We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good hotel as other reviews had suggested.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vishnu Palace
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so good hotel as other reviews had suggested.”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed in the hotel from 27th Jan - 01st Feb. It was a 50-50 experience, meaning satisfied with few things and dissatisfied with others. Booked a honeymoon special room.

Few Points that I did not like:

1. Rooms were not warm enough. The heaters barely provided any relief to the winter chill.

2. Housekeeping service was not good. You have to call them again and again to get your room cleaned.

3. No toiletaries provided. You don't expect a person travelling and staying in your hotel for 5 days to carry soap, shampoo, comb etc. It was only when I complained at the reception that they provided shampoo and soap. You expect these things to be refilled everyday.

Bath tub was there for which they charge extra but it was not usable as their geyser was not able to provide sufficient water and also they did not have bath tub soap, you have to get on your own.

So, it's better to go for superior rooms as the bath tub is the only difference and they charge Rs. 300 extra for that.

Housekeeping would always do opposite of what you ask. The geyser and room heater were not operational at the same time, they could not handle that load. And when you ask the housekeeping to turn off heater and turn on geyser, they would do the opposite.

4. It is a bit away from the MALL ROAD, so if you can get a hotel for about Rs. 200 more but the same quality on the Mall Road, then better to go for that.

5. Rooms are not that elegant as they look in the photos. There was no carpet and the wooden floor was so cool that you cannot put your feet. You expect carpet in a superior room.


Few good points:

1. Food service was good, food was OK and prices reasonable.

2. Since the food bill wasn't too much, they waived that off for me and did not charge anything.

3. Since Bath tub was not usable, they charged me same as superior room but gave only a 20% off-season discount. So my advice is that during off-season , go there and then negotiate the prices. If you book in advance you are at a loss and you can easily get rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daganavin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish G, Manager at Hotel Vishnu Palace, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing us for your stay. It is our endeavor to provide our best services.
We have gone through your review in detail and appreciate the details given. We are working on the problems you had faced during your stay with us.
We assure you that the shortcomings would be seriously dealt with and would try our level best to overcome them.
We look forward to your next visit to be the witness of our effort and the result.

With warm regards,

Ashish Goel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    212
    61
    11
    9
See reviews for
252
110
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotel was very good.
The staff was very polite and co-operative, always ready to help.
The location was very good at the library chowk. The taxi stand and rickshaw stand was was nearby.
The view from the room was very awesome.
The restaurant has good food.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Truly an awesome experience. Proud of my decision to book this hotel for my stay in Mussoorie. The rooms were great, clean and well maintained. The superior rooms were worth every penny and the service extraordinary. The hotel staff including the management staff were very friendly and cooperative and tremendously helpful. My family and I were so thrilled staying at this hotel that we wanted to skip our stay at Dehradoon and stay back at Vishnu Palace for another day. The view from the rooms is also worth a mention. We have decided to be back at Mussoorie sometime just to stay again at this Hotel. Thanks for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Go for the Superior Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkajeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

this is the best hotel to stay. Best food away from home which we got in that whole trip.
my mom n dad were more than happy with the rooms
we were afraid whether they'll like the hotel or not whether the rooms are gonna be nice enough to stay or not
but after we checked in the hotel we just loved it and mom n dad too.
we had the best stay in mussoorie in our whole trip
would love to be there again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruchika_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandhinagar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I have stayed 13-14 November-2011 in this hotel..This was one of the best hotel .in Mussoorie...The rooms were spacious and clean. The hotel is located within 5 minutes walking distance from the Mall Road, yet provides a completely peaceful and calm environment. Room service is very fast and all staff is very co.operative.....This was the best located budget hotel in Mussorie. We were 100% satisfied with the rooms, room service, food etc.
Excellent Service

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinnu_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This was the best located budget hotel in Mussorie. We were 100% satisfied with the rooms, room service, food etc.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajibdutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This was one of the best hotel I have stayed in past couple of years. We were a group of 5 adults and 2 children and had booked 2 rooms from makemytrip. The rooms were spacious and clean. The hotel is located within 5 minutes walking distance from the Mall Road, yet provides a completely peaceful and calm environment. The garden restaurant provides a great view.

Room Tip: Ask for the valley facing rooms. They offer a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aankur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
557 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Club
Hotel Himalayan Club
#22 of 74 in Mussoorie
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Mussoorie
Honeymoon Inn Mussoorie
#12 of 74 in Mussoorie
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
549 reviews
1.8 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vishnu Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vishnu Palace

Property: Hotel Vishnu Palace
Address: Library Chowk, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vishnu Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates vary throughout the year and room accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vishnu Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing