We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Shiva Continental
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed in Super Deluxe Room. The Hotel is near the Mall Road as well as near to Govt. approved parking. Makes it a ideal place to quickly hop to Mall road and back by walk. The rooms were good and well done. The view from the room is decent. Did not try food, hence cannot give feedback. Overall, value for Money.

Room Tip: Go for Super Deluxe rooms on the 4th Floor. They are slightly better than 5th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himanshu87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham_sanghal, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Shiva Continental, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Greetings Mr. Himanshu – Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met .Thank you for choosing Shiva Continental for your stay.
We will look forward to your continued patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    14
    9
    19
See reviews for
58
21
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The moment we entered the room it was full of bad odour. Had to ask room service to put some room freshner in it. The plug sockets were broken and have somehow been mended with tapes and wires to make them work. Towels in the bathroom was also not properly washed and was having bad odour in them too. The room service guy was not corteous at all. The moment he knocked the door, he tried to open and come inside the room without even waiting for me to open the room. Food was also pathetic. Had a long menu and list of cuisines but when we were ordering they had nothing to offer but masala peanut. Nextvday thought to have breakfast in the restaurant but it was so filthy that we decided to have breakfast outside. Try to avoid staying in this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank Shashank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham_sanghal, Manager at Hotel Shiva Continental, responded to this review, November 27, 2014
Dear Mr. Shashank

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We thank you for providing valuable feedback about our hotel.

We will surely look into the areas mentioned by you. We try our level best to make sure that the guests have a memorable experience. We have a policy of changing the towels every day in every room. Hence it is not possible that the towels would not have been washed . We also discard old towels and linen on a quarterly basis.

At our hotel all of the items written on the menu are available for room service at all times. Stating that we just had one dish to offer out of the whole menu is just inappropriate. As far as the restaurant is concerned we have a very neat and well maintained restaurant.

Despite whatever grievances you have, we apologize and we hope that you would give us another chance to serve you.We hope to see you again in the future and you can reach me directly at 9787079152 if I can be of any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mussoorie hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I have been through the same kind of reviews about this hotel which I am writing too. While goin through the reviews I thought it has happened with 2-3 people and that was the mistake I made and I realised it soon after I reached the place. A lot of things to talk about the hotel. To start with, I booked a standard room which was extremely over priced. If I give the description of the room then to start with, It was 7floor down with lift not working from past 3 days. The size of the room was like 2 feet extra from the bed. The furniture was almost a mellenium old. To my surprise, the hotel's store room was in my room which was shocking. I wish I could post some pictures of the room but that needed atleast 30 seconds and I stayed less than that in the room. After that, I reached the GM of the hotel 7 floors up(Of course the lift is not working) and he was so rude that he denied to change my room but I got the upgragation after paying more money and wasting my 2 hours. The complete hotel staff was rude, The don't even knock the door for room service. Now if we talk about from where I booked my hotel then it was "GOIBIBO.COM" My suggestions.. Don't book anything from them. When I approached them to get the amount refunded, They simply denied. I asked why we have GOIBIBO then? The executive said you have got 20% discount and this is the reason we are here.. To cut things short.. Please visit this hotel if you want to spoil your trip even before it starts.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Avyaya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham_sanghal, Manager at Hotel Shiva Continental, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met .

I would like to inform you that our lift is operational at all hours. Owing to some unavoidable circumstances the lift was not working during your visit. We would like to sincerely apologize for that. As you know that any maintenance requires time we made our best efforts to fix the problem at the earliest.

We have clearly told all the Online Travel Agents that the standard rooms are available on minus 6th and 7th floor. Our hotel has lift till 5th floor. For all the direct bookings we make sure that the customer are aware about this fact.

As far as the size of the room is concerned. Our rooms are according to the hotel standards and guidelines. All the standard rooms are 16 by 12 (square feet) in area. All these details are clearly mentioned on the website along with room pictures.

As far as the room up-gradation is concerned that completely depends on the availability of the rooms. You were charged whatever the difference on the up-gradation.

Despite all the issues mentioned by you we would request you to kindly give us another chance to serve you. We hope to see you again in the future and you can reach me directly at 9787079152 if I can be of any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Hotel Location was Very Good its near mall road. i stayed for one night and it was a great experience with the hotel and i appreciate the work of front office specially very helpful and caring during the stay . Overall a nice experience. Good rooms and food quality is very good .hotel was very nit and clean. We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights in deluxe room with family. Overall, the experience was good .staff behavior nice and helpful

Room Tip: all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14reenakajal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I visited this hotel on 23rd april 2014 for one night in standard room which is very dirty and having spiders all over and small insects moving on blankets. I made complain to reception about clieanliness he replied that they did not get time to clean the room then I request him the room but he denied.Then I decided to vacate the hotel immediately in front of other customers then the manager agrees to change the room by charging me of rs 1000/- for which he has not giving me any receipt. This is my apeal to all my tourist friend never go to this hotel even if any travel agent whether online portal or private one and don't believe on pictures. All travel portal and agents are selling this hotel room just for their small commission.

Room Tip: All rooms are not clean and very old type very dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ajay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham_sanghal, Manager at Hotel Shiva Continental, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met .

I would like to inform you that all our rooms are cleaned every day. We make sure that the customers do not face problems regarding the cleanliness. We investigated into the matter and questioned the manager on duty. We would like to inform you that he never denied to get the room cleaned. You asked for a free up-gradation to which he said that it would be chargeable. The manager upgraded your room by charging difference between the price of the two room categories.

We have been operating the hotel for 25 years and have got some great feedback about our rooms from other guests. Stating that all our rooms are not cleans is a very generic statement.

Despite all these issues mentioned by you we would request you to kindly give us another chance to serve you.
We hope to see you again in the future and you can reach me directly at 9787079152 if I can be of any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I visited this hotel from 18-20 April 2014 and I has terrible experience at this hotel. Please book this hotel only if you want to spoil your trip.

1. Room tariff is exorbitant compared to what you get. Even in Super Delux rooms, no cattle for hot water, Room heater costs Rs 250 per night extra, no ACs in the room, no mineral packed water bottle in the room provided normal water in jug.

2. WiFi connection is not at all present for room. WiFi is only present in Supur Delux room that you got after paying 5K+ taxes.

3. Hot water/ geezer was not present in the room 24x7, hot running water is available only for few hours in morning and evening for all room types, not even in super delux rooms.

4. Bathrooms does not have even basic toiletries (bath soap, brush, toothpaste, etc). All you get is one hand wash soap and one shampoo. Its terrible that these items are not present even in super delux rooms.

5. Satellite television mentioned at time was booking was missing, instead of this there was bad quality cable connection in all room types.

6. Apart from these, the hotel staff were unprofessional, unruly and bad mannered.


As a customer, I feel like cheated that even after paying close to 6K per night I am not getting even basic facilities. I haven't expected that this hotel booking will spoil my trip in such a fashion. Never ever book this hotel.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are worth staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AngadGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham_sanghal, Manager at Hotel Shiva Continental, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met .

We would like to address few of your issues. Room tariff is price according to the market place. You had booked a super deluxe room with us which has a private balcony, 32 inch LCD TV, spacious room.

Firstly, we only provide room heaters on request and we clearly mention that the charges for the room heater are extra. As we know that Mussoorie is a hill station with a pleasant temperature through out the year, the requirement for ACs is minimal. I would like to inform you that apart from few five stars none of the hotels in Mussoorie provide ACs in room.

We do provide Mineral water on request, but it is separately chargeable. The water we provide in the jug is RO purified.

Wifi connection is available in almost all the Deluxe and Super Deluxe rooms. The connectivity depends on the local service provider. From our end we have installed routers on all floors.

We have a 24x7 boiler system in place which caters to the need of hot and cold water. Thus, the question of hot running water for few hours does not arise. At all times you would get hot water in your room.

We make sure that the customer receives value for his/her money. You can have a look at our hotels bathroom, we provide the basic toiletries which a customer would require, to name a few - Bathing soap, shower gel, conditioner, shampoo and hand wash soap. Apart from this we can always provide you other toiletries on special request.

Kindly let us know what was the issue with the staff behavior so that we can look into the matter in detail.
You can mail me your issue at shubhamsanghal16@gmail.com or you could reach me at 9787079152.

We sincerely apologize for the trouble you had to face. We have made sure that our room We at Shiva Group of Hotels are always eager to improve our service standards & appreciate your suggestions. We assure you that, the mentioned concerns will be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have booked hotel through Make my Trip. They have charged the extra taxes based on their own tariff plan. Taxes should be charged on the amont which we have paid. Staff was very rude and no hot water in the rooms al most time

Room Tip: Charges should be very clear while booking hotel online .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aditya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham_sanghal, Manager at Hotel Shiva Continental, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met .

We would like to address few of your issues. We would like to clarify that we have clearly mentioned the tax policy to all the OTAs. You can check our own website where in we have made a mention of the taxes that will be applicable on your booking. The taxes are charged on the tariff at which your room is booked as per the hotel policy.

We have a 24x7 boiler system in place which caters to the need of hot and cold water. Thus, the question of hot running water for few hours does not arise. At all times you would get hot water in your room.

I hope you could give us another chance to serve you. Incase you have any issues you can mail me at shubhamsanghal16@gmail.com or you could reach me at 9787079152.

We sincerely apologize for the trouble you had to face. We at Shiva Group of Hotels are always eager to improve our service standards & appreciate your suggestions. We assure you that, the mentioned concerns will be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mussoorie
1.8 mi away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
120 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Shiva Residency,Dehradun
Hotel Shiva Residency,Dehradun
#37 of 195 in Dehradun District
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Club
Hotel Himalayan Club
#22 of 74 in Mussoorie
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vishnu Palace
Hotel Vishnu Palace
#11 of 74 in Mussoorie
438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
557 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Shilton By Royal Collection Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shiva Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shiva Continental

Property: Hotel Shiva Continental
Address: The Mall Road | Near Picture Palace, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shiva Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shiva Continental offers a selection of 37 well appointed rooms, including 11 Standard Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms, 12 Super Deluxe Rooms and 3 Maharaja Suites. We are located near the Picture Palace just 5 minutes away from the Mall Road. This is a place for leisure, recreation, family and corporate bonding. We do not have our own parking facility, however Government parking is available near the hotel at an additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Shiva Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing