We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE CARE AT CARKTON- A HOME AWAY FROM HOME!!”
Review of Carltons Plaisance

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mussoorie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carltons Plaisance
Ranked #50 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE CARE AT CARKTON- A HOME AWAY FROM HOME!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Carltons tucked away in the greenest part of Mussoorie with a beautiful vista and a panoramic view of the snow peaked Himalyas, is a home away from home. It has an old world charm befitting its heritage and the owners have taken great care to preserve and display its antiques in a warm and cheerful ambience.
The rooms are beautiful with old world furniture and spotless clean modern bathrooms. The garden is a riot of colours in the summer and in winters the snow give the place a charming hue.
The food is hearty and delicious- they cook to cater to your taste- whether it is continental or Awadhi, Carlton provides the best!!
it is a pleasure to wake up each morning to the chirping of birds and faint smell of pine trees. The couple who runs the Hotel like an extended family guest house are warm and caring and extremely sensitive to their guests needs. I rate the Carlton Excellent!!
Rajni Sekhri Sibal IAS

Room Tip: Select a room with a view- facing East, The morning tea in the veranda allows one to see the sun com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    35
    11
    5
    22
See reviews for
63
30
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I write to thank the owners and entire staff of the Carltons Plaisance for the WONDERFUL STAY experienced by me and my two sons, John and Brian. To begin, the physical setting of the Hotel is lovely with good views, great walks in the foothills and just a short walk to the picturesque town of Mussoorie; no wonder the Carltons Plaisance and Mussoorie are a favorite of honeymooners! The decor and ample private rooms and baths and the public rooms at the Carlton give a sense of staying in a large "family home" rather than a "hotel." with that feeling complemented by the friendly and helpful attitude of the entire staff. (I especially liked the drawing room with the "trophies" and most especially the dining room with the large table that made all guests feel like we were a "family" enjoying our meals together. This atmosphere resulted in great group conversation, pen-pal friendships among guests and some trips together to northern India while we were there.) Likewise with the food: it was always great: authentic Indian dishes, ample servings, special requests at times. Everthing was reasonably priced for the value received. All in all, my boys and I hope to return to the Carltons Plaisance one day soon if we ever are fortunate again to visit India (we will bring other family and friends if they can join us). Again: thanks, thanks, thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChuckBSantaBarbara_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meerut, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Carlton Plaisance- On the Kempty Falls road..is an amazing place! A heady combination of old-world charm and grace, beautifully kept! A hospitable and friendly staff, and gracious owners..with spotlessly clean and comfortable suites- the resort is a must-visit place for everyone with a taste for classy comfort, historical charm , delicious cuisine and reasonable rates.

I was hooked from the very first time I stayed here and it has become my favourite place in all of Mussoorie! Both the continental cuisine and Indian curries and vegetables are mouth-watering and fresh. The beds are so soft..its like sleeping on clouds:-) I love the place!

Room Tip: "Ground floor suite of two bedrooms with a living 'n dining room is the best!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seema T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

we had a relaxed time in this hotel. its a little away from the main market so its quiet and peaceful. the hosts are warm and friendly. our son loved the bear and stuffed tiger in the lounge.
close to the academy so we could visit the place again n again - where our son's dadaji and nanaji studied 48 years back. they also remembered carlton. experience in the service industry matters and these people have years behind them.

Room Tip: take the ones in front of the garden. we stayed there, dont know about the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parikshet-Neha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

A beautifully maintained heritage bungalow tucked away in the nicest part of Mussoorie. The three days we spent there felt more living in the home of a gracious friend than a hotel.

The location is excellent, in the IAS Academy area, far from the sardine-packed crowds of the Mall Road. So the Carlton Plaisance is quiet, elegant and a pleasure to stay in. There's a beautiful lawn and flowers everywhere, without looking like the typical, manicured 'hotel' garden. Parking is easy and ample.

The thing about the Carlton is that it's a bit of a time-shift. Period furniture, glazed verandahs and old-world charm, rather than computer-like efficiency and hi-tech fittings. We loved it. Our rooms were well-appointed and spacious - and since we'd booked two suites, the attached sitting area was also exclusively ours. The kids had a lovely time, they made friends with another boy and the three of them played football and hide-and-seek in the large compound.

The two really outstanding things about our stay was the personalised attention of Mrs Anu Singh, the owner; and the fantastic food. There is a menu, but Mrs Singh suggested fare that you won't usually get in a hotel - roast lamb with mint sauce, fish orly, eggs benedict. All mouthwatering stuff - and the ingredients were sometimes plucked right from the premises.

You should take a taxi to Library to go shopping - and save the walking for the Mall Road itself. Or spend a lot of time lounging around with a book, like we did.

Room Tip: The suites open on to a semi-private glazed verandah, which is a beautiful place for a sunlit breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barleyjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have a mixed review for Carlton Plaisance, a hotel we visited after reading many positive reviews on Tripadvisor and visiting the Hotel website. The positives first: The owner Anu was accommodating and charming during the short duration that we met her. Her staff was attentive and helpful, and everyone seemed pleasant to interact with. And the location is beautiful. But (and there is a big BUT here)...the overall experience was a big disappointment. There is difference between 'a well maintained heritage property' and 'unkempt old shabbiness', which the owners of the hotel seem to be oblivious to. While we landed at Carlton Plaisance expecting the former, we more or less found the latter. It seemed like an opportunity lost by the property owners to maximize on the hotel's history & beautiful location- and present it as a delightful experience to visitors. The furniture hasn't been dusted since ages, the bed cover's unwashed, carpet's stained (not as 'old artifacts' are, but just plain dirty), the room unkempt, intercom not working, inadequate lighting at night, lawns not maintained, TT table un usable, food not good, insects in chutney jar, smelly toilet with cheap tiles, old discarded furniture/products lying around, switch board hanging out loose from wall.....the list goes on. Overall sad state of affairs....which made us leave earlier than we planned.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank D_Nallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

my expectations generated from the website of the hotel. it promised so much. though there was definitely little bit of what was promised, on the whole the experience was not so good. first of all the tarriff was so high. deluxe room on the same price would definitely bring lots more at the other hotels. this one had rickety furniture, leaking toilet, falling wash basin, spiders on the bed, poor lighting in the room, slow service at the dining table (i am sure snails would be able to serve us faster), awful, i do mean awful, food. can u imaging butter chicken had tons of garlic in it and the gravy was watery. chapatis were dead cold. dal and vegetables were served first and then came rotis n rice, long time after the vegetables and dal had become cold. everything is overprices and quality is poooooooooooooor. there was no one on the reception desk, any time of the day. the overall looks from the outside are very much the same as shown in the photos on the website but when u get to live it there, you surely feel fooled. hope Mrs. Anu Singh will take note of this and will try to improve it. I think the outstanding reviews given by others must be as ancient as this place coz if someone goes as on today to live there, i am sure one would agree with what i have said about the room No. 3 & 4 we got to stay in during 18th and 19th of June, this year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaviom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shilton By Royal Collection Hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Madhuban Highlands
Hotel Madhuban Highlands
#31 of 74 in Mussoorie
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ilbert Manor
Ilbert Manor
#18 of 74 in Mussoorie
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pearl -  A Royal Residency
The Pearl - A Royal Residency
#57 of 74 in Mussoorie
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carltons Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carltons Plaisance

Property: Carltons Plaisance
Address: Happy Valley Road | Near the L.B.S.N.A Academy, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carltons Plaisance 2*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing