We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm,delicious food,great views”
Review of Hotel Filigree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mussoorie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Filigree
Ranked #47 of 93 Mussoorie B&B and Inns
Mumbai
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Calm,delicious food,great views”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Let me describe the initial moments after making check in: At first they said there is no refrigerator in basic standard room, while I had booked the room by makemytrip.com under moneyback scheme and on makemytrip.com website they had claimed that even basic room have refrigerator. When I said that I will have to talk to makemytrip they said that standard room can't have refrigerator. Later I too realized that standard room was too small to have refrigerator, while it was already having sofa, table, chair etc. Quickly they upgraded our room to elite class without extra cost. Elite room was really spacious with amazing valley view and "had" refrigerator. So, we were happy now.

Tip to traveller: Book elite room unless u are travelling alone, even though it may be costly, because it is very spacious with view (yet,book valley facing elite room because road facing elite room don't have view) (standard room not have view).

We had booked 2 rooms for 7th june. One room i had booked 3 months before, rate was about 1200 then, other room i booked 1 month before and rate was 2800.....so book well in advance for peak season of june.

Lets talk about location. Mussoorie's attraction is Mall road (3 kms) and 2 ends of mall road is called picture palace end and library end. Filigree is located at picture palace end, so when coming from dehradun tell during taxi booking that u want to go to picture palace end (fare for 5 persons in ambessdor car is Rs.610, buses also go to both ends: fare is Rs.47 only). There is a parallel road to mall road called camel back road where hotels is located.

Now talk about room: All rooms are carpeted on floor. Elite room is clean, and valley facing rooms are really magnificent. Facility was blanket, Jaipuri Rajai, good mattress on king size bed, wardrobe, towels, refrigerator, chairs and with old world charm.....There was pin drop silence in night, its so calmly located yet only 4-5 minutes walk from market.

Now talk about food: They have a nice roof top arrangement for food. Having food there at night is recommended. Food was delicious and fresh with beautiful night view of hills.

staff are helpful.

Room Tip: valley facing elite rooms are just magnificent with old world charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heavenindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    7
    2
    6
See reviews for
22
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed three nights at hotel filigree. we rather booked at hotel broadway, but the staff did not remember our booking and so we had to look for another hotel.

hotel filigree offers rooms that are clean, large and you have a nice mountain view. The price was low: We just payed 1000 rupies per day, maybe because it was off-season.
of course we payed a bit more than in backpacker hotels, but backpacker hostels don't offer roomservice and such big rooms. filigree does.

the bathroom was clean, western toilet, the only disadvantage was the shower that was just waist-deep, but you can handle these indian-style showers with a bucket beside the shower. no problem.

my girlfriend was a bit ill so we tried the roomservice a few times: everything was satisfying. the food was tasty, no stomache problems, prices are fair. they offer breakfast, indian und asian meals.

a little disadvantage is badly soundproofed rooms, but it's not that hard. if you come to hotel filigree, ask for rooms at the valley-side, because the view is formidable.

the hotel lies at the camels back road, just a few steps away from the mall.

altogether advisable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank benny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I had a very bad experience at the hotel.It is actually not a hotel but a very limited service budget facility.I stayed for one night with my family.We took two rooms and I will never recommend this hotel

The towels in the room were so bad that I had to actually buy my own towels.There was no hot water in the room..imagine our plight.

The hotel is noisy and you will have people banging at your door in the middle of the night.I read reviews on this hotel and booked thinking it will be a good deal but was deeply disappointed.

I suggest that spend a bit more and stay elsewhere .Do not ruin your vacation by staying at Filigree.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 248179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mussoorie hotels

Ghaziabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The rooms are quite clean and are with a view. It is about 4 min walk from the Mall. The staff is very co-operative. Food is not a high point though. The way to hotel is via the entrance to mall road which poses a problem since the vehicle entry to the mall is restricted specially in the evening but he hotel car picked us up promptly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanarc916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We booked through hostel bookers but when we turned up they did not know we were coming! They sorted out a lovely room for us but we have to pay full price again as they had no received our deposit.

Room was lovely but bathroom only had a wall mounted tap, no shower. In my opinion for £30 a night there should be a proper shower head for westerners. Also the walls and doors were thin, on our first night there was a rowdy group of young men getting drunk in their room and the hotel staff did not appear to have any idea how to stop them. They did however move us to a new room which was excellent of them, however then we were close to the kitchen which wasn't quiet either.

The beds were comfy, breakfast was good and all the staff were polite. I would go again although I am not sure it was great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariner45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We reached Mussoorie and got off at the wrong end of town to reach Hotel Filigree. We should have known better and got off at the Kulri Bazar, but from the Library Square, there was no way except to hire 2 cycle rickshaws to transport us. The 15-minute ride to Filigree foreshadowed our expereince of Mussoorie-- quiet, panoramic, and still ensconced in a gentler time.
The Filigree is a smallish hotel by plainsmen's standards, but the rooms were roomier than my own apartment's. Good, comfortable amenities, not to much flash (thankfully!), and running hot water even in the summer (you'll need to switch on the water heater or geyser 10 min before your shower).
The staff is extraordinarily courteous, and the management takes personal interest: mainly two brothers in their 30s, or maybe 40s, who exemplify the courtesy, savoir-faire and charm of a Raj heritage together with the irreverence and fun-loving mood of the current generation. They bore our 6-year old's tantrum in the restaurant with a tolerant smile, and pacified the other guests well in time.
The restaurant is cosy, and the food is, well, excellent. However, there's no option for ordering local cuisine, so you'll be eating the same food as can be found in the better restaurants of North India.
The skating rink is about a 100 metres away, but a more attractive walk is to the cemetry. You'll need to ask permission from the pastor of a nearby church (300 m in Kulri Bazar)to get the gates unlocked. The most interesting thing about the hotel thing is its location. Its a 5-minute walk to the hubbub of Mall Road to one side and Kulri Bazar to the other, but the hotel itself is in an extremely quiet and thinly populated enclave on Camel's Back Road.
I'd say the best place in

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TimARAMIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucknow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Hotel Filigree is on Camel's Back Road, a little away from the noise of Mall Road. It is good. It is peaceful. It is spacious. It is beautiful located. It is easy to reach.The staff and management were really friendly and helpful. The rooms were large, though a little frayed at the edges, though overall they were clean.It had large bay windows with wonderful views of Landour and the Mussoorie Hills. Overall, the hotel was very quiet and peaceful. We do wish that they had a travel desk that could organize local trips for us.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chayanLucknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#3 of 73 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.7 mi away
Connaught Castle
Connaught Castle
#55 of 73 in Mussoorie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Deep
Hotel Deep
#43 of 73 in Mussoorie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mussoorie Gateway
Mussoorie Gateway
#5 of 93 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sun N Snow Mussoorie
Hotel Sun N Snow Mussoorie
#2 of 93 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Abhinandan
Hotel Abhinandan
#59 of 93 in Mussoorie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Filigree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Filigree

Property: Hotel Filigree
Address: Camels Back Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Filigree 2*
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing