We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, but plan ahead of time.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ananda in the Himalayas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ananda in the Himalayas
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narendranagar
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Amazing, but plan ahead of time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here with my family and was totally blown away. Our biggest regret was that we only stayed here for three nights as part of a wider tour of the himalayas. In reality to get the best from all the amazing treatments and activities I would recommend staying at least a week and not combining it with a part of a wider tour.

We stayed in a 2-bedroom villa which was large and well appointed, it was nice to have a living room and private pool when travelling as part of a family. Our butler was fabulous and looked after us throughout our stay.

The spa was amazing, authentic treatments executed really well. None of the treatments that we had (20+ in total) were average. I would thoroughly recommend you call in advance and research the treatments you would most benefit from.

Activities, there are plenty of non-spa based activities (yoga, trekking, golf, cooking classes just to name a few). again research in advance to make the oat of these.

Food, now this was the real problem. The food tasted so good it was hard to not over eat, this is a real test of the mind when you are here to detox. I can safely say we all failed miserably because we were all looked after so well in the restaurant that we could not refuse the amazing morsells that kept coming out of the kitchen. Great chefs and great service.

My only gripe about Ananda is that if we had known more about the all the great activities in advance we could have planned our tight itinerary better. Maybe they should reach out to all guest before they arrive to help plan their stay.

Overall amazing!!!!! We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RST1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for your kind patronage and for taking the time to post your review.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ananda and that our facilities and services met with your expectations.

In order to truly experience Ananda we highly recommend the "Wellness Packages" where we customize your experience based on your objective. We follow proven disciplines of Yoga, Ayurveda and Vedanta to bring a balance of the mind, body and soul.

We also have "Active" packages that include trekking, workouts and similar activities.

Do let us know when you plan to return at gmo@anandaspa.com so that we can assist with planning your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Thank you,
Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    94
    29
    11
    13
See reviews for
84
250
82
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

What a fantastic boutique property nestled in the foothills of the Himalayas. As soon as you arrive everything slows down and you can't help but just breather lighter and easier. The service is impeccable.
If you're looking for a place to detox and unwind then there is no better place than Ananda. I wouldn't recommend coming as part of a big group. Best if you do it solo so you can escape into your own world and finally find that much needed "me" time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dblR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing your experience.

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services met with your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ananda soon.

Thank you,
Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
92 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Came here as part of a North india anniversary trip in March 2013, following days in Amritsar, Rishikesh and shimla. Firstly, ananda must have amazing marketing guys as this is always featured as one of the most top spa resorts in Asia if not the world. Call me a skeptic, but I honestly don't see what the fuss is about! My wife and I are not crazily into yoga and meditation and perhaps that's why I feel this way.

There are pro's though like the restaurant food, who catered to our vegetarian needs extensively, and lovely breakfast in the morning.

I would put this in the category of overly priced and did not see much to envisage a return one day soon. I am sure there are other people who loved the place, but I always believe honesty is the best policy and this may help if you are in the same boat seeing rave reviews of place in: Conde nest, Sunday times travel, daily telegraph travel and spa reviews around the globe.

I would still say try it for yourself if intrigued. Everything in life is subjective, as we say...just not my cup of chai!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmananda2013, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for staying with us at Ananda and for taking the time to review your experience.

We are very happy to see that our Food & Beverage Team was able to meet with your expectations and that you enjoyed the variety available at breakfast.

The Ananda Philosophy is one of wellness and healing of the mind, body and soul using the practices of Yoga, Ayurveda and Vedanta. Being a Destination Spa our wellness programmes are very popular. Most guests who visit us feel that they would be most comfortable with packages that are "all inclusive", therefore we list rates that include accommodation, meals and treatments prescribed in the package chosen.

Our unique experiences for wellness and healing have been written about and have also been rewarded with Readers Choice Awards where our guests vote for us.

We have recently also introduced an Active Package that involves outdoor activities such as trekking, bicycling, temple tours and rafting for guests who prefer to explore our surroundings.

Our hope is that we would be able to create a bespoke experience that would bring you back to Ananda and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,
Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I tell you this hotel is nothing more then a profit making machine, I tried to book room here for two nights from 10th of October 2013 ,they quote me US$ 580 app,but as soon as they come to know that I am an not from India they asked me for US$ 1200 app + taxes ,when I asked them why they have different policy for non Indian they don`t have answer for the question,then I have to cancel my booking with them and moved to some other hotel.
Peter Ham

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank Jitin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmananda2013, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Namaskar!

Thank you for taking the time to publish your feedback regarding your reservation on Tripadvisor.

At the outset, may we assure you that Ananda in the Himalayas welcomes with equal enthusiasm guests from all over the world.

As most international hotels do, we too from time to time run marketing promotions that are meant for a specific audience. This is the festival season in India when a lot of guests from our country plan holidays and is a perfect time for us to showcase Ananda to them. With this in mind, we have special rates for the India market.

May we once again assure you that out Best Available Rates are transparently available on our website and through our Global Reservations Center. We would be very pleased to personally assist you with these should you wish. Do write to us at gmo@anandaspa.com for any assistance.

We sincerely hope that we have been able to suitably address your concern and look forward to welcoming you to Ananda in the Himalayas soon.

Thank you,
Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a top notch place for emergency turnaround if you feel stuck, need to get in shape, find some new ideas or inspiration etc. There is no decision fatigue as all is taken care of: upon arrival you are given two sets of the cosiest white pijamas, time-table of massages, treatments, yoga sessions etc (you get them after consultation with your therapist) and they also arrange menu based on your ayurvedic type (the food is absolutely awesome: it's so delicious and satisfying that you wouldn't remember what a kitkat is.)
It's a perfect place for solo travellers as you get to meet some pretty interesting people.Proximity to holy (and crazy in a good way) city of Rishikesh makes it absolutely unique.
Would travel again in a heart beat...

Room Tip: Room with a view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MsPapercut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmananda2013, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you very much for your kind patronage and for taking the time to review your experience.

We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

It was mid-June and as we drop up from the airport, I was sure that there was nothing that could have prepared me for what we arrived at. Atop a mountain, there was a beautiful palace. The front looked weathered and slightly unkept, but the grounds were amazing. I have been to a lot of spas, but this was beyond reality. For some reason, I arrived during what they called the slowest week of the year. I woke up and attended Yoga in the morning, had the best breakfast I could get and relaxed poolside most of the day, when I wasn't sitting in on lectures about enlightenment. I think that the magic happened because the mountain was surrounded by fog and I felt like I was removed from the world for a few days. I'll definitely go back again. Massage treatments were amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisofLegalShield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

You can be be busy the whole day, doing nothing else but relaxing! It's a perfect place to getaway from everything and do some yoga, goto the gym, read a good book, lounge by the pool, eat some amazing food and best of all, enjoy the lovely spa treatments.

The rooms are definitely not luxurious, but the purpose of the place would be defeated if it was! It's more of a holistic destination, with the right amount of luxuries added in form of the spa, the service and the food! All in all, a must visit, as vouched for by many other reviewers!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arunimap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narendranagar
2.9 mi away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
11.8 mi away
Atali
Atali
#1 of 2 in Singthali Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dewa Retreat - A Himalayan Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel
3.9 mi away
EllBee Ganga View
EllBee Ganga View
#5 of 51 in Rishikesh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Akash Continental
Hotel Akash Continental
#25 of 51 in Rishikesh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda in the Himalayas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda in the Himalayas

Property: Ananda in the Himalayas
Address: The Palace Estate, | Tehri - Garhwal,, Narendranagar 249175, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Narendranagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narendranagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ananda in the Himalayas 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ananda in the Himalayas is an award winning luxury destination spa located in the foothills of the Himalayas, the birthplace of India's ancient arts of yoga, meditation and Ayurveda. Dedicated to restoring balance and harmonizing energy through a holistic approach, Ananda incorporates the healing principles of the East and the West with a specific focus on Ayurveda and Yoga, along with contemporary International spa experiences. Set amongst 100 acres of virgin forest and opened in September 2000, Ananda in the Himalayas is built around a Maharaja's palace estate and located 260 kilometres north of New Delhi. The resort features a restored Viceroy's Palace, world-class Spa, 70 deluxe rooms, 5 suites and 3 villas. Two of these villas are 2 bedroom villas and one is a single bedroom villa, with breathtaking views of the Ganges River and the mountainside. With the highest standards of service, luxurious accommodations, innovative dining and breathtaking mountain views, Ananda is an internationally recognised oasis offering an enriching experience designed to restore, renew and revitalise. Ananda signature wellness programs include Detox, Ayurvedic Rejuvenation, Weight Management, Stress Management, Yogic Detox, Ananda Yoga, Ananda Renew and Ananda Active. Getaway Spa packages starting at 2 or 3 nights are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ananda in the Himalayas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananda In The Himalayas Hotel Rishikesh
Ananda In The Himalayas Rishikesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing