying longer is the food....there are enough food options at the Bali Safari and Marine Park, but all those food shops close by 5 or 6pm and after that, you have no choice but to eat at Tsavo. The food at Tsavo isn't bad at all, but the menu is limited and if you've already had breakfast there every day, and a lunch or dinner...you really get rather tired of it. Also, it is a bit expensive, compared to everywhere else you have or will get to eat in Bali.

I would definitely recommend a night or two at Mara River Lodge, but I suggest exploring the rest of Bali from a different base.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chimenebelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My family with 2 kids (a 5yo and 3 yo) stayed for 2 nights. On the whole we had a wonderful experience. What stood out was the night safari experience when we got to feed the lions, tigers, zebras and a host of other animals. The animals rides were pleasant and exiting for my 3yo. We had the chance to take photos with a 10month old baby lion which was quite an experience too. The educational shows which was well staged and narrated and pretty entertaining. And one morning we woke up to an amazing view of 2 rhinos, zebras grazing right across from our room.

The GM and one reception staff was especially helpful and speak good English and make good recommendations. We were glad to have met them who made a difference to our stay experience.

We gave the funzone and waterpark a miss, many rides were closed and don't look well maintained. The food at the Tsavo lion restaurant was abit costly but otherwise had a wide selection.

We would recommend it for first timers. But will not make a return trip since the park is not very big and we have covered most of it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ongmdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

It seems that the hotel takes every thing concerning the guests' entertainment and comfort into consideration, except that there is not jogging path for them to exercise and enjoy the unique scenery at the same time. It is a pity. The furniture and decoration of the hotel room are also of African style. They are special and beautiful.The waiters and waitresses are friendly and will offer a helping hand without hesitateion. The food in the restaurant is not so excellent ( at least it is not to my taste), and not cheap, either, but the service is good. We can watch lions and some lovely animals outside the windows when we eat.The best thing here is that we can listen to the lions roaring from afar when we lying in bed at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Li Jung Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gianyar
0.5 mi away
Rumah Luwih Beach Resort and Spa
17.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,598 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#40 of 338 in Kuta
5,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
20.4 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
13.6 mi away
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara River Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara River Safari Lodge

Property: Mara River Safari Lodge
Address: Km. 19 Jl. Prof Ida Bagus Mantra, 80551, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gianyar
#2 Spa Hotel in Gianyar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara River Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara River Safari Lodge is a themed resort that offers a truly unique experience. Accommodation is composed of a series of comfortably appointed thatched dwelling orientated towards a landscaped inhabited by wildlife. With the shadow of Bali's sacred Mount Agung looming in the distance, embrace the rare tranquility of this retreat as rhinos, zebras and oryx graze contentedly at close range. Savor the raw beauty surrounding the lodge, while lions majestically roar declaring their status as the king of the beasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mara River Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara River Safari Hotel Gianyar
Mara River Safari Resort
Mara River Safari Lodge Bali/Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing