We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alam Puri Art Museum & Resort
Ranked #61 of 143 Hotels in Denpasar
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Travelling with pre-schoolers, we typically stay in 4 – 5 star family resorts, so were not quite sure what to expect in a villa.

Alam Puri was nothing like we have ever experienced before. Arriving after dark, first impressions weren’t the greatest. I’d booked a two bedroom royal deluxe villa, however we were shown a one-bedroom villa with a single mattress made up on the floor. A trip back to reception rectified this and the second bedroom was unlocked. The bed was made up, however the room smelt like it hadn’t been opened in a while.

Whilst both bedrooms are upstairs, they are separate living spaces in themselves (each with own bathrooms) – ideal for older kids or two couples travelling together but definitely not suitable for younger children due to the steep concrete stairwell and door-steps between them. Our kids are 3 and 5 and managed ok (mainly because they didn’t wake at night and try to find us!), however any younger and I would’ve put them in our room.

The dining area / kitchen downstairs is completely open plan. There are NO doors downstairs – in other words the only lockable areas in the villa are the bedrooms. This was a really weird feeling at first but after the first night it felt quite natural and rather liberating!

An inspection of the kitchen (to put drinks and food in the fridge and fix a late night snack) revealed adequate bench space, 2 sinks with only cold water taps, a massive oven, lots of cupboard space BUT no cooking utensils whatsoever, not even plates or cutlery. There was an electric jug and coffee/tea/sugar etc with tea cups, saucers, teaspoons and a couple of glasses, but that was it. No microwave or fridge to be seen, but after checking with reception we found a mini-bar fridge upstairs in the rooms, which was ok to keep the essentials cold. Thank heavens! We borrowed a couple of bowls from the restaurant whenever the kids wanted to snack on cereal.

The villas themselves are huge, clean and beautiful. However they are old. With some TLC and maintenance they could be sooo much more and have the potential to be truly amazing. Huge beds are surrounded with mozzie nets, really comfortable mattresses and had crisp clean sheets. We slept like kings and awoke (early – thanks to lots of roosters!) to the most breath-taking views.

Our bathroom (we used only the bigger main one) was full of marble, had a large timber-framed mirror, nice lighting and hot, hot water (but the ancient shower rose and overly-warn greying towels and face-washers could irk you if you let them).

We ate our complimentary American breakfast (fruit, juice, toast, different styles of eggs, pancakes, cereal, tea/coffee) at the restaurant each morning and it was delicious. The views from the restaurant tables are to die for. Certainly a touch of paradise. We didn’t dine there for other meals (not necessary after a big meal every day in Ubud!), but flicking through the menu, prices seemed comparable to other hotel food and drinks in Bali.

Pools: both main pool and our private plunge pool were lovely and refreshing and well looked after… the water is deep – again, more suited to older children and adults. And yes, as another reviewer noted, the pool bar is not at all in use – it doesn’t really seem to be the place for one anyway. I can’t see how it would be busy enough. We solved that problem and just took our own drinks to the pool side!

I was aware there was a distance between the villa and Ubud but didn’t realise quite how much. Whilst we made use of the free hotel transportation every morning, we still found it very restricting with little ones not being able to step out the door and just go somewhere whenever we wanted – of course I am not blaming the hotel for this! But next time we travel as a family I think I would prefer to stay somewhere that’s closer to shopping, food etc.

I really don’t like listing pros and cons as these can vary so much from one person to another depending on what you’re looking for. However I will say the in-room free wifi was a bonus (password is required from reception) as was the dvd player that played Aussie dvds on a large flat screen – both of which we didn’t have at our previous accommodation in Bali.

Alam Puri is not a 5-star resort, but then it doesn’t pretend to be. It’s a unique, beautiful, peaceful oasis run by friendly staff and the perfect place to visit if you want to escape the rat-race for a while.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oceanbabe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 191 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

Alam Puri has an amazing property, beautifully done. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Ready to attend to your needs promptly. If you want a quiet vaccation, this is the place. Dont be afraid of lizards & chamelions cause they are a part of your life when you are in middle of a green village ambience. Though the facilities in the room are not extremly well mantained as the A/C does'nt work somtimes, or possibilities of short circuit but the staff is quite helpful to make you comfortable. Especially the chef is amazing, he can cook food according to your taste....being vegetarians, we had no problems. Be careful of your bills before signing, since Bali talks only in 000,000 & millions, mistake of additional 0 in your bill is quite common.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snaik1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

At first we were disappointed because the Hotel is situated outside of Denpasar. But at second look we were happy to sleep in this quiet and charming hotel situated conveniently between Denpasar and Ubud. We spent two nights there, the first accidentally upgraded to a more expensive villa. The smaller units are practical and big enough for two, but the more expensive villas are stunning, comfortable places with beautiful interior. Nice view over a rice field, mini private pools and good common pool.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WFR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at the Alam Puri for 8 days and absolutely loved every minute of our stay. The staff are caring and friendly, very helpful and happy to do anything for the guests. They really take the time to get to know the guests and understand what they want out of their trip and provide them with all available information and transport.
There is a shuttle that runs for free into Ubud every day twice a day and they will pick you up and drop you off anywhere that is convenient for you.
The hotel itself is gorgeous and each individual villa is unique and provides a relaxing and beautiful outlook into the neighboring rice fields and overlooking the pool.
We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tamara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

A few weeks ago we spent some days in this hotel, which was an absolutely amazing experience! Renovated rooms in a traditional balinese environment. And the best about it all was, that their Marketing & Sales manager, Zita, a hungarian woman was there all the time, helping us a lot! She organized everything for us, we saw many beatiful things, and she only gave good advice, so its worth asking her! I can very much recommend this place!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EvaKleyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

This is not in Ubud. This is not a well run villa hotel. Nothing worked - lights, powerpoints, toilets. Very disappointing - looks so much better on website. Incredibly underwhelming. Food avail at restaurant expensive in comparison to Bali. Booked for 5 nights - left after 2 nights. Ended up being an expensive mistake.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank krsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I have stayed at Alam Puri frequently over the past few months during breaks from work and it is an ideal peaceful getaway. It's perfect if you want a quiet relaxing break as it is small, traditionally Balinese and unique unlike the typical touristy resorts. I really enjoy having fresh coffee and pisang goreng served out on the verandas while admiring the unobstructed view from the balconies of the farmers working in the rice paddies. The villas are really tastefully decorated with artwork, plenty of comfy chairs and gorgeous wood carvings and stone figures. The gardens are equally tasteful and clasically Balinese. The art museum is also quaint with an interesting assortment of tribal artifacts and has a great view from the top floor of the surrounding countryside.

I look forward to returning in 2011 with my family for a longer stay and going out cycling around the village and local area.

Terima kasih banyak to Alam Puri.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel190770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denpasar
9.2 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
7.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#35 of 199 in Ubud
573 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Graha Cakra Bali Hotel
The Graha Cakra Bali Hotel
#75 of 143 in Denpasar
95 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 199 in Ubud
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Puri Art Museum & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Puri Art Museum & Resort

Address: Penatih Village Jln. Trenggana 108 | South of Ubud, Denpasar 80238, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Denpasar
#35 Spa Hotel in Denpasar
Price Range: $40 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alam Puri Art Museum & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The villas have a full art collection - Indonesian Tribal Art, painting collection, painting work shop along with the luxury and quiet, privacy and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alam Puri Art Museum & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Puri Art Museum And Resort
Alam Puri Art Museum Hotel Denpasar
Alam Puri Art Museum & Resort Bali/Denpasar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing