We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money stay”
Review of Seegreen Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seegreen Lodges
Ranked #7 of 96 Mussoorie B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic value for money stay”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a fantastic place with beautiful views. The rooms were clean and neat with a lovely fireplace. We like spacious rooms and clean bathrooms. The silence around us was an experience in itself. The food was delicious and our smallest needs were taken care of by kabir. And yes - their dogs are total fun and loving. You can tell a man's heart by his dog.
We also saw some interesting beautiful species of birds. You must consider an early wake-up for bird watching. Don't forget to ask the host about their leopard tales....
I certainly think this place is value deal in mussorie and who wants to stay in a silly star hotel with dumb gala dinners, cold banquet halls, untasteful rooms and the usual raff of holiday venues.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    30
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were looking for a "homestay" in Landour - one of our fav spots in the hills. I was lucky to find Seaforth cottage on a random google search. This lovely old place has been maintained very well. The no-frills service by Kabir and his family was much appreciated by us and our friends. This place is suitable for people inclined towards peaceful, quiet holidays and will not suit those looking for pampering or thrills. The lodge and its surroundings are excellent birding country and there are several lovely restaurants within walking distance from Seaforth cottage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emblica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The 1st thing that strikes you about Seegreen Lodges in Landour is the cool crisp mountain air. The kind that makes you want to take deep breaths even though it makes your nose run!! There is a also a feeling of being in a place of a bygone era and where things look untouched by modernization and deforestation. It is a place to enjoy the sounds and sights of nature. Definitely a place for people who like to curl up with a book or a loved one or who like to bask in the sunlight and sip a warm drink admiring the myriad views of the Himalayas. Walks around the property are magical especially in the mornings when the sun shines through the trees and birds flutter around and chirp ceaselessly.

We stayed in the main colonial bungalow and for the 1st night we were the only guest so it gave us the feeling of having it to ourselves!! Adjacent to our room was the dining area and a fireplace with a sitting area which worked perfectly for us in the evenings when it was too cold venture out. We were a family of 4 ( 2 adults and 2 kids aged 4 and 6).

The room itself was spacious and aesthetically done retaining the high ceiling.It had a fire place and a sitting area. Again it was just what we needed. Once it was dark and cold we would have an early dinner and sit by the fireplace and curl up to sleep. There was a separate pantry with a refrigerator and sink. Since we didn't need to fix anything for ourselves (thanks to Kabir and team) we used it as a dressing area. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, with soft clean towels and a hand made soap.

The food was superb! Tasty, homely and hot! Kabir would ask what we would like and dish out amazing meals. The assortment of pickles was yummmm. The bed was very comfortable. We marveled at the quality of the pillows, mattresses, quilts, linen and even the covers on the hot water bags. Seldom are such standards maintained in small lodges or homestays, We were very well fed and looked after.

And the part that the kids and we enjoyed the most was playing with the pet dogs Laloo and Sweetie!!! They are bursting with energy, love company and are so very loving. We spent hours watching their antics and joining in. Laloo is a big Pahadi dog who can easily reach an obliging adult on his front legs so watch out for wet licks across your face. The dogs will join you for a walk wherever you go and return with you.

Overall we had 2 beautiful days at Seegreen Lodges.

The only sad part was leaving it........

Room Tip: Carry binoculars to help with bird watching. Wake up around 6 or 6. 30 am to get amazing views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VinitaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

It was a long weekend and we were looking for a place near to Delhi, one f my friend suggested this place and then I checked its website.Whatever they mentioned in the introduction is TRUE!!!
We were there for 3 days & it was bliss! with no mobile network but only chippring of birds..... Loved the ambience and above all the hospitality by the caretaker "Kabir & his family" it was like home away from home.....
This place is very near to Lal Tibba and the only place in Landour from where you can see the snow peaks!!(if it is clear, we waited for 2 long days to get the fabulous view)
The property is huge which allows you to roam around freely or just bask in sunlight watch Himalayas and do nothing..
The best part is it is a cutt off from the hectic schedule we lead normaly.
Go there for sure to enjoy peace & serenity!!! A must go!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debabani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The place is cozy and an excellent home stay. The caretaker – kabir is an extra ordinary cook and went out of his way to make our time special. The lodge offers spectacular views of the Himalayan ranges – if you are lucky. Close to char dukan, the lodge is on the main lal tibba circuit making it a perfect place for a traveler interested in bird watching and taking long walks. It has no TV, no recreational activities for children so those looking for a children area etc would be disappointed. However, for people who seek solitude and enjoy peace and serenity, this is recommendable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mountain67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
557 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
120 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rokeby Manor
Rokeby Manor
#9 of 74 in Mussoorie
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
549 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#4 of 74 in Mussoorie
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seegreen Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seegreen Lodges

Property: Seegreen Lodges
Address: Hathipaon | Near George Everest Point Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Space We are away from the busy mountain town on mussorie but not so far that you feel isolated. The mall road can be reached in ten mins by car and about 35 on foot. For those interested in history, we are part of the famous park estate where sir george everest first established his house and began marathon work on the survey of india. He went on to measure circumferance of the earth and height of everest peak. We are so proud to be part of this estate and sir george everest house is accessible by foor / road. Guest Access Guest shall have access to the common cafeteria on the ground foor, common verandah and common deck (meant only for house guests and not for cafeteria guests) Library on the cafeteria ofders great reads for thise interested in exploring india and guests shall be permitted to use these books while in the premises. Cafeteria also has toys and board games for kids and adults which shall be freely used while guests are in the premises at the lodge. Interaction with Guests We generally shuttle between mumbai and this mountain home so we may or may not be available at all the time. Though our caretakers would take care of entire housekeeping and cooking at additional costs. The Neighborhood Stay at the lodge would be incomplete without walk to the whishingwell and a visit ti the historic george everest house on hill top. For those who love the night life - stepping out of the lodge at night - one could be rewarded with calls of mountain scoops owl and collared owl (rare visitor) Getting Around We are 4 kms from mussorie mall on the library side. This side is popularly known as library chawk side. Drive upto mussoorie modern school and just ask for hathipaon. We are on the junction of hathipaon and there r frequent boards guiding you to 'seegreen'. For those coming by public transport, pl get down at library chawk and then there are taxis at the union stand getting you to hatbipaon for 300 rs per taxi (carrying capacity 5 pax) There is no public transport beyong library chawk. For those coming from dehradun airport, can hire a taxo for approx 1400 inr to the lodge or take a bus to library chawk and then use local taxi. For those coming from dehradun railway station, there are regular 'shared taxis' to library chawk and they typically charge 140 inr per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Seegreen Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing