We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - Hotel Vishnu Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Vishnu Palace
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Mussoorie
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Stayed at Vishnu Palace hotel on April 30 and May 1, 2010.

Liked:

1. Looked better than it did on the internet.
2. Rooms were quite sophisticated, you like it more if you stay here after staying at KMVN in Kumaoun.
3. Rooms were too good for the rent they charged.
4. For 2000 INR I got a great room with wall-to-wall glass balcony within the studio that faces the Doon valley. Offered a nice, scenic view of the Doon valley. The room and sights it offered were truly wonderful. This room was actually for 4 members and cost more. However, all budget rooms were occupied and hence they upgraded me for free.
5. The room had a nice 42-inch LCD TV
6. The room was pretty big and had wooden flooring and good, modern equipments. It also had a little refrigerator. It also had a Sofa-turn-bed and a writing table and a chair.
7. Bathroom had all Jaguar fittings and was very clean and well ventilated. 24-hours hot water was also available.
8. No A/C, but is not required anyways. In April, when it was extremely hot in the plains, we were feeling cold out there.
9. The hotel is located at the beginning of the mall and where most action lies. It is at the location which can be called as the starting point of Mussoorie.
10. I did not try any outside food as the restaurant in the Vishnu Palace hotel served decent food, which was the best that we had in Uttaranchal. Name of the restaurant is Shyam Vegetarian.
11. The staff was very good and met expectation and there was a laundry guy who came all mornings to collect the laundry. The staff was very prompt and attentive.
Did not like:
1. The only problem was that the room was situated on the ground floor and we had to climb down from the reception, which is on 2nd or 3rd floor (the hotel is built slightly below the main road such that the road meets the terrace of the hotel). But my overall experience is that in Uttaranchal you have to exercise a lot. Families with aged people and children can take rooms on the top floor by the reception. The restaurant is also next to the reception.

Other useful information:
1. There is no in-house bar.
2. The in-house restaurant has certain timings and you cannot order anything that you want. All ingredients may not be available with them all the time.
3. Restaurant offers vegetarian food along with some egg dishes (not sure – but were mainly for breakfast).
4. This hotel is at the entry exit point of Mussoorie.
5. Parking is on the terrace of this hotel which is by the road. It seemed there was limited parking space and the entire roof was packed with cars. It was well managed by the hotel staff, but in a full season, there might be a parking problem.
6. The garden is about 6-8 Kms away from the hotel and Kempty waterfalls about 19 Kms away.
7. Most of the Mussoorie residents seem unaware of Lord George Everest's residence. Kindly take information from hotel staff. The Mussoorie residents were totally unaware of a nagin temple, but found it on tourist map imprinted on souvenir t-shirts!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewAgeHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 468 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2010

This hotel is very close to the chauk which makes it easily accessilbe for mall road.
There's a big varandah type space in this hotel which gives a beautiful view of the mountains. I was lucky enough to get the room just in front of the varandah. The rates are not too high only Rs850 per room. Also the food was also very cheap. And the taste of the food is also ok for this price. So what else you want, a nice hotel with nice food at a very low cost. You will enjoy sitting in the varandah in the morning or evening and can have tea over there with your partner. It's very romantic.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agg_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Great views over the valley and surrounding hills.

Staff were pleasant enough.

Room was carpeted, but all sorts of stains on it, which I chose to ignore....until now.

Thought it was quite pricey at Rs950 for a double. It falls into that bucket of Indian hotels that attempt to convey luxury or some other element of differentiation, but the finer details that you might expect (such as no stains on the carpet) of an above-average hotel remain ignored or unnoticed by the staff.

It's also a large hotel, which means it can accommodate school kids. Don't stay here if you mind being woken up at 6am by kids running up and down the hall, shouting to each other.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShalimarTheClown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

It was a pleasant experience and we really had a great time and I enjoyed the hospitality very much. Everything was perfectly organized, and the food was excellent. The rooms were well furnished and services were great and I think it was worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vgclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We were looking for cheap hotel in Mussoorie and found this. Really cheap 1000-2000 Rs with all basic amenities. It was a comfortable stay there, nice view from the room. Room service was a bit slow.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Singh_Shweta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Pierre-Arnaud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Eléna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
0.7 mi away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#4 of 76 in Mussoorie
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#6 of 76 in Mussoorie
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.5 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Mussoorie
Honeymoon Inn Mussoorie
#12 of 76 in Mussoorie
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 76 in Mussoorie
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vishnu Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vishnu Palace

Address: Library Chowk, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range: $40 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vishnu Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates vary throughout the year and room accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vishnu Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing