We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well maintained, great service and fantastic decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“well maintained, great service and fantastic decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Steep climb upto the front door but i enjoyed the exercise. The location is good for the Library end of Mussoorrie.

The booking was easily done on Agoda and I was offered a free upgrade. The hotel and room decor is really good with period furnishings.The food in the restaurant was tasty, well presented and there was a wide selection.

The front desk and room service was excellent. Well done to the management and staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south give a nice view of the Doon valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alwyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to learn about your experience and that it was a very memorable holiday. Your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team.

We do have a courtesy car for all our guests and one can avail this service free of charge from the Mall Road to the Hotel. Please do use this service on your next visit as the climb up is quite steep, unless one wants to test their fitness levels.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Please do spread the good word about our property so that this hidden jewel of Mussoorie can be enjoyed by many more guests.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    101
    25
    5
    7
See reviews for
141
62
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

An unplanned trip become the most memorable trip of the life...Thanks to the wonderful staff, great location, beautiful property and supported by lovely weather.I had gone for work to Dehradun with family and last minute decided to visit Mussoorie and booked this lovely hotel on phone.Though their were lot of hotel options but I liked the photos posted by the people on the net and decided to stay here.Thankfully my decision was right...family loved it.The heritage hotel is nicely maintained with evidence of history placed on every wall.Staff was very helpful..they prepared dishes according to our liking.Ideally located...just on the mall road. They provided a car to pick up and drop to the mall road. The weather was fantastic with clouds all over the place...on the hotel balcony, in the room...felt like in heaven.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckswatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to learn about your experience and that it was a very memorable holiday. Your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Please do spread the good word about our property so that this hidden jewel of Mussoorie can be enjoyed by many more guests.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel website said that it has free parking. Well, it is only for self-driven cars. Most of the tourists when holidaying prefer to take taxis and those are not allowed in the mall road. The hotel deliberately gave incomplete information on thei website. When we called up the hotel on reaching the mall road (my mom who is a senior citizen was with us), the lady at the reception asked us to take a rick or walk down. The porters at mall road told us that there is a hotel shuttle service!
The hotel claims to have free Internet...in reality the restaurant provides very unstable wifi.
Rooms are good but the TV is really bad and the room telephone (intercom) does not work.
The other hotel staff (except the lady at he reception) were polite and helpful. Food was good. Rest all fine

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SHM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that we did not measure up to some of your expectations, although you seem to have had an over all nice holiday and stay with us.

It seems that there have been understandings in a couple of things/ issues.

Yes we do have free parking for guests to park their cars at the hotel and it’s a secure parking as we have 24 hr security too. Private cars are allowed on the Mall Road after making a permit, where as taxi’s are generally not allowed on the Mall Road, but the driver can bring the taxi to the hotel after 10pm when the Mall Road opens for all cars. This is a government and city municipality rule/ law, which has been there from the British times.

There are always exception and as I am writing to you, a guest has just driven up in a Taxi Innova to our property with a yellow number plate. It also depends on the Taxi driver if he can persuade the person stopping cars/ taxis at the barrier on the Mall Road. Or if he just wants to stay outside on his own terms and misleads guests.

If you had visited our website, why did you not make the booking directly with the Hotel? The problem here is that since you did not make the booking directly with the hotel, a lot of information which is standard and is sent to all guests making a reservation directly, was not sent. This information includes how to reach the property, the Mall Road timings etc. It is not possible to mention all these details in length on any website nor will the website look nice if it is full of write ups. It would look more like a document rather than a website. We have given all these details to travel agents and online travel portals and it’s their responsibility to further forward it to guests making a reservation. We have no control over it, except for bringing it to their notice when guests like yourself point it out.

Regarding the shuttle service and Mall Road pick up, once again there has been a misunderstanding. The lady at the front desk informed you when you had called that once you reach the Mall Road/ Library point, kindly call us and we would send the hotel car specially for you as you were travelling with your old parents. Even though our hotel car is not allowed to move on the Mall Road to pick up guests as per the local government law. Once again there seems to be a misunderstanding. Recently another guest has posted a review on our property and he has clearly stated shuttle service available to all guests without any problem.

Yes we do provide free internet/ wifi to our guests in the Lounge area and not really restaurant although the signals are there too. One must keep in mind that when travelling to the hills specially in the monsoons, the telephone line can have disturbances, cell phones at times may not work etc. Similarly the wifi also at times does not work with the same speed etc due to the bad weather and misty rainy weather. I too use the wifi in the hotel and face similar problems when it’s pouring outside or if it is very misty/ foggy.

I agree and apologize for the intercom in your room not working properly and thank you for bringing it to our attention. We have got it rectified. The TV when you mention is bad, do you mean that it was not clear or you were not happy with the TV model. We are in the process of changing all our TVs too, as now LED is the latest and technology changes so quickly.

I wish you had brought all these concerns up while staying with us and our GM or myself would have personally met you. What I find very surprising is that your comment/ feedback cards that you filled and left back at the hotel, praise the hotel and also mention the front office lady’s name in the staff name section, who you found outstanding in regard to service. I have the feedback/ comment cards in front of me while I am writing this reply to you. If you wish I can scan and email you the comment cards filled and left behind by you and or your parents.

We hope you would visit us again and this time make the booking directly with the hotel so that there is no misunderstanding, this time.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Kasmanda@vsnl.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a wonderful time with my wife and kids at this place. My uncle suggested me to stay at Kasmanda Hotel in Mussoorie. Made the reservation directly by calling the Hotel before arrival. Being off-season they offered great price and no charges for Breakfast.
I would recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahullsareen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are happy to know that you had a nice comfortable stay with us.

We always recommend guests to call or email directly to the hotel for reservations, so that they can be informed about any promotional and or special offers being offered during that period. We are happy you did and availed the special offer.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel was booked thru travel sites, the only reason for selection of hotel was the details mentioned at website and the picture of the hotel. Upon arriving Mussorrie , came to know that , the hotel has pick up and drop off facility at Mall road, which is very handy. The staff are homely and trained. (not the exclusively trained in hotel management) but good enough to tender warm flavour of Indian hospitality. The rooms are big enough and place has a good restaurant. The ourdoor sitting arrangement of restaurant provides a wonderful view of valley.
The only improvement required here is the wifi facility at room, though it is available at restaurant but while in holiday its preferred to have all the necessary facility at room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Praveen_K_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to learn about your experience. Your suggestion about wifi in the guest bedrooms has been taken into consideration and we are looking into it. Currently our internal walls are quite thick as its a heritage building, but we will certainly look at the possibilities of installing wifi in the bedrooms too.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

An Excellent Hotel, ideally located with amazing food and wonderful Hospitality.
We stayed in Kasmanda Palace for the first time and can say that whenever we will come back, we will stay here only. The room was spacious and clean with a nice view of the valley. The garden was amazing with lovely trees and flowers. Though the non stop rain played a spoilt sport and we had to stay inside the hotel premises for two days, we didnt seem to mind as the hotel has lots of history and one can spend hours going through all the photographs and not to forget the wonderful food!
A sincere Thanks to the entire staff at Kasmanda Palace for taking such wonderful care of us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sameer28seth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for appreciating our heritage property and the gardens and lawns that we have maintained to the best of our ability and resources. Your compliments about the service and food have been conveyed to the entire hotel team.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandigarh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

it was excellent stay there ,,service is excellent ,cleanliness is gud . everything is fine .
i stayed there for 2 days . just improve the menu of ur buffet ,compare with other hotels like jp etc,., please change ur tv sets . rest all gud .please add some games corner for kids ,something like table tennis or badminton court . video games or something ... wifi is not available at all ... plz this is neccessasity these days .. rest all gud ...
luv to come again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kawalpreetsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about Kasmanda Palace.

We really appreciate your frank feedback as it helps us further improve ourselves. We do have a budgetary constraint as compared to a hotel like JP which is a 5 star property and we are a no star category hotel. However we will definitely look into ways of further improving our buffet menu.

We do have badminton at the end of our larger lawns, but we will put more signage so that guests are aware of the badminton court. Table tennis is a good idea too and we will try to see if we can incorporate it too in the coming months. Our Lounge is now operational and you would be happy to know that we have installed wifi there for hotel guests. We are also in the process of changing the televisions in the guest rooms.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.4 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#2 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.0 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Fortune Resort Grace
Fortune Resort Grace
#11 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
0.9 mi away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace

Property: WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace
Address: The Mall Road, Library, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly Heritage Property & Hidden Jewel of Mussoorie. The present Kasmanda Palace Hotel has been through many Avatars since it was constructed around 1836.Originally built as part of the Christ Church around 1836 it has been a Sanitarium for the British soldiers during the Crimean War (1853 – 1856), A school, known as "The Modern School" (1896 – 1910), the Summer Residence of the Royal Family of Kasmanda and finally it was converted into a Heritage Hotel (1992 - ). Kasmanda Palace is a perfect place to stay and spend quality time with loved ones while enjoying the beautiful outdoors which the hotel has to offer, terraced gardens, exotic trees & plants and the great Doon Valley views. Kasmanda Palace is ideally located in the center of the town, yet away from the noise of the Mall Road. If it gets too quite for you then the busy Mall Road is just a 2 minute walk away or take the hotel courtesy car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcomheritage Kasmanda Palace Hotel Mussoorie
Welcomheritage Kasmanda Palace Mussoorie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing