We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but now bit expensive”
Review of Connaught Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Connaught Castle
Ranked #55 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but now bit expensive”
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Every year we visit this property for summer weekend vaccation. this time they increased price, no doubt they put up new floor and lcd tv but we found bit expensive as comparable to other nearby hotels. may be next time we will try other hotel. service is good. rooms are spacious. mrs sharma as usual is always there to welcome us and look that we are comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeetchadha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelraaptor, Guest Relations Manager at Connaught Castle, responded to this review, February 18, 2017
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Connaught Castle Hotels !

Thank you for your reviews, we are glad to know that you liked our hotel, its interiors, location , staff , service and food. We hope to see you again with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    19
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hyderabad
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We went to Mussoorie during our honeymoon and stayed at this hotel.
Ths was a really good place where we enjoyed. The food quality was good compared to what one finds normally at Mussoorie.Rooms were quite spacious with a view of Himalayan range with tiny vehicles passing on the road making it a beautiful scene. The proximity to mall Road and Gun Hill was good so one can go to Gun Hill through Ropeway in afternoon to enjoy scenic view and shopping. A walk to Mall Road in the evening also helps in some good bargain for woolen clothes and shawls.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudesh_roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelraaptor, Guest Relations Manager at Connaught Castle, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time out and writing about us on this forum. We at The Connaught Castle are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunmittal987
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Very good budget hotel near by Bus Stand & Mall Road. it is very popular in mussoorie. this hotel is situated amidst the beautiful lush greenery of the Himalayas. The design of this hotel reflects a Victorian elegance & surrounded by tall pine trees. This hotel is in the city centre so all the shopping malls and trip to popular sight seeing spots are very easy reach to us. This hotel provide us all the modern amenities and services for a comfortable stay. This hotel has a multi-cuisine restaurant, which serves Indian, Continental and Chinese cuisines.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank arunmittal987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelraaptor, Guest Relations Manager at Connaught Castle, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to read your review of Connaught Castle. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

One of the best located hotels in town. Situated right at centre of the Mall, but away from crowds. Has a large car parking space.

Good view of the Himalayan Snow range on clear days.

Two bedroom suites are spacious for a family of four and very comfortable. Though the furnishings need to be spruced up. Tea / Coffee making facility is not provided.

Service is courteous. The food (Indian Cuisine) good and the servings liberal.

The only bookshops in town and good restaurants are also at a stone's throw.

Wi fi connectivity not available.

  • Liked — Location, comfort
  • Disliked — No wi-fi connectivity.
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sunil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelraaptor, Guest Relations Manager at Connaught Castle, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to read your review of Connaught Castle. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We went in a group of 4 families and took a set of 4 rooms which were in a cottage behind the main building consisting of 4 rooms only. It gave us a feeling of privacy within the hotel itself.
Hotel is very near to the mall. 2-3 minutes walk.
Inside the lobby they also have room where you can play cards , etc.
Service was good and food average.
Rooms were decent size and clean.
Price is also very reasonable in comparison to their rooms and service.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sumitsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelraaptor, Guest Relations Manager at Connaught Castle, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to read your review of Connaught Castle. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Connaught Castle is one of the finer hotels in Mussourie. It is very close to Mall Road yet somehow protected from the noise and hustle and bustle of the city centre. Food is better than you would normally get in Mussourie, particularly North Indian food. Staff is curteous and the rooms clean.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank DexterDCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelraaptor, Guest Relations Manager at Connaught Castle, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to read your review of Connaught Castle. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luxmount
Hotel Luxmount
#49 of 74 in Mussoorie
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tulip Inn Green Castle
Tulip Inn Green Castle
#54 of 74 in Mussoorie
125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ilbert Manor
Ilbert Manor
#18 of 74 in Mussoorie
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mosaic Hotel Mussoorie
Mosaic Hotel Mussoorie
#21 of 74 in Mussoorie
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pearl -  A Royal Residency
The Pearl - A Royal Residency
#57 of 74 in Mussoorie
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
#16 of 74 in Mussoorie
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connaught Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connaught Castle

Property: Connaught Castle
Address: The Mall Road | Near BSNL Office, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Connaught Castle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Connaught Castle, the Victorian elegance- 7000 feet up in the Himalayas offering pure relaxation, bright sun, monsoon mist and white Christmas. Nestled among tall pine trees the hotel offers a unique blend of ease and lively action through the spectacular view of the Himalayas on one side and the Mussoorie township on the other. Being on the Mall, yet away from the hustle and bustle you may enjoy yourself listening to the wind whistling and the birds chirping sitting admist in the misty robes of the mountains. The spacious lobby with attached recreation room is just starting of the luxury and comfort that will envelope you throughout your stay in Connaught Castle. Furniture, Daily Newspaper. Complementary Breakfast includes • Egg to order • Aloo Poori or Paranthas or Chole Bhature or Cutlet • Cornflakes • Cut fruits • Beverages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Connaught Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing