We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
260 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Pleasant Garden”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had lunch at Kasmanda Palace recently. It was a misty, cloudy day with clouds coming in from the Doon Valley. Very pleasant experience with nicely chilled beer. The garden was redolent with smells of Nargis and Magnolia and there was a magical feel to the afternoon. The food was good too. Onion soup, fried fish and some Indian curry.

A great place for a relaxed lunch on a summer day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debubhatnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time and lunch at Kasmanda Palace. Thank you for appreciating our flowers and we are happy to know that your experience at Kasmanda Palace, although very short, left you feeling relaxed and rejuvenated! I

We hope you have plans to revisit Mussoorie again and this time you would choose to stay with us at Kasmanda Palace and give us the opportunity to make your stay a very comfortable and memorable one !

Dinkar Singh
Owner
Kasmanda@vsnl.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    109
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
153
67
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

One of the best located amongst the lot in its category.Following the present trend amongst regular and avid traveller,the preference today is to stay farther from hill stations(due to obvious reasons like overcrowding and traffic etc.).But with this boutique hotel you can ignore that concern.Large rooms,manicured gardena, nice sit outs,impressive facade,quiet location and ideal proximity to the popular mall road...these are the few parameters,where it scores head on against other equally priced accomodations.
Erstwhile retreat of some prominent(read royally connected family of some region in uttar pradesh...i think 'kasmanda' itself)..whose fascination for hunting is evident from the many trophies( animal heads) adorning the corridors, is now a boutique hotel.
For the price...not bad....give it a try!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teenmusafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to learn about your experience.

You will be pleased to learn that a lounge and activity room is being added to cater to the requirements of our guests.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
kasmanda@vsnl.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Kasmanda Palace is an old princely mansion which is run as a heritage hotel now by WelcomeHeritage and retains oodles of the old world charm which makes it a nice place to stay in Mussoorie. Located at the edge of the mall road, it affords great views of the Doon valley below on a clear night. The major commercial area of the mall is about a 10 minute walk away though you can also get cycle rickshaws if you wish to avoid the walk. The hotel is located up a steep incline which will severely test your leg muscles if you are not used to walking but they also run a free car service until 10 PM which will pick and drop you to the road below so you dont have to exert if you cant.

The main section, which dates back to its days of the royal Kasmanda family is quite old and bears the unmistakeable stamp of the ravages of time. The dated furniture, the old radio, the stuffed game, the portraits adorning the walls all tell the story of an era gone by. There's a modern section too with standard, run of the mill construction and furniture for those who want to be in midst of the new and the old at the same time. They also have well manicured gardens with a variety of trees and flowers which give a verdant tinge to the whole place. On many days such as when we were there, a thick blanket of mist will shroud you in its midst chilling you to the bone and making you instantly reach out for that hot cup of tea or a spot of whisky depending on preference! The food is good and reasonably priced in comparison with other similar places around.

There's also the much more economical Padmini Nivas situated almost directly below Kasmanda so you could get the same views at 40% lesser, especially if you can get one of their better rooms. However, Kasmanda is much classier so choose accordingly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bastaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time here with us and left feeling relaxed and rejuvenated! It is indeed a very unique quality to be so far away from the hustle and bustle of city life and Kasmanda Palace is the ideal location for a tranquil getaway, yet so close to town.


We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
kasmanda@vsnl.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying in this hotel last month and we had most wonderful experience.

this is the best hotel we have ever stayed suitable for kids,old palace but very well managed, every small detail is taken care of,well organised although so many guests.

The bedroom was also very spacious. One small critism was I did not think the bed reading light sufficient (but this was unimportant). There was also a mirror with table and seat (for ladies to do their make up and a dressing area, before arriving at the bathroom.

I highly recomend this hotel, for the rooms, the service and the staff. It is rare to find that they all work together to provide a really good guest experience. Although I like trying different hotels, on my next visit to Mussoorie I will definitely stay at Kasmanda Palace again.

Room Tip: The Royal Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rajiv g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to learn about your experience. Your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team.

You will be pleased to learn that a lounge and activity room is being added to cater to the requirements of our guests.

Thank you for your feedback on the reading light. We will definately look into it and get in replaced.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
kasmanda@vsnl.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in June 2012. Kasmanda Palace is a heritage property located just off the Mall road towards the Library Chowk. Though it is located in the middle of the Mall road, it is perched on top of a beautiful hill, which isolates you from the din below. Make sure that you get a room that overlooks the valley which guarantees spectacular views.

The Hotel is very charming with large wooden staircases, photos and paintings of the royal era, antique furniture, animal skins etc. The food is ok. Ensure that you sit for breakfast at the open porch below the restaurant. Its beautiful. There is a beautiful lawn where you can enjoy the cool breeze and nice views.

The rooms themselves are fine. Nothing spectacular. But they are clean and spacious and the hotel staff take good care of you.

Room Tip: Ensure that you get rooms facing the valley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SandeepCashyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to learn about your experience. Your compliments about the service have been conveyed to the hotel team.

You will be pleased to learn that a lounge and activity room is being added to cater to the requirements of our guests.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the food and we will definately try to improve it further.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
kasmanda@vsnl.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Kasmanda Palace is a very beautiful and heritage resort - something totally unexpected in the busy Mussoorie. The place is above the main road - but they have cabs to get you at the foothill - 1 minute drive, free of charge. It is very close to the market area. The architecture and the rooms rooms remind you of the royal era but the rooms have all modern amenities. Its good fun just to roam around the property. The staff is very friendly. I fell sick when I stayed there and they arranged for a doctor and even got medicines from the market. The food we had was good (although I couldnt have much). I would recommned this to anyone who wants to have some sort of luxury there. It is better experience than the typical 4 to 5 stars there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shikha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time here with us and left feeling relaxed and rejuvenated! It is indeed a very unique quality to be so far away from the hustle and bustle of city life and Kasmanda Palace is the ideal location for a tranquil getaway, yet so close to town.

We are delighted to learn about your experience. Your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team.

You will be pleased to learn that a lounge and activity room is being added to cater to the requirements of our guests.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
kasmanda@vsnl.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

These were even prior to our courtship days, I wanted to surprise Jasmine & took her to Mussourie on Holi. We thanked our stars as we got a First Class Coupe in the train to Dehradun and the following morning, we reached Mussourie in an hour by hiring a cab from there.
Kasmanda Palace is an old world charm; nestle amongst the church, narrow walk-ways, on a hill. We enjoyed the hospitality of WelcomHeritage and loved our room and its incredible view of the mountains. Our gourmet experience at the Palace was also great and we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast at the terrace as the Sun kissed our souls. The Palace’s architecture was Princely and it would occasionally rain during the day, which made a perfect setting for us. We wanted to stay longer but due to duty calls and our train, Shatabdi Express waited to take us back to Delhi; we look forward to returning again to this charming Palace in future.
Highly recommended for holidaymakers who just wanna take a break from the chaos and also experience a Legendary Getaway & Indian Railways too!

Room Tip: All rooms are great....especially the ones in the main block! Hence, negotiate wisely :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AzizShafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasmanda1, Owner at WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Kasmanda Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time here with us and left feeling relaxed and rejuvenated! It is indeed a very unique quality to be so far away from the hustle and bustle of city life and Kasmanda Palace is the ideal location for a tranquil getaway, yet so close to town.

We are delighted to learn about your experience. Your compliments about the service and the food have been conveyed to the hotel team.

You will be pleased to learn that a lounge and activity room is being added to cater to the requirements of our guests.

We thank you for your patronage to Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner
kasmanda@vsnl.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.4 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
557 reviews
2.0 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
1.2 mi away
The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie
0.9 mi away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace

Property: WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace
Address: The Mall Road, Library, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly Heritage Property & Hidden Jewel of Mussoorie. The present Kasmanda Palace Hotel has been through many Avatars since it was constructed around 1836.Originally built as part of the Christ Church around 1836 it has been a Sanitarium for the British soldiers during the Crimean War (1853 – 1856), A school, known as "The Modern School" (1896 – 1910), the Summer Residence of the Royal Family of Kasmanda and finally it was converted into a Heritage Hotel (1992 - ). Kasmanda Palace is a perfect place to stay and spend quality time with loved ones while enjoying the beautiful outdoors which the hotel has to offer, terraced gardens, exotic trees & plants and the great Doon Valley views. Kasmanda Palace is ideally located in the center of the town, yet away from the noise of the Mall Road. If it gets too quite for you then the busy Mall Road is just a 2 minute walk away or take the hotel courtesy car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcomheritage Kasmanda Palace Hotel Mussoorie
Welcomheritage Kasmanda Palace Mussoorie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing