We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, neat and clean, perfect place for a recharge after weeks of traveling India on less.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, neat and clean, perfect place for a recharge after weeks of traveling India on less.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

This little gem of a hotel can be found just off the Mall road. I saw the hotel while winding through the countless switchbacks leading to Mussoorie, a hill city located in the foot hills of the Himalayas. As we approached the city I kept seeing this beautiful building jutting out of the cliff looking over the Doon Valley below. That night all I wanted was a hot shower, a comfortable bed and I was willing to pay for it.
Access to this hotel is a bit tricky as vehicles are permitted in the Mall only during random hours. We were told you can sometimes talk your way through the gates before nightfall however we encountered a surly guard not willing to barter. In this case, find your way to the entrance gates to the Mall, unload your bags and make the short walk down the shared driveway to the hotel. You will be swarmed by coolies happy to walk your bags, for a small fee of course. The driveway is an access road for at least two other locations but you’ll soon see the Park Plaza sign leading you forward to the end of the drive. Park your vehicle close by until the Mall hours are lifted and you can move your vehicle in the adjoining parking lot for the night.
The building itself does not have a strong Indian architectural feel which becomes more evident once inside. The lobby, hallways and room are well appointed with a very Western feel. In your room you’ll feel as if you’ve stepped into any Hilton hotel in the States. Rooms are good size complete with Western bathrooms, very comfortable beds, TV and desk etc. The best part is the French doors which lead out onto a small patio offering views of the Doon Valley right from your room.
At night the grounds are lit up almost begging you to walk the property. With the Mall on the opposite side of the building, and on higher ground, there is little noise to disturb the scenery.
Morning food service included with the room is served in the dining room off the lobby. The decor is in keeping with the rest of the building, however the food can be skipped. The choices were a hit and miss of Northern and Southern breakfast items with little Western fare to be found. Given how slow it was, the three of us were the only people at the time for an hour, I can understand it being difficult to keep a fresh and tasty offering.
Park Plaza was a good match nearly 4 weeks into my Indian travels. Anyone looking for breathtaking views, clean and comfortable rooms and a great location to the activity of Mussoorie would be wise to stay here. We paid Ru 4500 per room which was slightly discounted after a bit of haggling. Happy Travels.

Chris
www.fullstopindia.com

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    71
    29
    11
    17
See reviews for
122
60
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

i stayed in this hotel for 3 days and i must say we had great stay. we were checked in very fast and i had taken executive room first.I must say that location of executive rooms are not very good, in fact not at all good, so i asked to change and ugrade to plaza room with excllent view. though rooms were expmty they charged me 2000 rupee for ugradation after i agreed,
Food and service of staff was very good and and view from plaza rooms was amazing.
Over all one can stay in this hotel as ambience is great and is near taxi and bus stand.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

I am a regular visitor to the queen of hills and though I prefer to stay at some of the not so luxurious budget hotels near the Camel's back rd, I chose the PP this time as my wife was accompanying me for the first time and she is a little picky when it comes to the hotel rooms (cleanliness, service etc.)

Mussoorie is a quaint hill station and while you cannot get 5 star luxury options there (except if you choose the JayPee which is not exactly IN mussoorie), the Park Plaza is your best option for a luxurious and comfortable stay.

The hotel is located very near to the Picture Palace taxi stand, though not right on the mall road. It's a 1 min walk from the mall road.

The staff is very couteous and prompt. It was my birthday and my wife asked them to arrange for a bday cake as a surprise for me and they did that within minutes (Yummy cake!)

The rooms are nice and cozy and the beds are very comfy. Make sure you get the garden view room. They do cost a bit more than the Executive rooms but trust me it's worth it. All garden view rooms have a sit out area in the hotels little garden with some excellent view of the Doon valley.

The restaurant Ambrosia is nice with good food. The service is a bit slow. The only downside is that when we visited there was no real bar in the hotel. They had a small area near the restaurant with nice couches where they used to serve liquor. No idea if they have expanded it now as originally planned.

All in all, if you are looking for a luxurious stay in Mussoorie, you will not be disappointed with the Park Plaza

  • Liked — The view from the room. service
  • Disliked — The Bar
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrmusK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

We didn't stay at this hotel but did the full inspection and checked it out thoroughyl. Sure, it looks nice, the outdoor area has good views... but the price was ridiculous even by western standards. The staff are also backwards to the point of being ridiculous. Remember, this isn't a local hotel but part of an international chain.

The spa was also a joke, two tiny rooms next to the games room.

Three of us had a meal in the restaurant, food took 45 mins to come out even though we were the only customers. Was awful too, and we loved eating in India. We all got a touch of the 'belly' for the next few days - only one main suspect where this came from!

Overall we spent 2 days in Mussoorie, nice town especially after 5pm when the cars are banned from main steeet.
I would instead recommend you try and stay at some of the older colonial houses in town that have ben converted into guesthouses. more space in them too. They are pretty easy to spot once you arrive and really, great views are on offer from wherever you stay in this town.

This Park Plaza is a big disappointment compared to what else is on offer at a few smaller places.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shannon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

We have been regularly visiting Park poperty in Mussoorie. The welcome is excellent, rooms are beautifully done up. The staff is very polite and happy to serve always. The main attraction of the mall road is also well met since the approach is just about 100mtr from the hotel. The view of the Doon valley from the hotel is just amazing from their garden. The food is awesome with a great variety in their buffet's for breakfast and dinner. If one wants to spend money for extremely satisfying experience then this is the place to be.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and scenic
  • Disliked — nothing actually
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank libash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

Its a beautiful hotel. The Ambrosia hall looks spectacular. It offers good services. The back side of the hotel offers a beautiful view of Mussorie. It looks grand from outside. It has a separate room for games. Its resonable also. The staff at the hotel is very co-operative. Once we were not offered good food, the chef and the senior staff immediately came to know about this and made sure we were not disappointed. They took special care.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alokmisra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

Location was wonderful. We stayed in plaza double room, it was well maintained with all the facilities. Staff were willing to help us anytime. But the breakfast was average in taste. It was really a good experience with this hotel.

  • Liked — View of Doon Valley at night
  • Disliked — Breakfast could have been better
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rajasthanroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#2 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fortune Resort Grace
Fortune Resort Grace
#11 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
1.1 mi away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#9 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa

Property: The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
Address: The Mall | Kuluri, Mussoorie 248179, India (Formerly Park Plaza Sylverton)
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mussoorie
#16 Family Hotel in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Sylverton Hotel Mussoorie
Park Plaza Mussoorie
Mussoorie Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing