We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was our first visit to Mussoorie and we had booked our rooms at Kasmanda Palace courtesy American Express Vouchers, redeemed against my Gold Card Points.

Though all the earlier reviews about this Hotel were good but you always wait to experience it yourself before giving a verdict.

I would say our visit to Mussoorie would have been incomplete, had we not stayed at Kasmanda Palace. Well appointed rooms, most courteous staff, good access from Mall Road, the food was extraordinarily tasty.

My choice of stay during my next visit to Mussoorie. Only suggestion to the hotel would be to give Wi-fi access across all the rooms which in todays time is a very basic feature available in most of the hotels.

Room Tip: We didnt get the rooms with the view of the Doon Valley but travellers should try to get these rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SidsKaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out the time and writing such a warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to learn about your experience. Your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team.

Thank you for your suggestion about the wifi in the guest bedrooms, but unfortunately being a heritage building our wall our atleast 3 feet thick and hence wifi cannot be offered in the bedrooms. However we have wifi in the Belvedere Lounge next to the restaurant and also in the outside sit out area.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 323 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

I selected this property through extensive search on the web. I travelled with my family from New Delhi by Shatabdi to Dehradun during July 2013 and hired a cab to Mussoorie. The weather was very bad and it was raining continuously. We spent the maximum time indoors of Kasmanda Palace.The staff and the service is good and also the food.

Room Tip: Book the room in the first floor which has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sribhandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to learn about your experience even though it was raining and you could not enjoy the outdoors and our gardens. Your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon ! Please do spread the good word about our property which is a hidden jewel of Mussoorie. Thank you.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I went there with my husband during this winter, for one night only. But, I will always remember the stay as the hospitality was really great and one cannot just leave the place without loving the backside garden of the palace.
As it was off season we were only boarder for that night, but still the staffs provided us all facilities. Food was really great.
Only thing that offended us a bit was , we could not stay at the main palace rooms , we stayed at a n annex building, Though it was equally good, but it would have been great to stay at the main building.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to learn about your experience and your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team.

The Palace wing being a very old building is generally put under maintenance during winter months and may be during your stay with us some maintenance work was being carried out or planned due to which we did not want you to be disturbed in any way and hence the cottage wing rooms may have been offered to you. May be this is a good opportunity to visit us again and this time stay in the Palace rooms :-) .

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Please do spread the good word about our property so that this hidden jewel of Mussoorie can be enjoyed by many more guests.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

An Excellent Palace to relax after hectic hustle bustle of city life. Top on the mountains with lush gardens and nice view of the valley.

A quite place which I was looking to spent some time with my Family, Kasmanda Palace was a perfect fit. Drove in my car from Delhi and parked at hotel (entry of private vehicles are allowed on mall road till 4PM), so getting up there was not a problem.

We enjoyed our stay and were meted with "Royal Treatment" by the Palace Hotel staff.

Breakfast on the terrace was awesome
Service and staff were nice, courteous and helpful
Food was very good, enjoyed a lot

Room Tip: Kasmanda Palace was wonderful in every way. I would recommend it to almost everyone. Breakfast on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emailabhisheksingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time out and writing such a frank, warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are very happy to learn about your experience and your compliments about our property and great location and we have conveyed it to the entire hotel team.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back if you decide to visit Mussoorie again! Please do spread the good word about our property so that this hidden jewel of Mussoorie can be enjoyed by many more guests.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Kasmanda@vsnl.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

we stayed there for two nights in the summer peak season. I was staying at Holiday Inn and usually go for a long morning walk. During one of the walks I came to see a Gem hidden on the mall road... what a beautiful property left us speechless.... We checked out the next day and stayed in this marvelous property.....
1) The rooms were big with all the antiquity still remaining.
2) We had a quality sleep...
3) The lush green garden was beautiful.... generally in Hill hotels you don't have the luxury of lawns.. Kids enjoyed like anything..
4) Food was good and so was the service...
5) Away from hustle and bustle, still on the mall road..
6) Just remember one thing intimate the hotel about your arrival so that they can arrange for your pick up and drop as the road to palace is very steep...
7) All the pictures of old glorious era and portraits were displayed all over the palace.... what a great period it has witnessed.....
8) Will definitely recommend the families visiting Queen of Hills Massourie.....

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank anuj729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time out and writing such a frank, warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are extremely happy to learn about your experience and your compliments about the entire property.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back if you decide to visit Mussoorie again! Please do spread the good word about our property so that this hidden jewel of Mussoorie can be enjoyed by many more guests.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Kasmanda@vsnl.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

A big place in middle of mussorie .. It is a huge place with fantastic lawn..excellent views and good amount of sun ..
Two points to notice:
1. take rooms where u get the sun. Otherwise in winters, these rooms are just too cold
2. We took a cab to mussorie and they r not allowed on the mall road. Where u get off is at least 300 metres walk from where the hotel car picks u up from.. That 300 metres, with luggage, in a bazaar is just a pain!!hotel shd do something about this drawback!
Other then that, good food, right on mall, the lawn, service.. They r very good!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amitanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time out and writing such a frank, warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are very happy to learn about your experience and your compliments about the upkeep, service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team.

Both your points are very valid.

Yes this property has been the a summer residence of the Royal family of Kasmanda for a 100 years and it is for summer basically, due to which the base category room called the Double Deluxe can get a bit cold at times although we have oil radiators and pillar rod heaters in them. We however always recommend the Superior and Royal category rooms as all of them have Hot & Cold Air Conditioners which are very good and heat the rooms very well. We hope that in the coming year we would install the hot and cold air conditioners in the Double Deluxe rooms too.

In regard to the cars not being allowed on the Mall Road, there is a timing which has been there from the British time, due to which anyone driving up after 4pm, cannot enter the Mall Road till 10pm with their car. This policy can at times be very annoying although there are porters and rickshaws available to ferry people on the Mall Road. I can understand the inconvenience, specially with luggage. We will now make sure that all guests are informed about this government rule when making their reservation and we will also provide them with a number to call when reaching Mussoorie so that our hotel staff can greet them at the Mall Road itself and escort guests to the hotel car and if required, do the needful in arranging for a porter and a rickshaw.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back if you decide to visit Mussoorie again! Please do spread the good word about our property so that this hidden jewel of Mussoorie can be enjoyed by many more guests.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Kasmanda@vsnl.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our stay at Kasmanda Palace was wonderful in every way. I would recommend it to almost everyone - except (please read though)
Pros
1. Right on Mall Road.
2. On a height so views are picturesque
3. Service and staff are courteous as well and the service is very good
4. Rooms are large, have a high ceiling; are adorned in a palatial way - the Palace feel is well preserved
5. Food is not lip smackingly good but very good nevertheless. Range of choices on the menu is sufficiently large
6. Breakfast is sufficient and tastes goof. Service is quick.
Cons
1. On Mall Road - So if you dont come in your own car, there is no entry for your vehicle during the day. Even if you have aged members. Even if you have a self driven car. Annoying.
2. On a Height - And the incline on the road that connects Mall road to the hotel is significant almost 60 degrees and the distance is about 1km. Not for most people - forget aged. Anyone not supremely fit will not make it up. And even if you do, you will huff and puff for the next 20 mins. The bright side is that there is a free car pickup and drop qll through the day. Just need a call to the front desk. Very essential and life-saving.
3. If the weather is a little rainy - forget about bonfire. The wood gets soggy. Charges are anyway a little high - Rs 800 for a session.
4. If you choose the deluxe rooms on the ground floor, the windows open into the driveway. Even if the curtains have a small partition, everything is visible outside. Privacy is lost.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floor deluxe rooms, privacy is a concern on the ground floor room. The superior ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PuneetSaxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time out and writing such a frank, warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel. We specially appreciate the way you have written it too.

We are very happy to learn about your experience and your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team.

We do realise that there are certain issued that guests in general face and try to resolve it in whichever way possible, like in the courtesy car pick up and drop service from the Mall Road to the hotel. However certain issues as the Mall Road closing is not in our hand and we do realise it can be annoying when driving a long distance and we try to inform guest in advance about it. In the coming months we are also trying to arrange for a hotel representative to meet guest at the Mall Road barrier and arrange for a rickshaw when cars are not allowed on the Mall Road and hope it would be of help to guests.

We generally recommend the Superior and Royal rooms to guests as the Deluxe category is the base category room and the issue of windows opening towards public areas has been a concern of many guests. Once again we are hopeful that in the coming months we will be able to put some sort of green flowering plants outside as a screen.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back if you decide to visit Mussoorie again! Please do spread the good word about our property so that this hidden jewel of Mussoorie can be enjoyed by many more guests.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Kasmanda@vsnl.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.4 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#2 of 77 in Mussoorie
806 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#4 of 77 in Mussoorie
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#7 of 77 in Mussoorie
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
2 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#10 of 77 in Mussoorie
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace

Address: The Mall Road, Library, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mussoorie
Price Range: $55 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly Heritage Property & Hidden Jewel of Mussoorie. The present Kasmanda Palace Hotel has been through many Avatars since it was constructed around 1836.Originally built as part of the Christ Church around 1836 it has been a Sanitarium for the British soldiers during the Crimean War (1853 – 1856), A school, known as "The Modern School" (1896 – 1910), the Summer Residence of the Royal Family of Kasmanda and finally it was converted into a Heritage Hotel (1992 - ). Kasmanda Palace is a perfect place to stay and spend quality time with loved ones while enjoying the beautiful outdoors which the hotel has to offer, terraced gardens, exotic trees & plants and the great Doon Valley views. Kasmanda Palace is ideally located in the center of the town, yet away from the noise of the Mall Road. If it gets too quite for you then the busy Mall Road is just a 2 minute walk away or take the hotel courtesy car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcomheritage Kasmanda Palace Hotel Mussoorie
Welcomheritage Kasmanda Palace Mussoorie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing