We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the din...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2010

I stayed at the Claridges for two nights in June 2010 - I travelled with my sons (4 yrs and 6 months respectively). We got a family room which has two additional beds on the mezannine floor. This is a great option for couples traveling with children. Rooms are not really plush but comfortable. Some rooms have been recently renovated and have LCD tv etc.
The hotel itself is cosy and beautiful - nice quiet sit out areas, about 20 rooms in all. There is only one restaurant which only serves a buffet for breakfast and dinner (no a la carte) although the food is decent. Room service menu is limited so unless you want a snack, dont rely on eating in the room. Staff is friendly and eager to help.
Hotel provides pick n drop from the mall at designated times through the day. If you're looking at a laidback vacation, this is a good property to be in. But if you want the hustle bustle of the mall, then it's better to choose a hotel on the mall itself because during the peak season, the entry and exit of the mall is a traffic nightmare.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AditiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 161 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nites with my Family (2 kids under 10 yrs old). We had a very good time as the hotel gave us a Duplex Room which had a Queen size bed and 2 single beds on the mezannine floor. We wanted to stay together and hence it solved the purpose.
The scope for improvement:
1. The rooms are very old and worn out. One can see that they have outlived their lifespan. Be it furnishings (stained and dirty upholstry), dirty around the corner bathrooms etc...But the good thing is that the Mgr told us that the hotel is going to go thru major renovation in Nov, 10 and they are going to do major changes. We did get a peek at the new rooms, they looks very nice.
2. Simple and basic service like fixing the TV or supplying toiletries was never attended or delayed (after making multiple calls).
3. At the time of check out, I was told that the Credit Card machine was not working. This was not acceptable. Not that there was a problem in paying cash but I would like to be informed at check in or later during our stay.

The good things:
1. The food in the restaurants is like home made: Simple, non greasy, delicious, just very nice and basic without any frills or fancy.
2. The service in the restaurants is impeccable. The staff is very cordial, polite and caters to all your needs in split second.
3. Location of hotel is good: It's a bit away from Mussoorie and hence away from all the noise and madness.
4. The beds are comfortable.

The kids had a good time because they loved the space. We enjoyed the serenity of the place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

My search for good property was focused on kids - I have 9 and 3 yr old daughters.
The duplex room option is excellent.
Kids feel special and the room gives them independence.
With only 20 rooms, the resort just cannot give you an over-crowded or noisy feel.
The staff is very courteous.
Shuttle service to Mall road comes in handy - you can get a drop or pickup whenever you want.
My 10 yr old and I went on a treck up the hill at 6 am and really liked it.
It is not a treck into wilderness but we spotted the dark bule thrush (a famous bird in this area).
The short treck can actually get you to the Mall road in 20 minutes by foot! Regular oad route is about 3 km.
Breakfast and dinner were good - we stayed for 3 nights and the food gave us a decent variety. Both meals are included on the package.
Noticeable heritage item on the property is the Library (which was the Maharaja's Piano room) - we liked the decor esp the winged chairs.
For kids, there's a good garden - the 3 yr old was running after butterflies, and a playarea with seesaw etc.
Room was spacious; bathroom very clean and maintained.
Value for money - well - other places costabout 10 to 20% less, but how many summer holidays do you have with kids? I was totally satisfied with the experience here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drvix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We stayed at the Nabha Palace for 2 nights in Dec 2009. Needless to say it was very cold at night. There was just one room heater which even if sat on did not heat you up enough. We requested for more heaters but were told that the power would trip if we got two heaters in the room. Obviously winter is not the right time to visit Mussoorie let alone a not so well heated hotel.
Thats aside I don't have anything else negative to say about the place. Its is beautiful, charming, serene. The breakfast was scrumtious on both days. The stay is friendly. They have a lovely bar and library that have a distinct colonial feel. Very charming overall. The garden looks out at the deodhars. Pretty place although not much to do inside the resort itself.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank himalayanodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

The Claridges Nabha Residence offers 22 elegantly appointed rooms, each equipped with new age comforts and the hospitality of a bygone era. All the rooms offer a breathtaking view of the forest through their bay windows.he Claridges Nabha Residence has an all-day dining restaurant named 'The Dining Room', which serves Indian, Continental & Chinese specialities.service of the hotel was very good and they were cooperative also.the food there was so good we cant control ourselves to stop eating .in mussorie you should definitely visit kamty fall,mall road and to do boating.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deepakgarg707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

i visted this place wiht my wofe,,soem time back,what we liked here is as it is very near to noida,,it was very easy to reach this place by road & ameties we found here were quite comfortable..we enjoyed & had very good time here,,seeing rate of this hotel,,i think it is value for money..& staff is also very co-operative..

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwgargraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

I enjoyed a lot with my family on this trip, It is located on at nice corner of Mussorrie and it is the best place to stay in mussorie, they provide daily cab facility to visit library mussorrie.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rohitaqua2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
1.5 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
693 reviews
3.2 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#9 of 74 in Mussoorie
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rokeby Manor
Rokeby Manor
#8 of 74 in Mussoorie
357 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
427 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie

Address: Airfield Barlowganj Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range: $90 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing