We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant & comfortable holiday at Kasmanda Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very pleasant & comfortable holiday at Kasmanda Palace”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I visited Queen of hills & stayed at Kasmanda Palace hotel with my family. I really appreciate the really good maintenance of the property. The entire team of staff led by their manager are extremely courteous. Rooms on first floor in the main building are spacious & offer a beautiful scene view of the doon valley. Food is pretty good, although there could be more variety in menu, the day buffet is not laid.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor facing valley are better than garden facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKMEHRA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are happy to learn about your experience. Your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    109
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
153
67
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NEW DLEHI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed at Kasmanda Palace yet again after a gap of appox 4 years and must compliment that the Property look and feel is surprisingly improved ! The star of the place is the Warm and Friendly team ably guided by GM Mr Somnath ! We found the team to be always smiling be it food and beverages , Reception or the cab driver who would tirelessly bring guests up and down cheerfully. Must compliment Mr Somnath for managing the property and the team ! Look forward to be back soon ! Thanks for a wonderfull holiday! cheers

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChandhokN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are happy to learn about your experience and that this was your second visit and stay with us. Your compliments about the upkeep of the property and the entire team have been conveyed to everyone.

It is our continuous endeavor to keep improving our property and every year one can find further improvements in the property.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Please do spread the good word about our property as it is a hidden jewel of Mussoorie !!

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Kasmanda@vsnl.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

this is a charming property, full of character, ambience and great location..it has the potential to be a truly exclusive place as it has old world charm, excellent staff, and good pricing. the grounds are beautiful with very nice gardens and flowers in full bloom. The ever smiling and helpful staff are a bonus!
However, all this loses out to the untrained managerial staff who are clueless about how to deal with guests.This was our experience.
We are a group of 11 friends who decided to stay at Kasmanda hotel based on the excellent reviews on tripadvisor. On arrival, one couple, booked in a deluxe room, was upgraded to a superior room which was an unexpected and very welcome surprise.
However, when we had booked our rooms we were asked to pay the FULL AMOUNT in advance which we did. Later, one member of the group cancelled the booking of one room for one night. She did however use the room for two nights and the third night was cancelled in advance of one week. The hotel manager however denied any knowledge of the cancellation and refused to refund the amount or even a percentage of it.
The geysers in two rooms did not work at all. On the second day, the hotel discovered that the elements in the geysers needed to be replaced. This was done but one geyser still did not work. It is suggested that the hotel must regularly check their geysers for maintenance so that guests are not inconvenienced in any way during their stay. At no time did the management offer to change the rooms until the last day when we were to check out the next morning. It was an afterthought that did not work as we refused to change our rooms then..the result was that guests were bathing in each other's bathrooms so as to access hot water. The hotel did not offer to even provide hot water in buckets to the rooms where the geysers were not working.
The wifi is available only in the dining room. It would be nice if wi-fi is available in the rooms as well. This is a feature in most hotels of Kasmanda's standard world-wide and If Kasmanda wants to be in the same league, it should provide this basic, and now essential, comfort.
The food was good over the weekend but so-so on the Thursday evening when we were also there. The fruit on Friday morning was very little, some papaya and bananas. The food needs to be consistently good and plentiful, not only when there are more guests (such as, over the weekend).
The lounge is kept locked and only opened on request which we found somewhat disconcerting..do you not trust your guests?
the manager informed us that he would provide one complimentary bonfire which he did, along with a plate of cheese toast, which we enjoyed. We were invited to another bonfire the next evening which we were by then in no mood to attend.
Overall, we were disappointed with these features of the hotel which are all based on managerial decisions. We were very happy with the staff and left a generous tip in the box at the Reception which we hope will be distributed to them.
We feel that Kasmanda hotel has great potential but will lose out to competition if the managerial staff remain untrained and decisions that are viewed as unfriendly towards guests are repeatedly taken (such as refusing to refund atleast a portion of an already cancelled room, not providing hot water immediately, not offering to change the room immediately, keeping the lounge locked, providing inadequate fruit or so-so food on weekdays, etc.)..
Despite all this, as we were a group on a reunion trip, we loved being together and enjoyed the grounds of the hotel, the excellent service, and quiet time together..Thank you Kasmanda for providing this! But you could do better....

Room Tip: the rooms on the first floor have good views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeenakshiT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

There certainly has been a misunderstanding on your part in regard to most of your concerns we feel and a bit of injustice done to our property.

We would take all your concerns point wise in different paragraphs and address them.

There were 03 Deluxe rooms which were booked by your group and all three room had been upgraded to the next category which was the Superior category as a good gesture towards your group. However out of those three rooms 01 room we are told was cancelled 3 days before check in, and another room wanted not the Superior Room but the Royal room and hence there was a charge for the further upgrade which that particular person wanted. However that upgrade charge was adjusted against the room that did not come but was paid for. So in no way have we overcharged you or wrongly charged you.

Please note that all hotel have a cancellation policy and as per the cancellation policy if a room is canceled or a night’s stay cancelled at the last moment there is no refund, in most hotels and ours also. Please do keep in mind that your group was staying on a weekend and we had other guests checking in and out which you may have noticed and that in the hotel your group was not the only guests staying with us. However, we still adjusted all payments in your extra F&B charges/ orders. There was one Royal room which had three guests staying in that room with an extra bed and that particular third person shifted to the Royal room which was vacated 01 night early and hence it was also occupied. However the extra bed which was not used on the third night in the Royal room was adjusted in the extra F&B by your guests. Once again the hotel did not charge anything extra and tried to adjust all such payments without your saying anything, as we are here to make all guests stay as comfortable as possible. We are here not to cheat any guests. In a way we have refunded all room and or room nights not used, by going against our cancellation policy as a special case as you all belong to Welham Girls School and all the owners of this property are Doscos.

Being a heritage property and we also try to be eco friendly and hence we have individual geysers in each bedroom room, to save on electricity and water. It is very unfortunate that 02 geyser had an issue out of which 01 was rectified immediately however the other one took longer. However we did offer to shift the room but since the guest staying in that room had unpacked they did not want to shift rooms and were using the other room which a friend had, just for bathing. All the rooms which you had are being continuously being used and the last weekend itself we were all sold out and had no issues, but electrical faults can occur at any time. Our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Our property is over 150 years old and has walls which are 3 feet and thicker with no cement as in these days there were no cement and lime was mostly used. Due to the thickness of the walls, wi fi cannot be provided in the bedrooms and hence we have wifi in the restaurant, lounge and the outside look out point only, which are all on one side of the building. These are some challenges which all heritage building face. We also encourage guests visiting us to enjoy the outdoor rather than be locked in their rooms which they can do in any place. The beauty of the hills and our property is the outdoors and enjoying every bit of it.

Yes the lounge has timings as we do not allow guests to having their major meals like breakfast, lunch and dinner there, due to which it is kept locked during those times and open otherwise, but yes timings do apply to the Lounge and it is also written there and if a guest wants to use the Lounge during the major meal timings but not dine there, we do open the Lounge as mentioned by you. Please also note that our property is unique as it’s a living museum one is living in with priceless things everywhere, due to which we do need to preserve it and hence certain restrictions have to be put so that even future generation and enjoy it and not just a particular guest staying with us. We hope you will understand our concern.

Thank you for pointing out that the buffet was not as good as the weekend as we will definitely check the buffet menu which are with the chef and look into it. Regardless of the guests or rooms the menu is a standard menu and we will definitely look into it and change certain dishes which may not have been that good or appealing on Thursday. The quantity of the fruits issue will also be looked into and we feel the wait staff may not have refilled the fruit basket as there were some fruits in it already however with your suggestion we will make sure that the basket is always full in future.

We personally think that there has been a lot of misunderstanding on your group’s part in regard to various issues and specially the payments and refunds, which are very serious issues which you have wrongly written about our property. We would suggest that you please speak to our GM and or if anyone coming to Mussoorie, if they can visit us and we will show you the entire payment breakup and that we have adjusted all charges of room not taken for 03 nights, extra bed etc. Only thing we have charged you is the 3 rd night for the Royal room as 01 guest of your stayed in that room and their extra bed charges of the other room once again we have adjusted against your extra F&B bills.

One of our owner’s Mr. D. P. Singh, met Mrs. Sita Natrajan a couple of times during her stay with us and also after checking out and she did not mention anything to him. I wish she had raised any such issues and we would have explained it there and then and then long incorrect review would not have been posted.

However we once again regret any misunderstanding and inconvenience caused to your and your group.

Warm Regards

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Kasmanda@vsnl.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Kasmanda Palace has a lovely location pretty high above the Mall with a beautiful view of the Valley. The rooms as befitting a palace are large, roomy and nice. The staff was very warm and welcoming and helpful. The food was the usual buffet nothing exciting or standout, that should be improved as also the breakfast buffet. It is a fairly expensive place so we do expect better food as part of the package. Unfortunately not all rooms are valley facing and that does sometimes create unfortunate situations as that which happened with us as also another guest who too was heard complaining that he had been specifically assured a valley facing room. We too had been assured that but what we were given had an apology of a view. In a corner with a sliver of the valley visible, the view was mostly of a sintex water tank and outdoor units of air conditioners. On our bringing this to their notice they did shift us to another room which had a wonderful view. But then obviously there is something missing in the management if this happens. Does leave a bad taste in the mouth right at the beginning of the holiday. Having said that, the property is beautiful with extensive lawns and beautiful sit outs and lots of floweres.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulupatnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are happy and a bit disappointed to learn about your experience. Your compliments about the upkeep of the property and staff have been conveyed to the hotel team.

We are happy to read your suggestions which we always look forward to and treat them as positive criticism so that we can further improve our property and the services. It is our tradition and or our policy to keep improving our property and it is with the help of valuable feedback like yours that we can do so.

A lot of guests choose to book online and via travel agents and that is where at times issues do occur as they do not explain to the guests the room categories and what they offer, as in services and or views too. In recent times we have noticed this and a lot of times guests wrongly blame the hotel where as the fault is of the online portals or travel agents. I would strongly request all guests to kindly book directly with the hotel. It is not possible to have all rooms valley facing and based on which they are also classified into different categories. It is very unfortunate to hear about your first experience and our apologies. We will definitely try to look into the matter and see that in future all details our clearly given to guests booking regardless of the source of book.

Our buffet dinner and breakfast is a very regular and typical as per other hotel also. However may we request you to kindly once again email us your suggestions as to what you would have liked or what we should further do so that we can once again improve ourselves with genuine feedback like yours.

We do have a new General Manager and since he has just joint, may be there are certain issues which he is not being able to address, but we will look into it personally and see that everything is managed smoothly in future.

It is our continuous endeavor to keep improving our property as mentioned earlier also. We would request you, once again to kindly do email us your suggestions in regard to what improvements you suggest. My email is mentioned below.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Kasmanda@vsnl.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

stayed with family in royal room of the main old building from 10th to 14 th april 2014 ..............a true heritage property build in 1843 and even today looks new and perfect rooms are big and well decorated bathrooms need improvement's .The best part of the hotel is there food which has exceptional taste's as true home made food . hotel has a big garden in which every day they have bone fire in evening ..............nothing to complain nice and perfect stay

Room Tip: room on 1 st floor in main section
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOEL_S_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are happy to learn about your experience. Your compliments about the upkeep of the property and the food has been conveyed to the hotel team.

It is our continuous endeavor to keep improving our property. Please do email us your suggestions in regard to what improvements you suggest for the bathrooms. My email is mentioned below.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Kasmanda@vsnl.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Old wing is better than the new one.The old wing is a heritage property and well maintained .Excellent food and hospitality .Pick and drop service is available from the hotel to the market.The staff is very cooperative .

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PUNEET_JAIN332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to learn about your experience and your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Please do spread the good word about our property so that this hidden jewel of Mussoorie can be enjoyed by many more guests.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Built in 1836 by Captain Rennie Tailour of the Bengal Engineers, this magnificent building became of the summer retreat for the royal family of Kasmanda in 1915. This hotel is truly a hidden gem amidst the plethora of hotels, resorts and B&Bs at Mussoorie. Right from our arrival till our departure, we were treated like guests of a royal family. The staff is superly courteous and take a personal note of the guests' whims and wishes. Each and every member of the staff, from the driver of the shuttle service to the Mall Road, to the restaurant staff, took great care of our stay.

The hotel is full of age old artifacts, photographs and tons of history from the days gone by that are truly a historian's delight. The moment you enter the hotel, the grand staircase and the ambiance literally transports you back to the days of royalty. Being aptly situated on the Mall Road, and yet away from the rush, the hotel is bound to leave you in awe. It is best you park your car at the hotel and utilize the free shuttle service that they provide to and fro the Mall Road. This is extremely convenient considering the elevated location of the hotel can be a challenge for most city dwellers to walk up to.

The Magnolia restaurant features great food and a great staff. The food is homely and conveniently priced. The Belvedere Lounge is awe inspiring with photographs, trophies and newspaper cuttings from the days gone by. The hotel also has an awesome garden that can host bonfire parties in the evening.

I cannot stress enough on the excellent service that this hotel offers. The next time you're in Mussoorie, stay at the Kasmanda Palace. It is truly a hidden gem at Mussoorie with impeccable service standards, facilities and staff ! It gets out 5 out of 5 !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sachin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out and writing such a warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are extremely happy to read your review. Your compliments about everything has been conveyed to the entire hotel team and we would once again like to thank you for appreciating all the work and time we all have put into the property and continue to do so. Being such an old building it is not easy maintaining it and running it, but reviews like yours makes us continue doing what we do at Kasmanda Palace.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon ! Please do spread the good word about our property so that more like minded guests can enjoy this hidden jewel of Mussoorie.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.4 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
557 reviews
2.0 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
1.2 mi away
The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie
0.9 mi away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace

Property: WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace
Address: The Mall Road, Library, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly Heritage Property & Hidden Jewel of Mussoorie. The present Kasmanda Palace Hotel has been through many Avatars since it was constructed around 1836.Originally built as part of the Christ Church around 1836 it has been a Sanitarium for the British soldiers during the Crimean War (1853 – 1856), A school, known as "The Modern School" (1896 – 1910), the Summer Residence of the Royal Family of Kasmanda and finally it was converted into a Heritage Hotel (1992 - ). Kasmanda Palace is a perfect place to stay and spend quality time with loved ones while enjoying the beautiful outdoors which the hotel has to offer, terraced gardens, exotic trees & plants and the great Doon Valley views. Kasmanda Palace is ideally located in the center of the town, yet away from the noise of the Mall Road. If it gets too quite for you then the busy Mall Road is just a 2 minute walk away or take the hotel courtesy car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcomheritage Kasmanda Palace Hotel Mussoorie
Welcomheritage Kasmanda Palace Mussoorie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing