We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mara River Safari Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gianyar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights having booked direct on the website I feel we got a better package. We stayed in a Kifaru room which was in a great position we could overlook the zebras and rinos and also a glimpse of the pool area. Pool was amazing. Happy cheerful pool bar staff. The experience allowed us to come and go from the park as you please which is great as during the hot busiest part of the day we went to our air con room and in the mornings and afternoons you get a better experience as there is a lot less people. The night safari was fun, feeding the zebras. Food at the lion restaraunt was beautiful. The free dinner we got in the package was 5 star! It is quite expensive on the second night to eat there but we were happy to splurge. My husband was given a massive scrummy cake for his birthday which we loved.
Having come from the Padma the rooms are different and more rustic, but we took that as all part of the experience.
If you get to go to the Agung Theatre you must do that it was amazing. My girls sat the whole time mesmorised.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelanieAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 602 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

I travelled with a friend of mine who had never been out of the country.
We decided to ease her into Bali but starting with Mara River, then Ubud and then Kata.
While her face drained of colour as we left the airport and she was wondering what I had got her into, she was pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Mara river.

The rooms were lovely and spacious (Swala Room). Each morning you would wake up and see different animals (I loved the Rhinos) . In the rooms you were given a bowl of carrots to feed them. We were situated close to the reception so far away from the pool and spa.

Each night at Reception a different animal would come down. I love the Elephant and being able to hand feed it. Night Safari was awesome!

The restaurant is lovely, overlooking the lions and delicious meals. Breakfast was my favourite!

The park is awesome, from Animals to rides to waterpark to shows.

I would definitely return, but for Adults 3 days would be enough for kids probably a few more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed in Kifaru block for a 2 night 3 day package that included almost everything (most meals, day and night safari, photo with animal, foot massage each etc). We really enjoyed it and found heaps to fill the time but were ready to go by day 3. Good clean 4 star rooms and infinity pool overlooking zebra and rhino paddock was pretty spectacular as was listening to lions roar at night. Restaurant and spa not cheap by Bali standards but nice enough and staff friendly and helpful. Definitely would recommend the experience.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank montfordfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

we stayed at the mara river for 2 nights, we stayed in the twiga suit. we got there quite early and check in wasnt until 2pm so the friendly receptionist gave us all our vouchers and said they would look after our suitcases while we explored. we were very surprised with what we got free including our entrance into the park we each got 2 goes on the safari, breakfast, foot massage, 15% discount voucher and a free photo with the animal. We added up the cost of these and found out this makes the hotel one of the cheapest we have stayed in in indonesia (we have been travelling for a month, lots of hotels). the safari was excellent and all the animals were freely roaming around. one of the only things that i was a little disappointed with was the baby lion was not so much a baby anymore however we still got the photo and the lion was happy for this to happen. the rooms were beautiful and we could watch the animals right in front of our room. the tsavo lion resturant was amazing, having food watching lion and meerkats play. the food was also amazing and reasonably priced. the waterpark in a little small however not that expensive. one problem we did find was that when ringing reception for help or for room service they said they would come and sort out our problems but never came.we had a great 2 days and nights and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: the twiga suit was very good, i would recommend getting a second floor room for better views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boo_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have stayed here twice. October 2010 and Novemeber 2011. Both times we stayed in the Swala rooms which are on the bottom level as we travel with young children its easier staying on a bottomlevel with prams as you have to walk up ramps to get to upper level rooms. Also we chose swala rooms because they are the cheapest and we only book a room when we vivist the park as the children get tired and the park is big enough to spend a day and a half there. The rooms are very african looking with earthy colours and patterns. The bathrooms are not fully enclose the windows are pannelled and we reguarly found spiders and ants in the bathroom. Each room comes with a basket of carrots to throw out of your balcony to the zebras and animals in the surounding areas. Request to stay closer to the reception area as it is closer to the animals and then yu dont have to walk very far to the park. as The rooms go all the way up to the end of the property which is quite far away. Pool is all the way at the end so we only swam in it once.

The safari park itself was good, with animals, educational shows, dancing shows, feeding shows and pictures with animals. The waterpark was a great hit with our 3 yr old she loved it and didnt want to leave. The area with the rides was pretty average, half the rides our child was too small for and an adult could not accompany her.

The safari journey was very interesting as you are literally a few meters or right next to animals. The bus drives so close to the animals, unlike anything you see or can do in WA. Our daughter loved it so much. The tour guides speak good english and commentate the whole journey.

The tsavo lion restuarant is nice for dinner as you can watch the lions being fed just outside your window as you eat dinner. Breakfast is also good to sit and eat and watch the lions.

last year we went on the night safari. That was nice but nothing too spectacular. Best bit was feeding zebras carrots through the windows of the truck. Lions were just walking around or sleeping when we drove past.

The park also has camel and elephant rides. which we didnt get a chance to go on. Piranha feeding was good as we have never seen anything like this is perth. the pirahnas demolish a whole chicken in a matter of minutes.

Would definitely only stay here 1 or 2 nights anymore than that and you'll get bored and run out of things to do as the park is very far from kuta. Souvenir shops scattered all over the park.

We are staying here 1 night in august this year as the children absolutely love it and its a good break from the hustle and bustle of kuta

Room Tip: Request a room close to reception as you dont want to walk to rooms to the extreme of the property a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cb1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed for 1 night in this hotel. We arrived around 2PM. In front of our room, we can see zebras and rhinos which we can feed with carrot provided by the hotel, however they will be gone at night, leaving an empty yard. Not much we can see and do at night, the room we have is near lobby area, and we cannot hear or see any animals. The restaurant hv interesting view of lion,hedgehog, and meerkat, but the price is very expensive.the only thing that we enjoy is the pool overlooking to open yard with rhinos and zebras also sometime elephant come across.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank mamariggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here for one night as a Mothers Day treat with my kids. Rooms are nice but thought we would be closer to view animals from the balcony. Our problem was that it rained heavily, as often does in Bali, during the night and I was getting dripped on in bed from the ceiling. Rather than wake my sleeping kids at 3 am to negotiate a room move I ended up sleeping on cushions on the floor. The bathroom was also flooded wetting ALL the linen.
Unfortunately, having reported it to management in the morning I was contacted by them by phone with lip-service of compensation and promise of e-mail follow-up, I have never heard back from them... Not quite what you would expect of a hotel of this star rating, neither the leaking room or follow-up.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the pool and away from reception would be best. Long walk to pool otherwise and may s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baliannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gianyar
0.5 mi away
Rumah Luwih Beach Resort and Spa
3.7 mi away
The Royal Purnama Art Suites & Villas
20.4 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#24 of 251 in Kuta
5,926 reviews
1.4 mi away
Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali
6.5 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara River Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara River Safari Lodge

Address: Jl. Prof Ida Bagus Mantra Km. 19, 80551, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gianyar
#2 Spa Hotel in Gianyar
Price Range: $164 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara River Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara River Safari Lodge is a themed resort that offers a truly unique experience. Accommodation is composed of a series of comfortably appointed thatched dwelling orientated towards a landscaped inhabited by wildlife. With the shadow of Bali's sacred Mount Agung looming in the distance, embrace the rare tranquility of this retreat as rhinos, zebras and oryx graze contentedly at close range. Savor the raw beauty surrounding the lodge, while lions majestically roar declaring their status as the king of the beasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mara River Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara River Safari Hotel Gianyar
Mara River Safari Resort
Mara River Safari Lodge Bali/Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing