We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handcrafted rooms with a gorgeous view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mussoorie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Bank Guest House
Ranked #12 of 98 Mussoorie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Ivy bank gives you the quintessential Mussoorie/Landour feeling with a lawn terrace out in front with chairs and tables from which to look out into the Himalayan foothills in every direction. The rooms were impeccably clean with a fifties feel, a sitting room, lovely wooden windows, handcrafted ceilings, floors and furniture in a very decent old Mussoorie simplicity - I hope it never changes because I'll be back for certain. The food in the dining room was really, really good (the dining room a bit cold - but this is Mussoorie) and the people kind and thoughtful without being around too much. Discreet. Very pleasant, and I would not go looking elsewhere.The price is right, too.

Room Tip: The first room you come to at the top of the stairs has windows on two sides!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rchance1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Ivy Bank Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 58 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our second time to stay here ... loved every moment. Clean and functional with big rooms, hot water, Wii Fi and views to die for !! There is no aircon and no fridge but we did not need either.
The room service does not exist but clean towels were given on request when needed.
We did not eat here but you can and an excellent Doma restaurant is just below the guest house and Raphael's Restaurant up the hill is a trip back into time.

Room Tip: This lodge has rooms with views but you need to ask for them ...the lower rooms are not up to much...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Di B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed in one of the new cottages, which has so much potential -- the location is quiet and peaceful, the construction is charming and the views unbeatable. But the room was not comfortably furnished -- one rather dirty and uncomfortable sofa, and no outdoor furniture at all to enjoy the lovely terrace and views (when we asked whether chairs were available we were given two plastic ones). The plumbing smelled bad and permeated the cottage. Other reviewers don't mention this, so maybe it was a temporary problem. The manager disappeared after our check-in and we never saw him again; we had to go find one of the other employees if we wanted a meal, room cleaning, or any other kind of service. We left after two days and moved into Doma's Inn next door.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank relevart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed in Ivy Bank in April with couple of friends and had a lovely time. The rooms were pleasant and clean. The little lounge area in every room is a nice idea. The linen was clean and they also provided a room heater at a nominal price. The staff was very helpful. They organized a bonfire for us one night and even let us use their kitchen late night to make maggi. The garden provides good views and a great opportunity for some sun-soaking.
The prices were nominal. INR 800 per night.
Look forward to visit the place again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mansisharma_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Visited Mussorie on 14th July 2012 and stayed in the newly renovated cottages at Ivy Bank. I must say that the cottage is fabulous. it is renovated in a totally 4-5* style and the price they charged of 4K per night was a good deal for the room. The service was nice too (though they do not have room phones and you have to call the service incharge on his mobile phone). I would be staying here on my next visit too. [We did not try any meals here just tea and snacks - which were decent].

Room Tip: Cottages are great. Some rooms are also nice (if you have a budget) though not sure about all. Owner...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nid-Mit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I've been staying here for the past week and am quite comfortable here. There are only about seven rooms, six of which open onto a nice big terrace with a great view. The rooms are clean, nicely furnished and well-kept. No musty, moldy smell that is so common up here. Beds are comfortable. Sound-proofing could be a little better between the rooms, but it's not too bad. Anyway, most of the guests are quite considerate. My room has a nice large geyser and quite a decent shower, and presumably they all do.

The owners and staff are friendly, helpful and responsive. I had a problem with the lights that was fixed pretty quickly once I pointed it out. They are a bit slower at getting some things done.

Meals are included, and they are incredibly accommodating about special diets and meal timings. Five stars on that score, for sure. The food itself is pretty good, but not great. They have a good water filter for drinking water, which seems to be properly maintained.

Internet access has been a real problem since I've been here. It's been off more than it's been on, and it's pretty slow even when it does work.

Most of the guests (including me) are studying at the language school, though there have been some who were visiting friends. It's not a location most tourists would choose, though it's quite a lot nicer than being down near the Mall, in my opinion. The guest house is located about halfway between Landour Bazaar and the language school, so it's a good hike up the hill to the school. Some people make it in as little as 10 minutes, but others take two to three times as long.

The location is pretty quiet as it's on a road that gets little traffic.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peregrineri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I stayed here when studying at Landour hindi school. The rooms have little lounges which is cute and a great views. Its just at the bottom of the hill and Landour itself is wonderful. The food is kinda average - which is a shame. But the staff are fun. The wireless router is in a glass box attached to a tree - so its more a romantic than a practical internet arrangement. But one in which hope triumphs. Is a little overprices, but hard to find decent places in Landour.

Room Tip: next to garden
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annieDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.6 mi away
Rokeby Manor
Rokeby Manor
#9 of 74 in Mussoorie
341 reviews
2.4 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
637 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ilbert Manor
Ilbert Manor
#19 of 74 in Mussoorie
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doma's Inn
Doma's Inn
#5 of 98 in Mussoorie
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tabor Cottage
Tabor Cottage
#10 of 111 in Mussoorie
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Bank Guest House

Address: Landour Cantt,, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Mussoorie
Price Range: $71 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing