We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable 2 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We enjoyed 2 nights in Mussoorie. The Mall road has vehicle restrictions in place so we are met by a hotel car & we are ferried to the reception area. The hotel retains the features & charms of an old building. Our room is huge with a massive bathroom, a separate store/dressing room & a large bedroom/sitting area with 2 windows providing superb valley views. There is air con and an oldish TV. The included wifi can only be accessed in the dining area. The corridors are adorned with photos/prints of old leaders/maharajahs. There are various mounted game animals on display but some staff seem concerned with us photographing these. The dining room provides Indian/European options & comes well recommended on the net-our included breakfast has Indian/Continental options, with eggs any way, juice, toast, corn flakes, fruit etc. The lunches & dinners also offer options & we enjoy good service & nice food. In room dining is available.
The door locking is a process & follows the pattern that has been at all the hotels so far (certainly requires 2 hands & glasses on for me). Hot water bottles are provided each night & a complimentary newspaper was provided each morning

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJBAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time out and writing such a frank, warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are very happy to learn about your experience and your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team.

Yes the TVs are now becoming a bit old and obsolete with technology changing so rapidly, but you would be happy to know that we are now in the process of installing 32” LED TVs in our guest bedrooms and some are being installed this very moment. A number of guests have pointed out to us the door locking process as we have retained the old doors and locking system as it used to be, but again we do realize it can be quite a task and we hope in the coming months we can replace that too. If there are any other suggestions, please do write to us, as its valuable suggestions from guest like you which can help us further improve our property and services. We cannot thank you enough for your valuable suggestions.

As a hotel policy we do not allow anyone to photograph our old pictures as it came to our attention that some people were misusing them. These are very valuable to us as they are our family pictures showing generations of the Kasmanda Royal family. I do hope you understand why we are very protective about them.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back if you decide to visit India and Mussoorie again! Please do spread the good word about our property so that this hidden jewel of Mussoorie can be enjoyed by many more guests.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Kasmanda@vsnl.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 326 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

What can I say about this property. It is a well maintained palace which allowed us to spend a couple of nights. The service, the food and the ambiance all of it was beautiful. The staircase is a mark of this property. I felt almost like a prince walking down the aisle.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanket_medhekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to learn about your experience and your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team. We try are level best to treat all our guests as our personal guests, rather than just hotel guests. It makes us very happy to hear from guest like yourself that you too felt special and like a personal guest.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Please do spread the good word about our property so that this hidden jewel of Mussoorie can be enjoyed by many more guests.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We loved the Hotel with its old world charm and history . The staff was excellent ,more so the waiters and steward. The receptionist looked a little grumpy initially but was courteous for the rest of our stay . We had booked a standard room but were upgraded to a superior room . Well decorated , the room was comfortable and spacious. The garden is well kept and I photographed a variety of flowers. The viewing deck is the best place to have breakfast which was good and substantial . The dinner was good too. On the downside , the TV remote was not working which means minute details are not looked into . The drive is steep to the hotel which makes it difficult for drivers not used to the hills. However the courtesy car is of big help in ferrying guests. The Hotel is well located and you can spend a lot of time in the property without going out into the town . Our stay was wellworth

Room Tip: Take a room facing the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kakati_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to learn about your experience and your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team.
Thank you for pointing out that the TV remote was not working. Our apologies for the inconvenience caused. We will definitely try harder so that each and every minute detail is well taken care off and looked into.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Please do spread the good word about our property so that this hidden jewel of Mussoorie can be enjoyed by many more guests.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Excellent Heritage property with a great view of the entire Doon vally,Very well maintained and very professionally managed but with lot of personal warmeth. To top it all it has very convenient and great location.
Resturant have good ambience and food was just excellent.
Room decor took us deep in the history make us feel Royal.
In last 18 years I stayed in many location and remember very few of them but this will in my memory possibly for ever.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sijain56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are extremely happy and delighted to learn about your experience and that it was a very memorable holiday. Your compliments about the maintenance, service and the food have been conveyed to the entire hotel team.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Please do spread the good word about our property so that this hidden jewel of Mussoorie can be enjoyed by many more guests.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

A great place to stay or visit when you are in Mussoorie. I stayed here with my family and booked 3 standard rooms. You can see old pictures in the corridors or in the lounge. The piano and old radio was well kept. The staff is really good and do their best while serving you. The veg food was also good. The lawn area and the view from the observatory deck was fabulous.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajeshlatura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to learn about your experience and your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Please do spread the good word about our property so that this hidden jewel of Mussoorie can be enjoyed by many more guests.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We drove on 29th of oct from Nainital to Mussoorie and reached at this hotel at 10.30 PM to Mussoorie. We couldn't find the hotel so I googled the address on maps. But it took us to wrong place. So I called to Hotel and asked for the direction. When we reached to the mall road entry, we found that there is Rs. 100 entry fee each time you enter with a vehicle on this road even at late night. We paid it and entered the Mall road and followed the hotel car to the entry ramp of the hotel. It was so narrow and steep that our temp traveller can not enter it and climb to the porch area. It was 300 meters steep walk so we cant climb. The hotel car (Small Wagon R) made three trips to take us and our baggages to the reception lobby. There was no parking on Mall road so i have to send our vehicle back to the parking lot (4 KM away from the hotel). The kitchen was closed by the time we reached so no food available (not even sandwich or anything). I was surprised by this because hotels of welcome group always have 24/7 room service or coffee shops to cater the food/snacks to the guests. The next day morning was Beautiful and the view from the observation deck of the hotel was breath taking. The tables were arranged for breakfast on this deck. We had our breakfast. it was amazing. The quality of food was mind blowing. The staff was very polite and enthusiastic. The bonfire was chargeable (Rs. 2000). No other activities offered for free. The rooms were good but there was no enough water pressure to take the shower. We have to use the bucket and tumbler to take our bath. The Ac cum heater was very efficient. The rooms were clean and new as we got it in new wing. the bath rooms were poorly stocked with shampoo. (Small quantity for even one person) SO we have to request for more. The coffee sachets were insufficient though they provided plenty upon request. The starters quality was very good but the Dinner quality was average (Except Palak Daal). Overall I give 50% to this property. I will definitely try another property if I come again to Mussoorie.

Room Tip: Ask for the Ground floor room so you get sit out areas and enough water pressure for showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay17161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are disappointed to hear that we did not measure up to some of your expectations, although you seem to have had an over all nice holiday and stay with us. You had initially checked in for 01 night but then extended it to 02 nights. This shows that you were in general happy with our property and services provided.

As per our initial investigation we have found that you had not made any prior confirmed reservations with us, which is done by taking the full advance payment from the guest before check in. You had inquired about the current special packages being offered but since a confirmed reservation was not made, the hotel did not know if you would check in or not. A lot of guests make last moment reservations on the phone and don’t turn up and hence it makes it very difficult for us to know if the guest is really serious or not. Generally guests call up and inform the hotel in case they are getting late and if they would be dining with us or not. Since you had not reached till 10.30 pm, the hotel took it that you would not be checking in and the kitchen was closed.

Please note we have a tie-up with Welcom Group, but we are not a 4 or 5 star hotel with over 50 room keys. We are a heritage property with 24 rooms only and due to which we are unable to have a 24 hr coffee shop or room service, plus our room charges are far less than any normal Welcom Group Hotel and hence in my personal view it would not be right to compare us to any star category hotel, although we try to offer all facilities at a fraction of the cost, such as hot and cold air conditioning etc. You were offered a discounted package with breakfast and hence it was a very good value for money option in my personal views, however I see that you did not find it so.

I would also like to correct you as to the hotel ramp you are mentioning. It’s the public/ government road coming up to our property and not our personal road. It is not really that narrow as you may have imagined it. Yes the road in the hills can be quite steep and we have a courtesy car and driver to assist our guests and thank you for appreciating the service in your feedback.

If you visit our Facebook page you can see pictures of a Vintage Car Rally which came all the way from the United Kingdoms and all their cars came up to the hotel. These cars were over 50 years old and some of them were really big and old Rolls-Royces and Bentleys. I am sure your driver and taxi was not in the best of condition for the hills and hence was unable to climb up.

Sir, I am sure you would be seeing how everything is becoming expensive and so is fire wood and hence it’s not possible for us to offer free bonfire to guests, although we would love to be as hospitable to our guests as possible and as mentioned in your feedback too, our staff and services were very good. At the end of the day we too have bill to pay and need to charge for anything extra which a guest may ask for. We do have some activities which are for free such as Badminton and some board games in the lounge.

We are a bit confused regarding your comment regarding the food as you have first mentioned that the food was “mind blowing” but then later mentioned that the mains except for the Dal was not upto the mark. Your dinner order mostly consisted of snacks and hardly any main. However we are looking into it and will try to further improve the F&B at our property to meet your expectations.

Thank you for pointing out the water pressure issue and we will definitely try to improve it as soon as possible. In regard to the toiletries, again it is as per the standards of Welcom Group (WelcomHeritage) and once again we will bring your suggestion to the attention of the Welcom Group.

We hope you would visit us again and this time make a confirmed booking directly with the hotel so that we know which time you would be checking in and take the best possible care of you, like we do for all our guests.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
kasmanda@vsnl.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Steep climb upto the front door but i enjoyed the exercise. The location is good for the Library end of Mussoorrie.

The booking was easily done on Agoda and I was offered a free upgrade. The hotel and room decor is really good with period furnishings.The food in the restaurant was tasty, well presented and there was a wide selection.

The front desk and room service was excellent. Well done to the management and staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south give a nice view of the Doon valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoxyFoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to learn about your experience and that it was a very memorable holiday. Your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team.

We do have a courtesy car for all our guests and one can avail this service free of charge from the Mall Road to the Hotel. Please do use this service on your next visit as the climb up is quite steep, unless one wants to test their fitness levels.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Please do spread the good word about our property so that this hidden jewel of Mussoorie can be enjoyed by many more guests.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.4 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#2 of 77 in Mussoorie
855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#6 of 77 in Mussoorie
592 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#5 of 77 in Mussoorie
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
2 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#10 of 77 in Mussoorie
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace

Address: The Mall Road, Library, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mussoorie
Price Range: $102 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly Heritage Property & Hidden Jewel of Mussoorie. The present Kasmanda Palace Hotel has been through many Avatars since it was constructed around 1836.Originally built as part of the Christ Church around 1836 it has been a Sanitarium for the British soldiers during the Crimean War (1853 – 1856), A school, known as "The Modern School" (1896 – 1910), the Summer Residence of the Royal Family of Kasmanda and finally it was converted into a Heritage Hotel (1992 - ). Kasmanda Palace is a perfect place to stay and spend quality time with loved ones while enjoying the beautiful outdoors which the hotel has to offer, terraced gardens, exotic trees & plants and the great Doon Valley views. Kasmanda Palace is ideally located in the center of the town, yet away from the noise of the Mall Road. If it gets too quite for you then the busy Mall Road is just a 2 minute walk away or take the hotel courtesy car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcomheritage Kasmanda Palace Hotel Mussoorie
Welcomheritage Kasmanda Palace Mussoorie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing