We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We thank Carlton for such a special holiday experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carltons Plaisance

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mussoorie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carltons Plaisance
Ranked #44 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
gurgaon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We thank Carlton for such a special holiday experience.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Though it took more than 10 hours for us to reach mussoorie this weekend , we were tired and exhausted when we reached Carlton . But we felt rejuvenated and full of energy as soon as we reached our hotel.Our Room was very beautiful, tidy and we really liked Carlton a lot. It is nicely managed resort , reminds of British era , big size rooms , high ceilings and great architecture. And the top of all we really liked Anu Aunty , Ajit uncle , Rahul bhiaya , bhabhi and little Anandita.My daughter played and enjoyed a lot at resort.All people are really nice and makes you feel at home.My 3 year old daughter There was some problem in our room and Anu Aunty proactively upgraded our room to Suite. Food , environment , location , space we love everything about Carlton and have already decided to stay at Carlton only when we visit mussoorie next time.

Hotel staff is very supportive and well mannered. We thank Carlton for such a special holiday experience.

Room Tip: room adjacent to library.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajatGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    34
    11
    5
    21
See reviews for
61
30
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had the great fortune to begin our first trip to India as a family, all seven of us, with a week's stay at Carlton's Plaisance. The idea was to find something like a home away from home at the start of the trip in a quiet setting surrounded by the natural beauty of the mountains while also still having easy access to the bustle of the small town, its markets and restaurants. Carlton was quite the perfect place, rich in atmosphere and steeped in its various past histories. It is filled with diverse artifacts from stuffed tigers, embroidered carpets, stately furniture and family photographs that span generations including those of the present owners and their fascinating lives that one has the privilege of sharing briefly during one's stay. The Singh's were the most wonderful hosts, accommodating and attentive and offering invaluable support to us as first time India travellers. The food was outstanding, served in the grand old diningroom with a roaring fire or in the early morning sun outside our bedrooms. The stories told by our host transported one into other worlds and the experience was made all the stranger when the old gramophone was wound up and we were allowed a brief glimpse of the enourmous stuffed tiger in the "inner" room. Fortunately the strong sense of history that Carlton exudes has been preserved because the house has not been over restored or fitted with hotel style bathroom fittings that would surely detract from its authenticity and ambience. So yes, the plumbing may be a little temperamental but the ever ready and always helpful staff more than compensates for this! All in all, a wonderful experience in everyway and one that is certainly not easily come by at all!

Room Tip: We had the main bedrooms, lovely atmosphere, lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Carlton Plaisance was our bookended lodging before and after our group's trek to Dodital. Dodital was amazing, and the main reason we had set up our trip to India (thanks Raj for suggesting we visit your country this once!). But the Carlton stole the show in a few ways:

a) The food, the food, the food!!!! Seriously, the food! I still dream about that Honey Roast Chicken.

b) The peace and the beauty. Mussoorie is a bit grungy and overcrowded. Ok, a LOT. The Carlton made it seem you had the city mostly to yourselves.

c) The building, the rooms, the history - I have read some of the reviews about the place not being the most updated. Seriously folks, I have stayed at the best hotels around the world, and if you are in an 'updated' or 'modern' hotel, you really don't realize which city you are in. If that's what you like, go on a 'staycation', and just head to a top end hotel closest to your house.
The building here was from another era. With all the modern amenities, of course, don't get me wrong :). I like history, but with modern convenience thrown in :). Every day here made all our stress melt away (we are a bunch of consultants - hence the hotel stays around the world). Before this, the only place I could get this relaxed was Hawaii. The carlton is, once again, awesome.

d) The food!

e) The views - right outside our rooms, every morning, we saw the Himalayas. We had a small mountain with a temple and a castle on top right behind the hotel. We had orchards around the hotel building, and a large lawn; large enough to attempt (and fail) to learn to play cricket. All in all, a lot of beauty.

Room Tip: Get the rooms upstairs. The ones downstairs are cheaper, but the ones upstairs are massive, and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomSosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was the first time I was travelling as trip manager along with my parents. I wanted a place which would have green surroundings, and without the need to climb steps both an essential criterion for my mother. I got both of these at Carlton. All of us loved the beautiful flowers in the garden, the various sit outs, the grand dining hall, the book collection, the polite staff and very friendly management.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Pallabi Chanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

When we had booked our vacation to mussoorie, we decided to go to carltons based on the reviews here on trip advisor. I have to thank all our friends who gave their honest feedback on trip advisor.

Our stay at carltons was a perfect experience. We could never see this place like a hotel. It gave us a feeling of home away from home, the perfect vacation cottage . The entire staff was very cooperative, respectful and did all possible to make us comfortable at all times. This cottage is the right place to be made a base for families for its calmth and secured location.
Book lovers and children have access to a collection of comics to magazines and thrillers.
The company garden is about 20 mins walking from this place. You will enjoy this place if you want to relax and feel closer to nature.

We would like to thank everyone at carltons to make our stay in mussoorie wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms are big and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOVINDAKRISHNAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

You can hardly see it, even though it stands bang on the road to the IAS Training Academy, one-and-half km from the now tumbled down town of the once fabled Mussoorie. The tall trees, none less than 150 years old, stand guard and cloak the 120 year old heritage bungalow in a mystique that carries the aroma of aristocracy and class.

I have stayed in many places but none like this. There are many rooms, both at the garden level and on the main floor... but my favourite is Room 10, essentially a suite, with old-world furniture and a... fireplace. But the best part of this room is the coloured glass panel on the door looking out to the garden, from where the first ray of sun at dawn creates a rainbow on the opposite wall.

The next best place is a crescent-shaped corridor, with old pictures on the wall, and you can still see the photographs of the wedding of the original couple who owned this place, Mrs Sham Singh and Late SJ Singh, with guess who? Jawaharlal Nehru and Sardar Patel blessing the couple! The floor of the crescent corridor is covered with skins of tigers and a bear rug. The place is best for a quiet drink in the evening, looking at the stars at night.

Outside there is a wonderful garden with a quaint old swing. Birds galore, songs galore... nonstop whiff of plant fragrance. Hmmmm…

Food is excellent... whether you want continental or Indian. And the Indian food is much less oily than any in the many restaurants in town.

And if you happen to meet Mrs Sham Singh, or her son Ajit and daughter-in-law Anu, you will be charmed. But chances are, you will not have to look for them... they'll come to see how you are doing. For them it is all about love.

Clichés about Home Away From Home? Shah! This IS HOME, when you are here, and when you leave, it will be ‘memories of home! Believe me, I have been to that home of mine many times…

My only warning... do not plan to stay for two nights, chances are you would want to stay back... so book for at least three or four nights, or else you'd have to come away unfulfilled .. space at Plaisance is always in demand.

Room Tip: As I said, Room 10 is the best... it will give you a rainbow on your wall due to light at dawn refra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sujitsikkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

we had booked a suite at the Carlton Plaisance hotel in Febuary, thought of canceling our booking, but thank God better sense prevailed. we loved every minute of our stay there. right from the time we entered the hotel, the driveway so beautiful huge trees on both sides , the garden and open spaces , the heritage building, the interiors, and then the room . huge room, with a huge bathroom.looking out the garden and the white mountains beyond . just loved it.had breakfast everyday outside, listening to the birds chirping, relaxing. couldn't imagine it would be so peaceful . thank you Mr. & Mrs. Singh and the staff for making our stay so comfortable, making our wedding anniversary so special. very romantic, peaceful surroundings.

Room Tip: the suites are very good, but if you are on a budget then the deluxe rooms are good and big, airy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arhar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.3 mi away
Avalon Holiday Resorts
Avalon Holiday Resorts
#31 of 74 in Mussoorie
124 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#7 of 74 in Mussoorie
362 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dunsvirk Court Mussoorie
Dunsvirk Court Mussoorie
#20 of 74 in Mussoorie
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shilton By Royal Collection Hotels
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
1.3 mi away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carltons Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carltons Plaisance

Property: Carltons Plaisance
Address: Near the L.B.S.N.A Academy | Happy Valley Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carltons Plaisance 2*
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing