We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm and great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Padmini Nivas is a palace converted to a hotel and it definitely retains some of the old world charm in the decor and furnishings. The place is also conveniently located and has good access to mall road and the taxi stand. Some of the rooms offer an excellent view of the valley and we were lucky to witness the winter line from the large windows of our room.
The staff is very courteous and will go the extra distance to make your stay comfortable. The restaurant is quite good and it is an experience to have breakfast in their garden overlooking the valley.

Room Tip: Please keep cash handy especially if you are checking out on Sunday evening or Monday mornings. When...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shailendra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Padmini Nivas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 571 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have had the privilege of staying at this property several times & my admiration of this place increases with each visit. This is a heritage property located much before the busy mall road area at the Library end & is therefore quite and serene. The beautiful views from the rooms overlook the valley & are great especially in the mornings & evenings. The lady of the house will proudly tell you that the sunrise & sunset views from the property are amongst the best in the world. I COULDNT DISAGREE with her even if I wanted to & im glad at that :)

Much like most other heritage properties, this place has an aura & charm of its own. It only helps that its that nicely maintained & kept as well. The rooms are basic but for the non-fussy traveller, its what the doctor ordered. Its a fairly large 5 Acre property considering its an erstwhile palance. One thing most patrons who have stayed at this place will tell you is that the food is brilliant. IT IS! The hotel serves only vegitarian fare but that has never stopped anyone from raving about how good the food is. A small drawback is the absence of an in-house bar but then again, that doesnt take anything away from all the good.

Padmini Nivas offers extremely competitively priced accomodation with service which is 4 star class. Nothing in Mussoorie will really match up to the value for money offering these guys give, not to mention that the staff is extremely cordial & always willing to help.

Tip - The hotel is accessed through a steep decent / climb & therefore people without a car & travelling with older folk should seek pick up facility from the hotel. They will be ever eager to help.
Do have a look at their flower nursery, its absolutely brilliant
For the cautious traveller - You can never go wrong with this place. The stay is cheap, the place is fabulous, food & service will send you back with a smile.

Happy Travelling Folks!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the valley offer great open views
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaurav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have a very nice experience in this hotel. Room, toilet every thing is very clean and well maintained. Staffs are very cordial and are always ready to help. The atmosphere of the hotel is splendid. A well-maintained garden is the attraction to the children. I will remember the every moment I spent here.

Room Tip: Very good experience.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaju_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The choices for hotels are many in Mussoorie. We stayed at Padmini Nivas after having done extensive research on a host of hotels and the only one that consistently rose to the top was Padmini Nivas. We stayed there for a week in November and loved it. The location is excellent and close to everything but just off the path enough so as to be a quiet getaway from the noise and bustle of the town. The food is the best in Mussoorie, bar none! Even if you don't stay here, do yourself a favor and dine at the hotel. The rooms are quite large, clean and comfortable, though admittedly more basic than some western travelers may be used to. The service is friendly and attentive. The hotel manager, Vikram, made our stay memorable and we really felt at home. The hotel is also quite affordable when compared to other hotels in the area. We highly recommend Padmini Nivas and we would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: If you're traveling with your family and reserve one of the apartments, keep in mind that some o...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was my best experience after the Waynad homestay. I stayed here from 21-24 Oct 2012 in their Super Deluxe Suite with my parents and sis. The stay was absolutely fabulous, enjoy King size rooms and order and get served like a King. Have stayed in 4 & 5 rated properties but the kind of service and food was something to relish upon. Its a 5 acre property just 100 metres below the Mall road at the Library end. The property is located on the ridge and has steep slope both from the Mall road and parking. So incase you have elderly person with you ask the hotel for a complimentary drop/pickup to/from Mall road. The service is very prompt and the best part is they are eager to serve you.
The rooms are stunning, everything is done tastefully maybe since its a palace, Hall size is huge though the bedroom is cramped. Bathroom is very spacious, clean and has bath tub.The water heater takes time to heat so plan your morning accordingly. The room heater was provided as complementary.
The Palace has good surrounding views from the reception and the small garden.The Suite has a sit-out on the rear door with views of the Doon valley and Mall road whereas the bedroom has views of Mall road. The suite is situated in the main complex next to the restaurant and doesnt offer views as such except from bedroom window and the sit-out.
Room service is great and matches 4 star hotel. Ever smiling waiters and their eagerness to serve your order is appreciated. Gyanji we thank you for the great service and the awsome food you served and offcourse thanks to the Chef who actually prepared it.
The Gujarati thali is amazing, great quality, ample servings and lovely sweets especially Lauki halwa and gulab jamun, we still are relishing on the memories of food. The lunch and dinner order is customized as per your requirements (we asked them to go slow on sugar in food as is case in Gujarati food) maybe because we were 4 and inquired about food quite early.The food was so amazing that we never worried to dine out for other options. We had all our food in the hotel during our entire stay of 3 days in Padmini. Its an all veg option if a couple of egg items from separate kitchen. The owner eats in the restaurant and seems to have trained the chef very well, thats probably the reason why they maintain the taste and quality.
Manish and Vikram are helping though they dont offer discounts and deny it with a smile. Vikram especially is a stalwart and knows how to do his business in the customer sensitive hospitality industry. But Vikram do remember your promise to serve Marathi food as there are lot many Maharashtrians too staying in Padmini and I would be visiting Padmini again.
Please keep up the great job and hope Padmini will always be adored by visitors.

Room Tip: The Suite rooms are huge, however the semi-deluxe and deluxe rooms are cramped. All rooms except the...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaaLips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have stayed at the Padmini Nivas four times now over a period of 14 years and it has been a great experience each time. This is not the Hilton or Taj, but for a friendly welcome and quality personal service, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tayjers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hotel Padmini Niwas is excellent place to stay in mussoorie with homely atmosphere and good service. The rooms are very spacious and clean.Hotel staff is very good with personal attention to each guest. Food is also very good & they have mastery in Gujrati Food.If u r in mussoorie Padmini Niwas is the best place to stay & enjoy the holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kartik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.3 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
645 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
161 reviews
2.0 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vishnu Palace
Hotel Vishnu Palace
#11 of 74 in Mussoorie
456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
0.4 mi away
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Padmini Nivas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Padmini Nivas

Address: Library, The Mall,, Mussoorie 248179, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range: $45 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Padmini Nivas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Padmini Nivas is a heritage property on the Mall road. Located on a ridge it offers a spectacular view of the Doon valley and surrounding hills. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing