We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bali Provincial State Museum (Negeri Propinsi Bali)
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.86*
and up
Half-Day Denpasar City Tour
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Private Tour: Half-Day Bali at a Glance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Full-Day Denpasar City Tour with Sunset Barbecue Dinner at Jimbaran Bay
Ranked #39 of 161 things to do in Denpasar
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: To support tourism in Bali known as the paradise island, we provide a reliable transport solution for business or pleasure. Our website has been created to be user friendly and allow you to book online or speak directly to our team. We are committed to making sure your time in Bali is stress free and we appreciate your feedback to continue to improve our services.
Ubud
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This museum houses a sampling of ethnographic collections including dance masks and costumes, sculpture, textiles, paintings and archaeological artifacts. If you have any interest in history, or Balinese culture, it is definitely worth the visit, just don't expect to find yourself in a large world-class type of museum. Because it is a smaller collection, however, you can actually see, read about, and absorb each item in a 1 - 2 hour visit. The grounds and buildings themselves are also quite impressive.

You may find yourself in the company of a "guide" as soon as you purchase your ticket. After reading reviews here we were prepared for this. When approached we simply asked if he was working with the museum and when he said no, we thanked him, but said we would prefer to go on by ourselves, at which point he returned to the entrance.

There are a couple of other points of interest nearby including a coral temple next door, a large park across the street, and lots of shopping on the streets around.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LostOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    39
    44
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Warning-do not get a guide”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

The museum itself is ok, not great as a bit run down and exhibits not looked after as well as they could be. There are about 4 pavilions in the complex. It cost 10000rp to get in which is a good price. However, a guide attached himself to us and demanded way more than we tipped him at the end. We tipped him 50000rp at the end which I thought was really good and he demanded another 50000rp!!!! Also when we first walked in the guide introduced us to a friend of his who just happened to be selling paintings, once again we were harassed to buy something. If you wanted to go here, I would definately say give it a go as there are some really interesting artifacts. However, say no to a guide unless you feel like getting ripped off. It is a small place so it's easy to navigate around yourself. Also, there's a nice temple next door, once again don't get a guide. The guide at the museum was saying he couldn't understand why more tourists didn't go there, well I can tell you exactly why, stop ripping them off!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank fizzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip to Denpassar.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We decided to find out a bit more about Bali's history's and thought that the capital city's museum would be a wonder to behold. I think Bali's creative and cultural capital is without doubt Ubud after this visit.
The grounds are nice and used to be the King and Queen's palace. There is a temple next door as well. We had a guide, we could have turned him down. He was an interesting character and straight away introduced us to a painter who was offering old style reproductions. I bought a Bali Hindu calendar. The guide was educational and knowledgeable with good English. The museum itself was a little rundown and there isn't many interesting pieces. We tipped the guide at the end 50,000 and he basically told us that wasn't enough that he normally gets 100,000 to 150,000. At first we said, well that's what we are willing to give you but he kept on insisting us. We ended up giving him 100,000. He said that there is 15 tour guides and because of lack of visitors he might only get one group every 6 days. It's still no excuse to rudely insist on a price like that. I don't know if i would even recommend a trip to Denpassar, it is sadly only the capital when it comes to politics. Visit Ubud galleries and places of interest instead.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyfarflungaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Worth an hour.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The museum is divided into several pavilions with an assortment of exhibits. The grounds are tranquil with very few tourists. The information on the exhibits is scanty as in many Balinese museums. There are refreshments available to purchase. It can be difficult to get a taxi from nearby.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tomski2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Interesting but not much to see and in bad condition”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Bali Museum is housed in a Hindu temple with unique and beautiful architecture throughout. There are three or four rooms in different buildings containing artifacts from Bali, including stone and wood carvings, textiles, paintings, masks, and weapons.

Unfortunately most of the artifacts are exhibited in display cases that are not climate controlled and some of the artifacts show signs of wear and damage from improper handling and display. Many display cases were also dusty and dirty. It was really sad to see these treasures from Bali being so poorly cared for. It won't be long before everything at the Bali Museum is ruined if they don't learn to better take care of things. Modern conservation and preservation techniques are severely lacking at the Bali Museum.

If you like museums it is worth stopping at the Bali Museum for a quick look around. You won't need to stay very long. You can easily see the whole museum in 30 minutes or an hour if you want to take your time. Admission is cheap, only 10,000 rupiah or about USD $1.

One last thing, if you need to use a toilet I'd recommend going before visiting the Bali Museum. The toilets at the museum are disgusting and smelly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank samscholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Provincial State Museum (Negeri Propinsi Bali) also viewed

 

Been to Bali Provincial State Museum (Negeri Propinsi Bali)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing