We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality at Kasmanda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My nephew and I were doing a 'British Raj' trip to Northern India. We had booked into the Kasmanda Palace because it is a legitimate 'heritage' hotel...lots of history and atmosphere. We certainly were not disappointed. Despite the fact that some renovations were happening (there is a short time frame between the completion of the snow season and the high tourist season) the staff were extremely flexible and accommodating.
The hotel is in a wonderful position with a beautiful view of the plains below and the surrounding mountain chains. There is a peaceful garden to contemplate nature and enjoy a lovely breakfast and staff who cater to your every need. The furnishings have been thoughtfully restored to complement the history of the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mardie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being so understanding and appreciating our heritage property and the gardens and lawns that we have maintained to the best of our ability and resources. Your compliments about the service have been conveyed to the entire hotel team.

We hope you had a pleasant stay in India and hope you would visit us again on your next trip to India.

Warm Regards

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 302 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited Mussoorie in June and stayed at Kasmanda which was recommended by a friend who had stayed there. We had a lovely experience. The hotel is clean, well maintained and set in a beautiful location. They have the most amazing garden and plants which my children thoroughly made use of. The food is good and the restaurant staff are exceptional. We highly recommend the hotel. People of Uttarkhand must be mentioned as the most, honest and hospitable. My son dropped his cell phone in a rented taxi from a taxi stand. We had no contact of the driver or even know his name but through the taxi office they not only located him but we got the phone back in less than an hour after we discovered it was lost!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms which have the mountain views
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Insy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to learn about your experience. Your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

After coming back to Delhi from this property we all in our family feel that we have physically checked out from the hotel on 12/06/13 but we have not mentally checked out yet because of the everlasting pleasant memories of this place which continue to tickle our minds every now and then.

Because of living in Delhi I have been to Mussoorie several times in the past but I had never seen it from such a wide beautiful angle which has been made possible by this property because of its awesome location. I rather appreciate the intellect of the architect and the founder of this location who have put in their best to erect this huge wonderful hill station on a hill station.

I will recommend this property to all those who have got spending capacity but are roaming around to find the real value of their money.

Last but not the least is the food. The chef of the hotel has wonderful art to prepare the best delicacies which we enjoyed and liked to have more and more.

Room Tip: Always prefer "superior room" in the heritage wing and mention it specifically while doing...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pankaj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to learn about your experience. Your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the entire hotel team.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

In spite of the property being very good (with nice garden and all), an dthe location being good (quite near to the mall road, even if the climb is steep) - the facilities and the service were not at all befitting an ITC and a heritage facility.....the people at the reception (especially the lady) seem complete misfit in their roles...not helpful at all...and not even explaining all available facilities unless asked elaborately.......Room was just ok - large but not well kept (no AC, TV of vary bad quality)......

All in all, a great property wasted because of service quality......

Room Tip: Have heard that the new wing rooms are better - make sure to confirm beforehand as they will not acc...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bimal_c_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for feedback on Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We sorry to hear that we did not meet upto your expectations. It may not be right to compare us to typical ITC Hotels, which are starting from 4 Star properties to 5 Star Deluxe Properties and one of the best in the country, as WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace Hotel is a no star rating property and comes under the ITC WelcomHeritage Banner which are heritage properties not built to be hotels and are of no star rating. Hence we personally feel that one cannot compare a star rating property to a non star rating property in regard to facilities etc. We are also not priced as compared to the typical ITC hotel hence once again there is no comparison. Facilities come at a price and we do not charge that high a price and hence cannot provide the 5 star facilities, it seems you were expecting at a fraction of a price, that we charge as compared to ITC 5 star properties.

We hope you will once again stay with us and this time keeping in mind what we are charging and what we are offering at that price.

We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully !

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

While our self driven road trip to Kanatal, we had good 3 nights stay at Kasmanda Palace in Mussourie. It is located at one of the highest points in Mussourie.

Pros

Best location, especially when Mussourie is flooded with people during summer vacation times, this is a great respite to enjoy the queen of hill stations. We had our best time at the open air cafe which was giving awesome view of Mussourie and Dehradun valley. Ambiance was perfect for a royale experience. Kids were amazed by the hunter's trophies (animal heads and skins by expert taxidermist). It has gorgeous interiors, feels like a palace. It has a huge gardens with exotic plantations. We thoroughly enjoyed our times.

Food was just good and tickled out taste buds. Thanks to the Chef.

They offer good up-down car facility to reach the mall road as drive to the palace is a bit difficult and steep. Good service and good driver too.

Cons

The rooms are OK with very basic facilities. They can be better, especially televisions could be LCDs. Windows were not properly netted and were fixed by brown taps by the housekeeping guys to prevent mosquitoes. Mostly no charging points in the room and we were carrying 9 gadgets (mobile phones, laptops, camera, GPS, tablets and iPODs). We had to plan the charging and it was almost full time activity.

Things could be more professional too. We asked for laundry and the guy came with a hand written laundry price list on waste paper. There were no laundry bags. They asked for cash against laundry delivery, which could be done in better way.

Note: I don't know if I have to share this. Our 5 yr old kiddie was going to the open air cafe through the dining area through the connecting door which was followed by the stair case. While the child was going on the stair case, obviously was slow as steps were large, one man was walking behind him, who was probably in rush. He opened the door and did not care about the child and child almost fell down, he did not care and just walked away arrogantly. No sorry, not apologies to the mom of the child waiting for the child to come up. We thought that he must be some guest who did not care. We inquired and found that he was the owner himself. We were shocked for some time and so was the child. We expected some courtesy from him. Anyways, it happens and we have to move on.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enewhorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for appreciating our heritage property and the gardens and lawns that we have maintained to the best of our ability and resources. Your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team and we will try to further improve ourselves.

We have double glazed windows by the famous Finesta windows in our guest bedrooms in the heritage wing. The insect screens are also supplied by Finesta to us however we are now noticing that they are not hardly enough for the hotel industry and are tearing. We are now slowly removing them from all the bedrooms. Once again we are sorry to hear about the tapped screen which should have been removed by the housekeepers rather than putting a tape on it. I can assure you that the next time you visit us you will not find this.

Since our property is an old heritage property and not built to be a hotel hotel, the number of points for charging the gadgets mentioned are less in the room as the points are as per old standards, however with more and more people carrying a lot of gadgets with them on holidays too, it can be an issue and we realize it, and in future, when we refurbish the property, we will definitely keep your valuable suggestion in mind and will increase the number of charging points in the room. We are happy to inform you that in the coming months we are in the process of installing 32 inch LCD TVs in all our guest rooms.

There is a fixed printed laundry price list at the reception and we are amazed by why the housekeeping staff was showing you a hand written paper and asking you for cash at the time of delivery, as all bills are settled at the time of check out, unless instructed by guests, to collect all extra payments directly when and if an extra chargeable service is used by the guest. We will definitely look into it and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

The housekeepers really need to be pulled up and thank you once again for bringing all these issues to our attention. This is the only way we can further improve ourselves.

I am extremely sorry to hear about your child’s experience at the dining room entrance. Actually out of courtesy I tried opening the door for your wife and child, so that it would be easier for them, rather than your wife holding the door with one hand and assisting the child to climb the steps with the other. However since I was behind your wife and the door panel was blocking my vision, I did not realize and see that your child almost fell, in the process of my trying to help them. I sincerely regret it and my sincere apologies. I too have a small child and would never thing of doing anything like this on purpose. It is only after your review that I checked the public area cameras and saw what really happened. May I also request you to kindly convey my sincere apologies to your wife.

We hope you would give us another chance of welcoming you back at Kasmanda Palace, Mussoorie. Kindly do email me at my personal email address, whenever you are planning a trip next, this side, so that I can make sure we offer you a special package and also meet you and your wife and child, in person for a further personal apology.

Best Regards

Dinkar Singh
Kasmanda@vsnl.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

overall excellent stay.

hotel ambience overall, hygiene, food quality and staff behaviour was just too good. you really feel at home with excellent service. though the hotel is situated above mall but it has its advantage being away from hsutle bustle and at a quite place. one can enjoy valley view from this height.

the rear garden is well maintained with greenery all over and you feel close to nature in morning and evening hours.

not to forget the hotel transportation for free pik up and drop at mall.



Room Tip: you can not make it more better
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pbidani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to learn about your experience. Your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the entire hotel team.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The lush green outdoors with play areas, english tea garden and kids activities make this place a really comfortable experience. The afternoon summer spent in the outdoors of the property takes you right back into the arms of nature.
The interiors have a heritage and are well maintained. The buffet gives a good spread and the staff is helpful. This was better than our experience at other properties rated better than Kasmanda. We are definitely coming back again.

The only watch out is waiting for the car when you need to go up to the property from the mall road ( we were unlucky to have some rowdy French residents who decided there was nothing called ladies first or let the child go before them... so we had to wait for 4 turns before we finally managed to get back to the resort )

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RajatLakhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guest

We are delighted to know that you and your entire family enjoyed your time here with us and thank you for appreciating our outdoors and gardens. Its actually rare to find such quite peacefully surroundings in the heart of the city. Thank you for your kind words about our property, it makes us very happy to hear from you. Your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the entire hotel team.

We are sorry to hear about your experience with the courtesy car and the French guests.

We do hope you will visit us again and it would indeed be a pleasure to welcome you and your entire family back at Kasmanda Palace Mussoorie!

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.4 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
645 reviews
2.0 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#8 of 74 in Mussoorie
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
0.4 mi away
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.4 mi away
Fortune Resort Grace
Fortune Resort Grace
#13 of 74 in Mussoorie
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace

Address: The Mall Road, Library, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mussoorie
Price Range: $73 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly Heritage Property & Hidden Jewel of Mussoorie. The present Kasmanda Palace Hotel has been through many Avatars since it was constructed around 1836.Originally built as part of the Christ Church around 1836 it has been a Sanitarium for the British soldiers during the Crimean War (1853 – 1856), A school, known as "The Modern School" (1896 – 1910), the Summer Residence of the Royal Family of Kasmanda and finally it was converted into a Heritage Hotel (1992 - ). Kasmanda Palace is a perfect place to stay and spend quality time with loved ones while enjoying the beautiful outdoors which the hotel has to offer, terraced gardens, exotic trees & plants and the great Doon Valley views. Kasmanda Palace is ideally located in the center of the town, yet away from the noise of the Mall Road. If it gets too quite for you then the busy Mall Road is just a 2 minute walk away or take the hotel courtesy car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcomheritage Kasmanda Palace Hotel Mussoorie
Welcomheritage Kasmanda Palace Mussoorie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing