We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ananda in the Himalayas
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narendranagar
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I visited Ananda with my sister in June 2013. Imagine a place where peacocks wake you up every morning; you see the Ganga river from your room; yoga in the morning takes place in the beautiful hawa mahal; food is gorgeous, delicious, locally sourced and healthy; you can spend the whole day in the spa if you want to; you can engage in discussions around Vedanta; live life at your own pace. That tranquil, beautiful, calming, caring place is Ananda in the Himalayas! I loved every minute of being at Ananda. Their staff if the best I have experienced in any hotel/resort I have stayed at. Chefs Narendra and Chandrachur, Asstt. GM Nitin, Spa Manager Ritu, the front desk staff, Champa and Darshana, and every staff member was patient and incredible in their customer service. This is one of my favorite vacation destinations. I am surely going back!

Room Tip: Best rooms are valley view (premium view) on the 5th and 6th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for staying with us at Ananda and for taking the time to write a review.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Ananda philosophy is one of healing of the mind, body and soul through proven practices of Ayurveda, Vedanta and Yoga. Our surroundings compliment this process.

Your kind words have been communicated to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ananda soon.

Thank you,
Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    95
    29
    11
    13
See reviews for
86
256
84
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We got a chance to travel to Ananda In The Himalayas on 3rd July by road and to our surprise, the road conditions to Ananda were absolutely fine and the drive was smooth.

It took us approx six and half hours to reach Ananda In The Himalayas and the best part was the property was looking completely fresh and was lush green because of the monsoons; I think its best time to go and enjoy nature and relax in lap of beautiful lush green nature with lots of birds chirping throughout the day.

On way back we came from Dehradun and again the road conditions were fine, on the way back to Dehradun we saw Jolly Grant Airport which is also one a very convenient method to travel to Ananda if a person wants to take a flight from Delhi.

Lastly my overall experience was good and I am still missing the lush green valleys and surroundings of Ananda In The Himalayas…….

Room Tip: Ig Golf Lover then go for Palace View Rooms !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManishBhatnagar1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for staying with us at Ananda and for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Ananda's wellness philosophy for healing through proven disciplines of vedanta, yoga and ayurveda are well supported by the ambienece of our location. It is our belief that nature should be nourished and respected. We are happy to note that the green and clean surroundings enhanced the quality of your experience.

You would also be pleased to know that in order to preserve our pristine surrounding we are deeply involved with "Clean the Himalayas" and various tree planting efforts.

As rightly mentioned by you, Dehradun Airport at Jolly Grant, which is a picturesque 45 minute drive from us, is a very convenient way to reach here. We are also well connected by trains from Delhi including Shatabdis.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ananda soon.

Thank you,
Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Wonderful place nested in the himalayas. If one is looking to totally relax, unwind and rejuvinate, this is the place to go. From Yoga classes to the spiritual lectures to everything about it is excellent. They give you these lovely white Kurta n Pyjamas which you are supposed to wear all day. The food could do with a little improvement though. Spa V Good, but pl pre book your treatements, as you could b disappointed with no slots available. Rishikesh is about 45 mins away by car, where oue can go for ganga aarti. Also, the white water rafting is quite an experience there. The rooms are quite nice and the view of Rishikesh from the bathroom made a very pretty site at night. Would definately plan a trip there again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms are all quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for staying with us at Ananda and for taking the time to review our services.

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed being here and that you actively participated in the Yoga and Vedanta which are an integral pert of the Ananda philosophy of wellness of the mind, body and soul.

Our chef has also been passed on the feedback about the food. We would be grateful to hear from on you as to what you would like us to improve upon. May we also mention that our chefs would be more than happy to create a customised meal experience for you when you are here next.

Thank you once again for your kind patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Voted as the best spa in the world this place gives the best most relaxing therapies in a super luxury environment. This heritage palace converted hotel is beautifully made with mountains and greenery all around. Super view rooms with very helpful staff. Day visits can be done to rishikesh, mussorrie, dehradun, haridwar for some recreation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShantanuRaizada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for staying with us at Ananda and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities and services met with your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ananda soon.

Thank you,
Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Till we spent a couple of days at Ananda we never imagined that one can remain busy, relaxing. Yes, it happens at Ananda - In the Himalayas. Once you land up at the luxurious viceregal palace of the Maharaja of Narendranagar, the ever smiling Ananda staff guides you to be a part of a very smartly packaged all-day activity - each of which, contributes to your planned objective of "Relax". And of course to top-it up you would have your spa sessions.

Our experience began with warm greetings by Mansi, who welcomed us with a small Hindu ritual (and Rudraksh mala). She followed this up with introducing us with the facilities and activities at Ananda for the next two days. Then, a young boy named Devmalya on the battery operated (golf) cart took from the Palace to the guest building. Enroute, he became our guide showing all corners of the resort. The short journey was walkable, but the cart-ride under the afternoon sun was a necessity. From our room we admired the lovely view of Ganges passing through Rishikesh valley. In a short while, we changed to the ethnic white kurta pajama (simple but elegant) and went out to the Spa building for our 1st set of activities. Thereafter, we lost track of time and enjoyed the Ananda hospitality till we checked out.
The activities which we were part of were Yoga, Morning stretches, Core stability exercise (for my backpain), Meditation, Vedanta sessions, Hydrotherapy and Grandeur spa experience. None of these were out of compulsion, they happen - if you like, you join. Spa sessions are the ones, which you have to book in advance. Being a part of the experience on a weekend, we were also lucky to witness a traditional Indian dance performance by some little kids from a nearby orphanage. They also organized a 6km trek to Kunjapuri temple (happens every Sunday), which we skipped and later made it by car. With so much activity in two days, we never felt we were stressed - but felt otherwise 'Relaxing'.

When we travel, me and my wife freak out on food, Honestly, we were a bit skeptical about the wellness food on offer. But to our delight, chef made the Salmons and Prawns perfect. Only concern, there were not too many exotic options too choose from. (Maybe exotic food and wellness doesn't go hand-in-hand.)

At the point of check-out Mansi met us again and another ritual followed. We were not in a mood to leave nor were the Ananda staff in a hurry to see-us-off. We took a small glimpse at the corner palace room of Ma Anandamayee. Maharaja was a follower of the divine lady and may be the resort is named thus in her honour. Inquizzitive me, wanted to confirm my intuition - but I thot better, keep this for the next time.

Room Tip: Tip 1 - Always pre-book your spa. Certainly you are visiting Ananda for the Spa experience. And it s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidsinroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for staying with us at Ananda and for taking the time to review our services.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you well.

As mentioned by you, we shall keep the secret regarding the name of the hotel until your next visit!

Look forward to welcoming you back to Ananda soon.

Thank you,
Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place - initially I was slightly disappointed with the room which was a Valley view room on the upper levels, supposed to be the best unless you are taking the villas. The room seemed rather basic, but the view down to the Ganges from the bathroom and terrace was just astounding. And then I realized that a lavish room is not what Ananda is about - it is about serenity, amazing amazing staff with service unparalleled (and I have traveled a lot in India, Asia, and Europe) the spa staff and treatments were blissful, the food was fresh and with great variety (some hit and miss but always lots of options to choose from to make up a not so great dish) and the gardens we just gorgeous.

The days became a rhythm of morning yoga under the blue blue sky in the open air amphitheater where you could here the birds flap their wings as they flew by (no kidding), a long leisurely breakfast on the beautiful wooden terrace with tall trees all around, followed by spa treatments, chilling by the lovely pool, walking around the lovely gardens, doing more yoga at the yoga pavilion which is closer to the palace and surrounded by water and then more of the same until dinner, or attending one of the evening talks on various topics such as relationships, stress, etc. The staff knew our names, they even baked us a cake for our anniversary and prepared a lovely table outside for us to celebrate covered with rose petals.

The trek up to the temple was a great break from the routine and if we had stayed long than 5 days we would have done the other options available like water rafting. But we were happy to just relax in the beautiful space that is Ananda - just magic space to relax.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nadya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for staying with us at Ananda for for taking thetime to provide us with feedback on your stay.

It makes us very happy that we were able to extend services that met with your expectation of us and that you enjoyed your visit here.

The Ananda philosophy is to bring a positive balance of the mind, body and soul through proven disciplines of Yoga, Vedanta and Ayurveda. The tranquil and peaceful surroundings and nature are an ideal environment to achieve this balance.

We thank you once again for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to Ananda soon.

Thank you,
Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a wonderful weekend at Ananda. I can believe why it has been called one of the best destination spas in the world! The grounds and gardens were gorgeous and the spa area and spa treatments were absolutely amazing. The restaurant was fantastic as well, and my husband and I really enjoyed participating in all the activities offered by the hotel. We didn't wake up in time for the morning yoga, but really enjoyed the Vedanta lectures, which was not at all religious, but provided useful techniques and ways to approach daily life challenges. We really liked wearing the white kurtas that were provided to us, and it did lend to a peaceful and relaxing environment, as did the fact that no young children are allowed.

We would highly recommend this property and I would probably rank it as the best destination spa I have been to. However, I am giving it four stars because, as a hotel, I would say it was just a shade below other amazing luxury properties we have visited in India. The room was lovely, with a gorgeous view but we had trouble with our toilet (very sluggish flush) throughout our visit, which housekeeping was not able to resolve. We had to call a few times to have someone send our kurtas. Moreover, some of the restaurant staff, though nice, were forgetful and got our orders wrong on a few occasions. Finally, though this is difficult to quantify and explain, I also didn't feel like we had the personalized attention as we've received at some of the other amazing luxury hotels we've visited in India, and I think we've been a bit spoiled by the level of personalized attention and service we've gotten.

Having said that, I would still highly recommend a visit to Ananda as a destination spa. We went for two nights, but it is honestly the kind of place where you could spend a week and never get bored.

Room Tip: We would highly recommend a premium valley room, on the top floor. The view was phenomenal. I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kavi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for staying with us at Ananda and for taking the time to write a review of your experience.

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed our Spa and its facilities. At Ananda we promote wellness through a harmonizing of the mind, body and soul leading to a perfect balance. This is achieved through the disciplines of Yoga, Ayurveda and Vedanta. The Ananda Spa has had the privilege of being voted as the Worlds Number 1 Spa by many renowned organizations including the Conde Nast Traveler.

We have also made note of your feedback on some of the other services and have shared it with the concerned departments who will definitely work on improving these services. It is always our endevour to extend to our guests warm, personalized and efficient service and we are sure that you will see improvements on your future visits to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ananda soon.

Thank you,
Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narendranagar
3.0 mi away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
2.9 mi away
Dewa Retreat - A Himalayan Boutique Hotel
11.8 mi away
Atali
Atali
#1 of 2 in Singthali Village
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Glasshouse on the Ganges
3.9 mi away
EllBee Ganga View
EllBee Ganga View
#5 of 51 in Rishikesh
388 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda in the Himalayas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda in the Himalayas

Property: Ananda in the Himalayas
Address: The Palace Estate, | Tehri - Garhwal,, Narendranagar 249175, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Tehri Garhwal District > Narendranagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narendranagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ananda in the Himalayas 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ananda in the Himalayas is an award winning luxury destination spa located in the foothills of the Himalayas, the birthplace of India's ancient arts of yoga, meditation and Ayurveda. Dedicated to restoring balance and harmonizing energy through a holistic approach, Ananda incorporates the healing principles of the East and the West with a specific focus on Ayurveda and Yoga, along with contemporary International spa experiences. Set amongst 100 acres of virgin forest and opened in September 2000, Ananda in the Himalayas is built around a Maharaja's palace estate and located 260 kilometres north of New Delhi. The resort features a restored Viceroy's Palace, world-class Spa, 70 deluxe rooms, 5 suites and 3 villas. Two of these villas are 2 bedroom villas and one is a single bedroom villa, with breathtaking views of the Ganges River and the mountainside. With the highest standards of service, luxurious accommodations, innovative dining and breathtaking mountain views, Ananda is an internationally recognised oasis offering an enriching experience designed to restore, renew and revitalise. Ananda signature wellness programs include Detox, Ayurvedic Rejuvenation, Weight Management, Stress Management, Yogic Detox, Ananda Yoga, Ananda Renew and Ananda Active. Getaway Spa packages starting at 2 or 3 nights are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Ananda in the Himalayas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananda In The Himalayas Hotel Rishikesh
Ananda In The Himalayas Rishikesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing