We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Highly Priced - Not Conveniently Located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Inn Green Castle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tulip Inn Green Castle
Ranked #64 of 73 Hotels in Mussoorie
Gangtok
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highly Priced - Not Conveniently Located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel is located on The Mall Road but not conveniently located if you have lots of luggage. Vehicles are not allowed to enter The Mall Road between 5pm to 10pm and apart from these timings also if you vehicle enters Mall Road you have to pay entry fees every time it wants to enter The Mall Road.
The hotel has recently been taken up by The Tulip Group and hence the facilities and room decor are not upto the mark in comparison to the price they demand for their rooms. Basic room amenities like toilet slippers, shaving and dental kit, etc are lacking. The room is also basically decorated and there are not ample charging points in the room. I stayed in room no. 314 and the bed was also not properly placed. The side table was in such a position that the almirah could not open.
The suite room is also not upto the mark and is very basic.
Despite promises on the hotel website and elsewhere the hotel surprisingly did not have wifi internet facility and this is one of the most basic facility a quality hotel provides to its guests.
The rope way starting point to gun hill is nearby.
Overall I feel if the room decor and quality is improved then only the price they demand is justified.

Room Tip: Take the valley view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrakashMundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    24
    10
    19
See reviews for
59
22
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We rented 3 superior rooms after being offered a discount of 50% on d room charges. All 3 rooms vastly differed from each other. In one of the room , the furniture was broken down , carpet was old, stained in the other. Quality of food was good but is a bit overpriced. Overall hotel was not value for money esp when no discount is offered.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sovitdomir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
185 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

i stayed here for 3 nights and i was happy with many things of the hotel.Like the room,it was large,well-furnished.The hotel property was really good.The hotel had good ambience and facilities.The parking was big and well-organised.Indoor activities like the Table Tennis room were there.But,the hotel was a bit expensive.The view was pleasant.The room service was also good.The location is at the middle of the Mall Road.The sleep quality was also very good.

Room Tip: choose a room with a view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anantjain26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
188 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I first went there on March 2011 with my wife, stayed there for 2 nights and it was wonderful. The rooms are cozy with a splendid view of the doon valley. Food is a little overpriced, and now when i stayed there recently again with my wifey, it felt a torn look of this nice hotel. The walls were seeping, the wooden support on stairs was shaky, the intercom not working and the staff looked a little rusty. There is an urgent need for renovation before this place looses it's status as a "good hotel for friends and family".. On a positive side, the sleep quality is one of the best I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pratik_bhaumik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is an standard hotel, not so great..!! I stayed there over for 2 nights in july, the room servicing was very slow during night and food was average and every room was not according as they are considered. I opted for super deluxe but that was not worth at all!!! they charge much according the rooms.. staff was quite polite and gentle.
Must be great for those who never seen actually a super deluxe room, but as compared with other standard hotels in musoorie its far better...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiyadelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was quite pleasantly surprised to see a Hotel Green Castle in a hill station in such fantastic condition and with excellent service! The staff was not only courteous but also extremely helpful! The view from the hotel was fantastic! I would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Mussoorie - it outlines the fantastic experience of visiting a hill station!

Room Tip: 4 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhpik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed during last week of june-12 with wife and kids
Well maintained, Quite expensive.
Hygiene well maintained rooms were clean and well maintained.
Food was ok.room service was excellent
staff was very helpful no complain regarding staff.
Nice hotel to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinerprvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pearl -  A Royal Residency
The Pearl - A Royal Residency
#59 of 73 in Mussoorie
3.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Madhuban Highlands
Hotel Madhuban Highlands
#22 of 73 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vishnu Palace
Hotel Vishnu Palace
#8 of 73 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shilton By Royal Collection Hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#3 of 73 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fortune Resort Grace
Fortune Resort Grace
#6 of 73 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Green Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Green Castle

Property: Tulip Inn Green Castle
Address: The Mall Road | Near SDM Court, Mussoorie 248122, India (Formerly Hotel Green Castle)
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 73 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tulip Inn Green Castle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Tulip Inn Green Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing