We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Although a good hotel with scenic view; (that's the only thing that was great!)... their services are pathetic. After checking into the room I found problems with the shower, the tea maker... followed up to get things rectified and then on pursuation, they changed my room. Food quality is also not great... it seems they have good cooks only for Ala-Carte... buffet dinner was not good. Overall, I didnot find it worth the whooping charge!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlokeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 308 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2011

It was booked by my travel agent. The hotel decor was good, but when we checked they did not say that Heating is not working. Soon after check in we went for sight seeing and when came back , while checking with hotel reception they informed that Heating system is not operative, as this is off season and number of guests are too little, hence for this techical reason it wont be available. When I informed about the breathing trouble, was told, that they
will provide a room heater , which was not enough to fight the cold weather outside, and too
when air is seeping inside from the Verandah windows and gates due to faulty furniture. Then they arranged two Hot Water bag, which every one hour we had to prepare the hot water from the Tea kettle in the room and I cud not sleep, whole night as it had snowed in Mussoorie only two days ago. Inspite of my request to let us leave the hotel at around
9.30 om and transfer to another one, they said no sir we will charge the agent as you have enterd your signature in our register.
It was so painful that the next morning the Chief manager also came to my room abd simply said Sorry about the whole thing, as these are policy decisions, and the management has asked us to run the heater, we cannot do any thing. He even got another heater from his room after the breakfast tie, which was the Gas burner - which obuiously wud have not served the purpose as there was a Gas smell all around the room, but in any way we had to leave in one hour to get our flight from Dehradun. for Kolkata via Delhi.
It was a terrible experience.

Tourists please do check before you sign the arrival card in this type of hotel AND CHECK THE ROOM AND THE CONDITIONS AS THEY DO NOT CARE FOR YOU ONCE YOU HAVE FILLED THE REGISTRATION CARD AND SIGNED IT.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

My husband, children and I stayed at the Park Plaza Sylverton in Mussoorie in April 2010. It is very well located, on the Mall Road, with easy accessibility to many places close by.

The food at the hotel is good, the service too is good. Although the rooms are excellent, we were a little unlucky to have a room with a toilet that didn't work properly, so we had to have the hotel plumber come in to check it a few times, which was a real nuisance.

The gardens of the hotel are well appointed, and the attached bar is large with huge flat screen televisions which show any big sporting event that is underway.

All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjumdhandhania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

The charming valley view out of the hotel verandah and some of the high end rooms make up for the rather congested entrance to the hotel. Besides the charming valley views the hotel does not have much to offer either in terms of restaurants, entertainment or hospitality. The rooms are tight so are the toilets.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovayager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. The hotel is on the mall road of mussoorie. The food is very good. Room service is poor.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
Thank YPAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Amazing experience. The management allowed us a 5 hour early check in without charging extra for the same. Thats how the average daily expense got nullified. Otherwise it is priced slightly higher. Fabulous view through Plaza rooms. Executive rooms also comfortable (except no view). Good food, courteous staff at restaurant. Reception approchable. Shortfalls: No Gym, swimming pool. Good play area for kids

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rohitmahmbrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Nice Hotel.
When me and my partner planned the trip to Mussoorie our minds were puzzling about the best hotel there where we can have the best view of location but at the same time we had a limited budget too.
I search for hotels there and then I found Park Plaza Sylverton is one of the best and prominent hotel there.
Their service and treatment was outstanding. In terms of facilities hotels got the full marks.
The Park Plaza Sylverton made my trip more beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vaibhavban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
1.2 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 76 in Mussoorie
699 reviews
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#3 of 76 in Mussoorie
429 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#9 of 76 in Mussoorie
821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa

Address: The Mall | Kuluri Picture Palace, Mussoorie 248179, India (Formerly Park Plaza Sylverton)
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Mussoorie
#16 Family Hotel in Mussoorie
Price Range: $81 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Sylverton Hotel Mussoorie
Park Plaza Mussoorie
Mussoorie Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing