We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't expect anything else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar
Ranked #66 of 142 Hotels in Denpasar
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Try to subscribe your email to their official website so that you will receive any update promo. Lucky for me, I got rate for IDR 188,000/night/room as their normal rate usually start from IDR 288,000, I believe because it was fasting month in Indonesia. But if you are lucky enough you will probably get their best rate in IDR 88,000/night/room. Booked directly to hotel reservation for three nights.

Breakfast is Authentic Indonesian cuisine, please do not expect fancy omelet and cereal. Accompany with tea or coffee to select for...it's more than enough for me to start a day. They also sell porridge with additional charge (<IDR 10,000)

Location wont be any issue for any traveler who rent a car during their stay. Although it is far from any tourism spot, well at least you can find yourself having a comfy night rest away from the night bustling after a long day doing the tour.

Yes indeed it's budget and chic hotel concept, but they comply all room with "Emergency Exit Plan" information board. Supported eco-friendly environment with selection garbage bin, for me it's small thing that make the difference in our environment.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank menicr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your nice review regarding POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar Bali.
It is a great pleasant for us to know that you enjoy your stay and find the hotel give a good night sleep for you.
POP! Hotel is budget economic hotel that give a good value of money to our guest, and always try to keep good quality essential standard of cleanliness, service and sleep experience to our guest.

Green and eco-friendly is becoming one of our concept, and as the member of Green Building Council Indonesia, it is always our passion being greener and greener, with solar panel system, air ventilation, selection of garbage and also be active in any local green activities.

Once again, thank you for your valuable review. We are looking forward welcoming you soon in all our POP! Hotels network in Bali, Bandung and soon Yogyakarta.
Indeed, we will keep you update for any new information regarding POP! Hotels and its promotion.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 275 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed 2 nights, we had wifi, a/c, breakfast and a nice 'pod' bathroom w warm shower.

Location is different from the usual Kuta beach stays and everyone was like "you're staying in Denpasar?", but we found it neat with less tourists and less shopkeepers trying to push wares.
There is a supermarket about a block down the road (which thankfully you don't need to cross as its super busy).

*note: taxis are easy to get to kuta or airport for around $40,000 or anywhere (even to another city).

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank BuchanOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your nice sharing.
It is a great pleasant to hear that you enjoy your stay in POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar Bali.

Every comments of our guest are always becoming a great media for our management, and give a big encouragement to be always better in future.

We are looking forward welcoming you soon in POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar Bali and in any other POP! Hotels network in Indonesia.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Pop Harris is a cool, modern and cheerful looking place. Reception staff are friendly and there is handy internet access in the lobby, though it does get noisy being partially open to the street.

We stayed for three nights for less than $100 total, and that value boosts my rating for this hotel from "average".

There are a few flaws. There is no peep hole in the room doors. Annoying, loud music is played in the halls, which you can hear in your room, that didn't stop until after 11. There were strange creaks and groans at night from this apparently still-settling building. The A/C made some odd noises as well, shut down occasionally, then dripped water on the far end of the bed. The bathroom could have used a good, proper cleaning. Overall, the shine has gone off the newness of this place.

On the other hand, the bathroom design is clever, with hot and cold water working fine. We had a decent view over the city, the bed was very comfortable, and the window blind is very effective at shutting out the outside light. The breakfast was not bad - rice with some spice on the side. There was always a taxi waiting right outside. Some good restaurant choices are nearby, though the road is difficult to cross because of the traffic.

Pop Harris makes a good base for day trips, and the price is more than fair. But if you're on holidays, you'll probably want to move on after a few days.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. It is always great to hear your comment which always bring us to better improvement in the future.

We have adjusted our background music set up. Corridor music has been set up to be off on 20.00, so our guest can have a good rest without disturbed with music background in corridor.

Good value of money is one of our main points, which give more chance to our smart traveller guest to spend their money to the other things around, such as culinary, recreation or shopping in Bali.
The hotel had been open 1.5 years ago, which we understand it is time for us to do some major touch up and maintenance in the room. And all this activities are in process now and done in partial basis from one room to others.

Thank you for your valuable comment. We are looking forward welcoming you again in POP! Hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

If you need a hotel basically for sleep and shower and spend the day investigating the city, this is a good choice among many budget hotel with  less consideration to hygiene standards. 

Concept of the hotel is interesting and I was looking one alike. It is similar to Ibis hotels but more minimal and far less cheaper. This hotel reminded to me BLC Design hotel in Paris though that hotel was totally white and more minimalist. But both hotel was an enjoyable experience with different conceptual and design points than the standardly stared hotels. 

Local breakfast is served. One time try may be interesting because it is totally different experience how to get, how to eat. But be informed that breakfast is totally different what you imagine and quite spicy. 

Although this hotel is a good place to stay, it could be even more better experience if the followings have been considered. 

... I don't know how old the hotel is, but wear off has started and needs small touches. The shine of vibrant colors start to fade and stained. 
.... Personally I appreciate the shower / WC cabin to keep the hygiene standards high since it is fabricated to high standards. But lime deposit in the fixtures and cabin glasses  deteriorates the hygine and put the advantages of such cabin on negative side. Actually  it is a very basic cleaning process on all hotels to remove lime  with using ecolab or similar hotel chemicals or alternative ecological solutions. 

Also it is interesting that the management listens the critics and try to improve negative points. For example before there was no laundry facility reachable inside the hotel but now this service has been outsorced. 

Nevertheless this hotel is nice and very reasonably priced. Hope it is well maintained and next time a I visit again ...

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKILTOPU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comment, we appreciate to have your time to write this review and a very good input to POP! Hotel.
The hotel have been opened since September 2010, and at the time being, we start to do some touch up in some guest rooms partially, to ensure we can keep the same or even better standard as we had at the beginning.
We will keep monitor closely the cleaning and maintenance process in order to give a comfy stay to our guest. Also with the quick bite, we are working to have better and more variety menu rolling on daily basis, so the guest will not get bored easily, but bring more exciting to know and taste the variety of local traditional quick bite menu.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. We believe by getting and following up your comment will bring us to better standard of service in the future.
We are looking forward welcoming you soon in POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar Bali.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Well placed location on main (busy) and safe road, but the hotel is set back a bit from the road...so did not hear any loud noise at all from room. Good that food/shops/etc are all within walking distance.

Simple but clean and modern "new concept" rooms. LCD TV, 'pod' bathroom, generous size bed. Great value at the price. Stayed one night as a layover in town. Clean and well kept.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Dear Mr. Ryan,

Warmest greeting from POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar Bali.

Thank you for your nice review and share about our hotel.
It is always great to know that our guest is satisfied and enjoy staying in POP! Hotel.

Your comments are always become a big encouragement for all the team in POP! to be always better in the future and give a good quality standard of essential service to our guest.
POP! Hotels are built as budget economic hotel for smart and eco-friendly traveler. We provide good and comfy accommodation with good value of money.

Once again, thank you for your comments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon in POP! Hotels.

Sincerely Yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I spent 3 nights in Pop Harris Denpasar this february. The room is small and simple but clean. it has king size bed (very comfortable and large enough) and LCD TV. The bathroom is very small but unique, hot water is available. They also provide us towel, safety box, shampoo, soap, and mineral water daily. For the breakfast, they give us "Nasi Jinggo" - Balinese food (it is delicious but I can't eat the same food every morning).
Although it is located in the middle of city and quite far away from kuta/ legian / seminyak but there are many restaurants nearby. There is a sufficient parking lot (if you drive a car). If you looking for budget hotel, Pop is very recommended and I think it is the best budget hotel in bali.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MediAngelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

Dear valued guest,

It is always great to know when our guest had pleasant stay in POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Bali.
Thank you for your time to share your nice experience staying in our Hotel.

We are looking forward welcoming you again in our POP! Hotels world in Bali, Bandung, and next upcoming property in Yogyakarta.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I was booked this hotel via internet, with 50% of down payment, the location is in the city with total minimalist room, small toilet cube. Advantages : value for money but lack of the view, and the floor looks not nice with only cheap tile floor

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desniar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review.
Our guest review is always valuable and beneficial for us for any improvement in the future.
POP! Hotels are budget economic hotel that provide a good night sleep for smart and eco friendly guest with good value of money.
The strategic location of the hotel is one of main part for POP! Hotel to give an easy access for the guest to explore the interesting place surrounded, such as restaurants, shops, and shopping center.

Once again, Thank you for your review, your review is highly appreciated.
Looking forward welcoming you soon in POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Bali.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denpasar hotels
1.9 mi away
POP! Hotel Denpasar
POP! Hotel Denpasar
#58 of 142 in Denpasar
100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amaris Hotel Teuku Umar
Amaris Hotel Teuku Umar
#112 of 142 in Denpasar
31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Bali Denpasar
Ibis Styles Bali Denpasar
#51 of 142 in Denpasar
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Pondok Puri Ayu
Grand Pondok Puri Ayu
#103 of 142 in Denpasar
8 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inna Bali Heritage Hotel
Inna Bali Heritage Hotel
#61 of 142 in Denpasar
63 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Sanur Indah
Hotel Sanur Indah
#80 of 142 in Denpasar
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar

Address: Jln. Teuku Umar No 74, Denpasar 80113, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Denpasar
Price Range: $14 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of the city of Denpasar, POP! Harris Hotel Denpasar Teuku Umar offers eco-friendly and convenient accommodation both for business and leisure. All POP! Rooms include comfy bed, innovative shower pod, free Wifi Internet access, LCD TV + Cable TV and complimentary bottled water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing