We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A potentially great place that needs some sprucing up!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carltons Plaisance

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mussoorie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carltons Plaisance
Ranked #44 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A potentially great place that needs some sprucing up!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in suite no. 8. in June week 1. This quaint and charming property located near Company Garden can perhaps be better described as a homestay than a hotel. It oozes old-world charm. A summary of things we found really great and a few that could have been perhaps a little better.

The positives
1. Getting an opportunity to being part of this place's living history - you actually feel as if you have time-travelled back a few centuries - everything, right from the mantle piece and sprawling dining room, to the antique furniture suggests that. The same applies to the very large and cosy suite (no. 8) we stayed in which opened out into a shared sitting space and then onto the back garden and afforded a decent view of the hills beyond.

2. The gracious hosts - both Mr and Mrs Singh who own and run this place were very kind, polite and hospitable. Mrs Singh without a moment's delay went out of her way to help organize a taxi from the hotel to delhi at a much cheaper price as well. Mr Singh was kind enough to reserve a hills-facing suite (room no. 8) as we requested

3. The polite and non-obstrusive staff

4. Good quality sleep and an unlimited supply of hot water in the large and airy bathrooms

5. Whatever simple food we ordered was pretty well-made. Our short stay here did not allow us the opportunity to sample their steaks and fish orly which apparently are quite popular.

Area of improvement
The place had a slightly tired look about it at the time we visited (partition screen between 2 suites in the shared seating area was faded; one of the sofas appeared to be broken, the wardrobe needed dusting and lastly, repairs to upholstery were being carried out near the front porch visible to any person entering into the hotel). We raised the last point of the repairs to Mrs Singh who explained the factors contributing to it - while we are totally convinced and accept the reasons as genuine, all we can suggest is that these repairs and maintenance activities be carried out a bit more discreetly perhaps in some nook or corner of this sprawling property rather than the main porch, as it ultimately was a bit of an eye sore and detracted from the otherwise good experience and value for money. What this place needs is more sprucing up!

Room Tip: Each room has its own character and is therefore unique..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrinceAnuraagMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    34
    11
    5
    21
See reviews for
61
30
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vasco Da Gama, Goa, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Visited mussoorie for the first time with my fly and parents on 11 Jun 13. Had booked the VIP suite. The best place that i have stayed so far among all my trips around India. Nostalgic, old world charm, rustic, breadth taking etc. etc. r some of the words that come to mind on seeing carlton's. Takes u back to an era bygone with its lovely paintings, antique furniture and knic knacks. Most beautiful gardens with exotic flowers of all colours possible. My kids just loved the enitre ambience of the place. Would have loved to play with Bugsy.The staff very courteous and very prompt service. Best breakfast just like home. Overall my best stay so far. Thanx a lot Anu Ji , u have a gem of a place back there. Would definetely recommend to all my friends and luv to stay again for a longer period .

Room Tip: ask for the VIP suite facing the mountain views if travelling with kids and parents. breath taking v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnjunaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited this place in june third week a place so beautiful and comfortable the staff is courteous and always there for you we stayed at Carlton's and felt very happy that we chose this place to stay.Mrs Anu Singh made us very comfortable...the food is excellent and the ambiance beautiful.They really treat all their guest as their personal guest.thanks a ton and we will surely be back again.All the best,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirankhattar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were 2 friends with 2 very Naughty kids who stayed for weekend last summer 2012 in the suite with a Huge sunlight Verandah. It a had 2 well maintained rooms, which had a touch of the old world charm and not your typical hotel stuff.

The property had a lot of open space and the kids had a nice time playing in the Gardens and were duly impressed with the stuffed Tiger and various other Hunting paraphernalia. The rooms are spacious and clean. It’s more Like a Home away from Home rather than a typical hotel

We were truly impressed by the warm hospitality and friendliness extended by Ms Anu Singh .

We reached very late in the night around 1 am and were greeted with a warm smile from Usman the care taker, all through the day the staff and Ms. Anu singh herself kept in touch with us, and ensured that we had the complete route mapped out to avoid finding the place at night.

The food was simple and home cooked, The kids were additionally provided with Fresh Fruits from their Farms a few elaborate spreads were made available too on request. The staff was extremely courteous and were prompt in their services.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaBithar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Though it took more than 10 hours for us to reach mussoorie this weekend , we were tired and exhausted when we reached Carlton . But we felt rejuvenated and full of energy as soon as we reached our hotel.Our Room was very beautiful, tidy and we really liked Carlton a lot. It is nicely managed resort , reminds of British era , big size rooms , high ceilings and great architecture. And the top of all we really liked Anu Aunty , Ajit uncle , Rahul bhiaya , bhabhi and little Anandita.My daughter played and enjoyed a lot at resort.All people are really nice and makes you feel at home.My 3 year old daughter There was some problem in our room and Anu Aunty proactively upgraded our room to Suite. Food , environment , location , space we love everything about Carlton and have already decided to stay at Carlton only when we visit mussoorie next time.

Hotel staff is very supportive and well mannered. We thank Carlton for such a special holiday experience.

Room Tip: room adjacent to library.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajatGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had the great fortune to begin our first trip to India as a family, all seven of us, with a week's stay at Carlton's Plaisance. The idea was to find something like a home away from home at the start of the trip in a quiet setting surrounded by the natural beauty of the mountains while also still having easy access to the bustle of the small town, its markets and restaurants. Carlton was quite the perfect place, rich in atmosphere and steeped in its various past histories. It is filled with diverse artifacts from stuffed tigers, embroidered carpets, stately furniture and family photographs that span generations including those of the present owners and their fascinating lives that one has the privilege of sharing briefly during one's stay. The Singh's were the most wonderful hosts, accommodating and attentive and offering invaluable support to us as first time India travellers. The food was outstanding, served in the grand old diningroom with a roaring fire or in the early morning sun outside our bedrooms. The stories told by our host transported one into other worlds and the experience was made all the stranger when the old gramophone was wound up and we were allowed a brief glimpse of the enourmous stuffed tiger in the "inner" room. Fortunately the strong sense of history that Carlton exudes has been preserved because the house has not been over restored or fitted with hotel style bathroom fittings that would surely detract from its authenticity and ambience. So yes, the plumbing may be a little temperamental but the ever ready and always helpful staff more than compensates for this! All in all, a wonderful experience in everyway and one that is certainly not easily come by at all!

Room Tip: We had the main bedrooms, lovely atmosphere, lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Carlton Plaisance was our bookended lodging before and after our group's trek to Dodital. Dodital was amazing, and the main reason we had set up our trip to India (thanks Raj for suggesting we visit your country this once!). But the Carlton stole the show in a few ways:

a) The food, the food, the food!!!! Seriously, the food! I still dream about that Honey Roast Chicken.

b) The peace and the beauty. Mussoorie is a bit grungy and overcrowded. Ok, a LOT. The Carlton made it seem you had the city mostly to yourselves.

c) The building, the rooms, the history - I have read some of the reviews about the place not being the most updated. Seriously folks, I have stayed at the best hotels around the world, and if you are in an 'updated' or 'modern' hotel, you really don't realize which city you are in. If that's what you like, go on a 'staycation', and just head to a top end hotel closest to your house.
The building here was from another era. With all the modern amenities, of course, don't get me wrong :). I like history, but with modern convenience thrown in :). Every day here made all our stress melt away (we are a bunch of consultants - hence the hotel stays around the world). Before this, the only place I could get this relaxed was Hawaii. The carlton is, once again, awesome.

d) The food!

e) The views - right outside our rooms, every morning, we saw the Himalayas. We had a small mountain with a temple and a castle on top right behind the hotel. We had orchards around the hotel building, and a large lawn; large enough to attempt (and fail) to learn to play cricket. All in all, a lot of beauty.

Room Tip: Get the rooms upstairs. The ones downstairs are cheaper, but the ones upstairs are massive, and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomSosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.3 mi away
Avalon Holiday Resorts
Avalon Holiday Resorts
#31 of 74 in Mussoorie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dunsvirk Court Mussoorie
Dunsvirk Court Mussoorie
#20 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#7 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.2 mi away
The High Walls
The High Walls
#34 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shilton By Royal Collection Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carltons Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carltons Plaisance

Property: Carltons Plaisance
Address: Near the L.B.S.N.A Academy | Happy Valley Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carltons Plaisance 2*
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing