We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very BAD”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mussoorie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ashoka Continental
Ranked #71 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very BAD”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very bad services and staff no corporate with customer, citing with costumer, He speak anything and he give something bad. no remote working, no tv working, no clean room, they are cheater, no common sense talk with woman,

MY REQUEST DON'T STAY THERE.

Room Tip: Rooms are congested No Balkany view, suffocation in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeetakshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    2
    2
    8
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

It was the most disgusting hotel as far as my experience is concerned. Service, cleanliness, rooms, everything was a nightmare. Hotel staff is not friendly. Hotel owner is giving false details & wrong promises. I suggest no one should try this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Anil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mussoorie hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

This was the most pathetic hotel i ever stayed in. The website pics are fake. I stayed in the hotel for 2 days and the room was too dirty, bathroom wet and stinking, the room service was pathetic. I would never reccommend this hotel and would never go there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank xyz703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located just on the Mall Road. Neatly maintained and very good quality rooms. Staff behavior very nice. Service quite good. Had a nice experience.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Saptarshi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

The Hotel is having exceptional good location, rightly situation at Stones throw from the Library end of THE MALL. Good for visting tourist places, bus and taxi stand walkable. The Hotel is however budget type, rooms and bathrooms are average and manageable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandiip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Ashoka for 4 nights in February 2011.

The only reason we did not move to another hotel is because I had already booked the hotel by credit card for 4 nights. We were so tired after travelling in India for 4 months and had too much luggage to move yet again with 2 children. Very disappointing, this was our last stay in India before our long trip home.

The name Ashoka truly means " A Shoka" eg. A shocker, if you are a western traveller you will definitely will not be happy. We have stayed in many hotels but this the worst.

A few bad points are listed below:

1. When we arrived the Manager was rude and unhelpful.

2. The television was unwatchable due to poor reception.
BUT even worse, there was no plug on the end of the power cord,
they just stuck the wires into the powerpoint, nice and safe for children.

3. The website said that it had a mini bar and a safe for valuables in the room, it had neither.
When I asked the manager if I could get both he said he replied very rudely and without eye contact
while he was sitting in the foyer with his mates "not possible, take it up with reservations".

4. The bed sheets were dirty and the blankets also. The towels were the colour white about 5 years ago.

5. The toilet window was covered up with news paper.

6. There was air conditioner, but the same as the tv, there was no power plug, only exposed wiring.
Also there was no power to the air conditioner between the hours of 6-9pm, I tested the powerpoint at 10.30pm and it still was not working.
I am so glad that it was cold in New Delhi at the time, but I need the power point as only the tv power point stayed on permanently.

7. Hot water was only available between 5am - 10am, we were offered a bucket of hot water,
but then someone came up to the room they said that it was "not possible".
I don't mind taking cold shower in summer, but it was very cold in Delhi when we were there.

8. We were charged for breakfast even though on the website is said that breakfast was included in the price (We even asked which breakfast was free and were told what we could order).
We were charged for five breakfasts even though we were only there for 3 mornings.
We were charged for two American breakfast which we did not order. What was really funny was that the American breakfasts
included fruit which was not available in the restaurant at the hotel.

9. Ordered a chi tea and the container was black from mould.

10. Paint was peeling of the walls.

11. The pictures on the website are actual, but must have been taken when the hotel was built 10 years ago. One regret is i did not take any photos to show how the room looked.

12. Light and fan switches were unique, If you turned on the light a fan would come on also,
and depending on which switch you turned on, would result in a different combination of lights and fans.

13. I wish I had read the review from the link below, before I proceeded to book the hotel, because it is exactly as it says.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g297689-d735943-r67546878-Hotel_Ashoka_Continental-Mussoorie_Uttarakhand.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

14. One positive, there were two young boys who were always ready to help carry luggage.

I hope this review helps.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jjjaddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

Hotel building is look pretty old and not maintained properly. Cleaniness is very poor in hotel. No good feeling living there. The only plus point is location. Also staff is very cooperative.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarjey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Deep
Hotel Deep
#39 of 74 in Mussoorie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pearl -  A Royal Residency
The Pearl - A Royal Residency
#58 of 74 in Mussoorie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mall Palace
Hotel Mall Palace
#25 of 74 in Mussoorie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ashirwad
Hotel Ashirwad
#66 of 74 in Mussoorie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Radha Residency
Hotel Radha Residency
#26 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Club
Hotel Himalayan Club
#24 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ashoka Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ashoka Continental

Property: Hotel Ashoka Continental
Address: Library, The Mall, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ashoka Continental 2*
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing