We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor Hotel”
Review of Hotel Surya Kiran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Surya Kiran
Ranked #59 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Poor Hotel”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The rooms are so small, ugly and dark. Cocroches and other insects are wondering here and there. Service is too poor. In short if you want to stay in potato godown book this hotel and stay there ..........

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank ntk1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    14
    5
    10
See reviews for
25
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Very good hotel with prefect location (walking distance to Mall road Market and Roap Way)........ awesome food (must try lemon chiken).... They also have open air resturant to enjoy the food at its best

Mr Bhargav (hotel owner) and his father were trullllllllly helpful.....I felt like home there....they extended my trip on very fair price in peak season when everybody is looking only for the money...



Shall always prefer this hotel....and recommend it

Room Tip: Location is that good that you can choose any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank PrakharGarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The light of Room gone but they open a new better room having better interior within minutes without extra charges.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HSBHATIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel welcomed me an d my family with a really bad odor coming from the bathroom.

The night was made comfortable with rotten piece of fish (eaten by some gentleman) in my bed. The hotel staff have not even seen this before allotting me the room.

The breakfast was even horrible with totally uncleaned utensils in which they have served our meal.

The whole day we were in dark as one of the phases of their electricity connection was not working and the didn't have a power back up(shameful in these days)

The manager was a rude guy and not helpful at all. I even felt that he is doing a favor by running the hotel. the other staff were better as compared to him

in simple words....if you want to enjoy a pleasant stay in Mussoorie...STAY AWAY FROM HOTEL SURYA KIRAN

Room Tip: Please don't book a room there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mussoorie hotels

Faridabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

It is the worst experience in my life while staying in hotel, The staff kick you out from room even at 8pm if they get any customer paying them Rs.100 more then you.
Staff too rude. never get what they say.
Hotel is STINKY, FOUL SMELLY. Outside view is good but if you wanna to down your joyous mood on holidays, u can stay in this hotel only

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ankur86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The staff is good and ready to help.The food here both South Indian and North Indian is value for money.The food is both cheaper and better than other hotels in Mussorrie.You need not worry about your belongings, in case you forget ,they will make sure that you get your belongings on time. My lil baby threw the keys in their restaurant but they were courteous enough to courier our keys the very next day.Also since hotel is located on Mall Road , u get to see all the places nearby only

Room Tip: take the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seemu d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Surya Kiran, locationwise this is the best one including many others. Servicewise, this is an average hotel. The hotel has all types of rooms that suit every pocket. One thing for sure is that if you book this through makemytrip.com, it will be costlier by 200/- than yatra.com.

Nearby locations are Gunhill, at a walking distance, Camel Backend Road (I advise you to take a tour of this road in the evening on foot), Company bagh (4 Km from this hotel: Rikshaws are easily available), and of cource Mall road where the hotel is located.

Hotel has a South Indian resturant, Udupi, that serves quality South Indian items including Dosa. Rates are a bit higher but that doesnt pinch due to quality and musical environment.

Hotel Staffs are good and well manered. The owner is also a nice person. One more information. If yoy are visiting this place in off season, do not get accomodation booked in advance. During off season, almost all hotels provide around 50% discount at printed tariff.

I will recommend this hotel to all intrested in visting Mussoorie.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amitabh_kishore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.7 mi away
Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel
#61 of 74 in Mussoorie
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hamers International
Hotel Hamers International
#41 of 74 in Mussoorie
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shiva Continental
Hotel Shiva Continental
#24 of 74 in Mussoorie
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Pearl -  A Royal Residency
The Pearl - A Royal Residency
#57 of 74 in Mussoorie
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Arch Hotel
Silver Arch Hotel
#33 of 74 in Mussoorie
71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ratan
Hotel Ratan
#60 of 74 in Mussoorie
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surya Kiran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya Kiran

Property: Hotel Surya Kiran
Address: The Mall Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Surya Kiran 2*
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing